Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Montgomery Village, MD
Students enrolled: 1,458
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Watkins Mill High School 5

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
I attended this school the first year it opened. My children now attend his scool; and I am equally, if not more, impressed than when I went. The teachers and counselors meet their needs and accommodations. I have one Pre-IB student and one in general education classes. The after school clubs provide student/adult interaction. GO WOLVERINES!!!!

Watkins Mill High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
I just wish my kids would use them more. The teachers definitely try to help them. Mrs. Starr is an amazing English teacher.


Watkins Mill High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
This is a tough question. The kids have at least four major classes, so the homework is intense.

Watkins Mill High School 5

Posted March 02, 2015
- a student
Wonderful school! Lots of opportunities that no other public school in Montgomery country can offer. IB/IBCC/AP and other courses.

Watkins Mill High School 4

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
I recently attended my 2nd Back to School night at WM. My daughter is in the (pre) IB/AP program and plays varsity soccer. I found it interesting that the (pre) IB/AP classes had more parents in attendance than the "on level" classrooms. WM is very enthusiastic about their students becoming their BEST, as evident by how hard they push and encourage them. The guidance counselor is constantly requesting my daughter to challenge herself more. There is no "free ride" as ALL of the students will find when they leave WM, in whatever endeavors they pursue. I feel WM is attempting to ready them for their entrance into the adult world...the principal, the teachers, the counselors and even the coaches. WM is diverse and with it comes a diverse set of challenges. The administrative team can only do their part....it is up to the students to uphold their end of the arrangement. I could put my daughter in a private school, but I love the real world microcosm that WM represents.


Watkins Mill High School 1

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Horrible. From the staff, to the principal, simply horrible. What appears to go on in this school is too much of nothing. There is nothing to be proud of, no one person that I can think of that stands out from another. Simply in one word - HORRIBLE

Watkins Mill High School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a student
Amazing school with great classes, people, staff, and activities. I wake up every day and I'm happy to say that I go to Watkins Mill

Watkins Mill High School 1

Posted January 08, 2014
- a student
I am a sophomore at Watkins Mill and unsatisfied with the Individualized Education Plan. First of all, the students shouldn't ask to use their accommodations the special ed department should make sure the IEP is used properly as a result to Special Needs students should be more important than general education. This school does not have an Autistic program . I am fighting to withdrawal from this school into an Autistic school. I refuse to come to this school because of the violence and ignorance. For me, personally this school should be deemed as the worst school in the county. Most of the special ed students are trying to leave this school. If the teachers could see how they treat the students when they "teach". The teachers do not acknowledge their students when they need teacher assistance or one-on-one participation. The teachers have sidebar conversations and tell us students to learn while we have conversations of our own. But they don't teach anything all they do is lecture us about being proper students when they should be good students themselves and stop complaining.


Watkins Mill High School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a student
I have been in this school for 3 years. At first I felt satisfied but now I dislike getting up to come here. Counselors don't help and don't even pay attention to what the student wants. I ask for SSL hours and they don't give any info. I asked a teacher if I could be his AID and he said no and just gave me an ugly attitude. Every time I come here I don't feel the encouragement from teachers to learn.. The academic programs are good but if a student don't feel good about themselves in their school then it's a burden to have to get up everyday to go somewhere where you feel left out. that is just my experience...

Watkins Mill High School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
Watkins Mill High School is on the upside. The principal, new for the 2010-2011 school year is a breath of fresh air. It's telling when the students are happy to see him at after school events. The sports teams are rallying this year with some exciting finishes. The offering of an IB program and AP classes is also a draw. Very active booster club and PTSA. High marks for parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Watkins Mill High School
10301 Apple Ridge Rd, Montgomery Village, MD  20886
(301) 840-3959
Last modified Watkins Mill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Watkins Mill High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top