Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
492 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Tome School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
The experiences there have been phenominal. I seriously would not want to be anywhere else!

The Tome School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a community member
These reviews do a great job of outlining the educational value of Tome, and that is extremely important. But, as a 2015 graduate, I'd like to inform prospective students and parents more about the family that Tome gives you. Of course, education is important and the priority to all other reasons for choosing a school. And the education is great! But, let me tell you about the family that I have acquired in my almost 12 years at the school. My senior class was 33 strong and if you walked up to me, I could go on in detail for hours about memories and inside jokes that we all shared. Also, especially in my last 2 years at Tome, I became extremely close with some underclassmen. Still, to this day, while I wait to leave for basic training, I make time to come to the school to visit them at least 2 times per week. I'm passionate about everything about this school and eternally grateful for the education and family it has allowed in my life. There is no greater feeling than walking into a building where the staff not only embraces your weekly visits, but expects them, welcoming you with "Oh look who it is! How are you doing?" Or the huge group hugs and "see you friday!" Or how every teacher who ever stepped foot into my classroom still remembers my name, my parents names, and some silly thing I said when I was 8. Tome is Home. And it always will be.


The Tome School 3

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
Great classical foundation will be had in Lower School. Students are well mannered. Middle School and Upper School students are presented a rigorous work load in a rather pedestrian, robotic way. Thinking and application of knowledge is less of a focus. Students do not have adequate exposure to technology or library resources. Though the school is small, the faculty may not really know the learning style or what works best for your student. There is a lack of proper guidance counselors. Staff wear multiple hats and emails go unanswered often. Curriculum is challenging but very limited. Cecil county has limited choices for schools. This is all of a function of limited resources probably. A good private school in Delaware might be a better value for Middle and Upper School.

The Tome School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers are distracted by the side jobs. The high school science teacher works at a community college. She takes calls from those students and grades their work whilst your student is having a less interactive classroom experience. Others are fatigued, irritable and unprepared from working at Walmart overnight

The Tome School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
This school makes college seem like a joke. College classes are much easier due to going to this school. I am graduating college with a 3.9 gpa this year, and it is all because of Tome. I was also apart of two sports and two clubs. There is always something to do at Tome, and the biggest part is it really does create a family. Five years later and we are still all hanging out with the people we graduated with.


The Tome School 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a community member
I am a freshman and I love it! Strong, classical education, non-religious, great teachers, and all taught at a college prep level. It is a college prep school, after all!

The Tome School 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a community member
I strongly dislike Tome. I would never recommend it. I am a student. Next year I plan on transferring and I can't wait! The teachers expect respect from the students, but most do not return the respect to the teachers. I did like lower school, but middle school has been the worst experience of my life. The teachers are unfair. I really miss my old principal...she was the best. I would only recommend this school if you wanted to ruin your child's childhood.

The Tome School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a community member
The Tome School is a small K-12 private school located on a 100 acre campus in North East, MD. Students receive individual attention from their teachers as class sizes are kept small (less than 30 students per class). The small class size and dedication of the faculty and staff foster a warm, caring environment for students that is extremely conducive to learning. I have attended Tome as a student, worked at the school, and have a mother who is the former head of this school, so I have gotten to see Tome from various perspectives. Former students have gone on to Harvard, Cornell and other Ivy League universities. In order to arrange a visit, call the main office at 410-287-2050.


The Tome School 5

Posted May 04, 2012
- a parent
I have two daughters at Tome and I could not be more happy with their education. I have found the faculty to be nothing but caring and supporting during our 8 years there. It is nice knowing they are receiving a great education by people who sincerely care about them. Keep up the great work!

The Tome School 1

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
School offers no support to children, much of the staff seems unwilling to help students who are having issues.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Tome School
581 South Maryland Avenue, North East, MD  21901
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (410) 287-2050
Last modified The Tome School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top