Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lamont Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2011

I have a son who attends this school, and his academic skills continue to keep soaring. I am so proud of him and the results this school has brought out. My son went from being socially inclined to one of the classes social butterfly. I cannot wait until he enters first grade this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I have a daughter who attends Lamont Elementary who has had continued success with acedemics. I am excited that she is now entering the third grade and can participate in extra carricular activities. I highly recommend Lamont Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

I have a daughter who attends Lamont Elementary School. This is an excellent school and they do by any means necessary to help your child succeed if they are falling behind. The teachers are wonderful and the interim principal is excellent. I highly recommend Lamont Elementary to any parent looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I have had varied issues with this school. I have a child that has gone to Lamont since grade K. The classes are overcrowded with little support. Unfortunately if your child has academic issues they DON'T do anything about it. Even the teachers will give you no help with it and I have experienced this with 2 teachers at the school. I will be pulling my child out and sending them to a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I attended Lamont Elementary and to me, it is a fairly good school... the principal is old, but decent... he obviously cares about the kids' education since he talks nonstop about it. I am now a 7th grader, but I was at that school for grades K-6 and I've sat there through all his lectures about education... it was tiring, but needful. He always has a point. I also heard they made AYP just last year. Lamont is definetly on its way to major excellence; no doubt about that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2005

Lamont element is an exellent place of learning, the teachers are really doing their best to make their students succeed in everythings especially their reading program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2004

Overcrowded...lacks order and individual student-teacher relationship. Little to no extracurricular activities for grade school boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2003

Budget is terrible. Teacher support is minimal. Discipline is poor. Classes are crowded. Principal is approaching retirement. S.O.S.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 12%
Black 34% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7101 Good Luck Rd
New Carrollton, MD 20784
Phone: (301) 513-5205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carrollton Elementary School
New Carrollton, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT