Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
Worst teachers ever do not care about the kids at all only teach for a pay check if teaching is what you wasn't to call it.....principal only helps the Spanish community when asked to speak with her she sends out her side kick who in my eyes should be in her seat

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 4

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
The Headstart Program at Thomas Stone is wonderful! My child is getting ready to go into kindergarten with a very good foundation as provided by her headstart teachers, Mrs. R and Mrs. C. Very happy that we were able to utilize this resource!!!!


Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is by far the worst I have ever seen. This was my child's first year at Thomas Stone and I don't think she will return, the staff is unfriendly and they are unorganized. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This is the first year in this school for my kids and I think its going to be the last one too. This school is awful the kids seem like they are always running around without any supervision . I once went to pick up my daughter and she was suppose to be at the park but yet she was walking to the restroom by her self without a grown up and she is a kindergarten. The principal seems like she never have time to speak to the parents and the teachers are always in a I really don't like this school very disappointed :(

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
This school is just an elementary school, but it is a far superior school since my friend is a teacher there. She is very smart, and very courteous to all. Her students like working with her.


Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Thomas Stone Elem is by far the worst School for my child. No one there Makes my child feel comfortable. I walk in there and It seems like no one smiles. Especially my child's Teacher. I have always wondered why she would cry when I would walk her to School. It's because they don't they don't make her feel welcome.

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2010
- a community member
I'm was a student at Thomas stone elementary and I have to say that it is a great school the principal is very great and the teachers and staff are very nice and they truly care about each and everyone of the students and they are all encouraging the students to do a great job which I am sure they will.

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
The arrival and dismissal coordination is chaotic and a bit unsafe. Buses and cars drive up to the same drop off spot. People are crossing in front of cars. The administrators are also rude and do not treat parents with much respect. The teachers are great, but the school has some challenges with its safety and drop off procedures.


Thomas S. Stone Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 28, 2007
- a parent
I am parent and believe they need a better system when it comes to dismissing the students. They need to provide better parking for the parents and I haven't heard anything about the aftercare programs. Or course the teacher's are great and that is important. The parents need some love also.

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2004
- a student
I love this school. It has wonderful progams and it is a safe place for everybody and I have to say the teachers are very, very, very, smart indeed. I think that everybody should come here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas S. Stone Elementary School
4500 34th St, Mt Rainier, MD  20712
(301) 985-1890
Last modified Thomas S. Stone Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas S. Stone Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top