Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waugh Chapel Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
My children are very happy here. Both are doing really well with their grades. Homework is very parent involved. Always getting notes sent home and emails and text messages so it hard to ever forget any event or homework and field trip or signed forms that are due in. My children have very good teachers and we are happy with the school and teachers so far. I would recommend this school :)

Waugh Chapel Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
She's not at the school per se, but the behavioral therapist that comes once every two weeks, because she helped my child escape that horrendous place.


Waugh Chapel Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Once again, it depends on the teachers. Its sad because there are some really great teachers at this school, but they are so beaten down in the culture that the principal has created. My child got stuck with the not so great teachers, and the principal was none too concerned about fixing the issues.

Waugh Chapel Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
This varies from year to year and teacher to teacher. I can tell you that they won't tell you if there's an issue until it's way past the point when you should have been notified. Communication is not their strong suit. If they can sweep it under a rug, they will, all the while gossiping about it in the front office.

Waugh Chapel Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Grit, maybe, but only because you've got to have grit to make it through a day in that toxic environment.


Waugh Chapel Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
This school definitely does not develop respect in its students. If anything, it creates a culture of fear. All they do is scream at the children - over nothing. I witnessed some really terrible humans that should not be in charge of children there.

Waugh Chapel Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
This school has been amazing. We are a military family and move around quite a bit. When my oldest child arrived at the school she was about half a grade behind in reading. Now two years later she is doing extremely well and reading a bit ahead. I attribute 90% of this change directly to the teachers she has had. Even when they were not teaching her directly they were allowing her to use personal interests to drive herself.

Waugh Chapel Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is phenomenal. I've had two children attend Waugh Chapel and they both loved the school, teachers and the staff. My oldest son just started middle school enrolled in advanced classes and is consistently achieving honor roll. I've had the pleasure of meeting with Ms. Edmonds (Principal) and Ms. Earby (vice principal) on numerous occasions and they are always a pleasure to work with. My son had some issues in Kindergarten and they were both phenomenal with taking the time to get to know him and providing time and patience to assist him and find solutions to help him accel.


Waugh Chapel Elementary School 3

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
This school has GREAT teachers who truly care about their students, however the principal and assistant principal have a lot to learn. Easy to see they don't care about their own staff and as far as their students, that's questionable too.

Waugh Chapel Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are great. Principal Mrs. Sims was an exceptional principal. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is at lot of parents involvement in the PTA. Nothing negative to say. Great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waugh Chapel Elementary School
840 Sunflower Dr, Odenton, MD  21113
(410) 222-6542
Last modified Waugh Chapel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waugh Chapel Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top