Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carrollton Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 18, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Schickner, Thank you for being accessible to all students and parents. You greet your students every morning and that means a lot.

Carrollton Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2016
- a parent
The principal Ms. Schickner is always there greeting students and parents every morning, to me this means a lot. I feel welcomed and happy to leave my daughter in a place that feels like home. My daughter has learned so much in just a few months. The people working at this school are student focused.


Carrollton Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
I love this school this is a great school, the staff is great and wonderful. My kids are happy and the are making great progress in keeping the student safe and working hard.

Carrollton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
They don't care who you are they are there to help the kids. To support there staff. I see how they work with my kids and eve one even parents.

Carrollton Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a community member
I really like this school. The new principal is very professional. I am going to graduate in a week and am sad to go.I would highly suggest that your child be Sent to this school. They are very advanced in academics and get great test scores. The children there are okay but they really need to keep some tabs on them and What they do on school grounds.


Carrollton Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
Carrollton Elementary is a neighborhood school with friendly staff and teachers. It offers a good foundational education. My son is in kindergarden there and he is learning and growing. I really like the new prinipal Mr Galbraith he is very approachable. He makes himself available to listen to parents and is very active and hands on with all aspects of school life and the kids love and respect him. The school has limited extracurrilar activities though and the school building is dated, definitely in need of a facelift.

Carrollton Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter may only be in kindergarden, but i feel she has learned and exceeded so much in the past year; that i am pleased to tell everyone how great the teachers and staff at Carrollton Elemantary are! Our first year of school for has been unforgetable and greatly apreciated. I give them a grand honor for all their hard work, patience, and dedication they put in everyday.

Carrollton Elementary School 3

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
Personally, I think the school has declined somewhat in the past few years. I don't think the Principal and new vice principal are as affective as the previous principal. She was wonderful. The vice principal at times has been somwhat unprofessional in his interaction with the children. Overall, the school is ok. Again, I think there is not a good balance between the arts and education. Sports, art, music, are all things that keep some children interested in school especially as they get older and can assist in them maintaining good grades. Overall, I think this is a pretty good school.


Carrollton Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2005
- a parent
Academically the school is on the ball. I do believe they need more extracurricular activities for instance ART. These things balance children. Maryland school focus on test scores they do this because this is how the school receive it's funding, its not right but it is true. Overall New Carrollton is a pretty fair school it is low ranked but we as parents and staff are working on that.

Carrollton Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2004
- a parent
This is one of the best schools I have ever had any of my children in. Most of the teachers are wonderful. THe are very helpful and considerate. But the best thing about this school is the principal. She is excellent, and all of the parents and students love her. Keep up the good work Mrs.Gaines.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carrollton Elementary School
8300 Quintana St, New Carrollton, MD  20784
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (301) 918-8708
Last modified Carrollton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top