Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Odenton, MD
Students enrolled: 353
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Odenton Christian Academy 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loves this school. It is a blessing to have her go to a school which is CHRIST centered. The teaching of the bible and the curriculum of this school are awesome. I teach my child to fear the Lord and respect others. This school is in line with my belief.

Odenton Christian Academy 1

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
This is the worst experience my daughter has ever had at any school. In the year that she was at this school, she unlearned everything she has learned in her previous year at another school. They spend so much time focusing on making a 4 year old write in cursive that they forget to teach the essentials. furthermore, my daughter keeps telling me that she wants to die and go to God. I don't think a 4 year old should want to die because someone tells her that she will go to God. Obviously they are not teaching Christianity in the right way suited for children her age.The staff is rude and can be very unpleasant at times. Although we are a Christian family, I think the fanaticism displayed by the teachers are ridiculous and overwhelming to a child who has not even come into her own. I will not recommend this school to any parent.
1 person found this helpful


Odenton Christian Academy 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school..if you value your children find an alternative. My child is still calling herself a goat which is what one of the k-3 teachers repeated called her. Dangerous environment!
1 person found this helpful

Odenton Christian Academy 4

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Love their K3 and K4 program. My child learned so much and we are very greatful. As for comments about them not letting kids be kids(3 and 4 year olds) I do not agree. I have one of those kids who is very outspoken, questions evrything, thinks he's the boss, and even though he may not have gotten a green slip everyday...when he did he was so proud of himself. Kids will be kids, but they cannot disrupt the education of those who want to learn. We knew that by sending our child to OCS that he would learn that there is a time to play and a time to learn. My child is well above his grade level and still has his personality. Just like there are laws we must follow when we're adults, there are rules you have to follow when your children.

Odenton Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
Education is great at this school, but the staff and teachers are too hard on younger kids. They need to realize that they are kids. Tuition is reasonable compared to many private schools.


Odenton Christian Academy 5

Posted July 23, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Odenton Christian Academy 2

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
Too hard on 3-4year olds.
1 person found this helpful

Odenton Christian Academy 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
I transferred my child to OCS after one semester in Anne Arundel County Schools. I think AACS are great, but my child was bored and they did not move fast enough. OCS has challenged her from day one and she is very happy there.


Odenton Christian Academy 3

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
5 stars for academics. 2 stars for understanding the developmental needs of 3 or 4 year old children. If your child follows your directions the first time you ask them and never questions you, then Odenton is a great place for your child.

Odenton Christian Academy 4

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
The education at Odenton at this level surpasses those of the public school system and even some private schools. The education program from kindergarten through middle school is academically second to none. After the middle school level it is best to transfer to another high school program. Odenton is not physically or academically capable to educate high school children. In fact, the school s high school curriculum is not accredited by the state of Maryland.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Odenton Christian Academy
8410 Piney Orchard Parkway, Odenton, MD  21113
(410) 551-9852
Last modified Odenton Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Odenton Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top