Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arundel Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 894 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

This school has some great teachers but the current principal is disorganized and horrible at parent communication. Many classes are disrupted by unruly students and teachers are not supported by admin. My son is given little to any enrichment as opposed to the great experience we had at his elem school, Piney Orchard. If you child is advanced, look at a magnet school or go somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

arundel middle school is a great school with very few errors! take it from me, a former student of arundel middle that when you child walks in arundel middle they will be better suited for the future than most orher schools.


Posted November 13, 2013

Arundel Middle should be rated a 5 or 6. They need to improve in all areas from Teachers, assistant Principal and how they handle bad kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Arundel is a decent school. However, the teachers and admins are rather carefree of student behavior and some of the rules are downright unfair. Some teachers are great, but most have the major flaw of viewing this stint at AMS as a job and not as a career. They take out their frustration on the awkward preteens they are supposed to be nurturing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

My two sons attend Arundel Middle School. The teachers I have met have been passionate and caring. Both of my children have IEPs and I truly feel the co-taught classes and teachers that support them are wonderful. They are getting a good education and seem happy to go to school. I know people who went to Arundel and now their kids go to Arundel. We are lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

I am about to enter arundel, and I have heard great things about the school, and that the rumors are untrue. But, I have also encountered complaints about it, about a couple of rude staff members and them not caring about complaints. But let's be real, there are going to be rude teachers at every school, and there is going to be strict staff members. I am very excited to enter the school district of arundel, I am sure I will have a great experience.


Posted January 8, 2013

Arundel is a decent school. However, the teachers and admins are rather carefree of student behavior and some of the rules are downright unfair. Also, more so than usual, subs are rather ignorant of what the teachers they are filling in for actually do. Some teachers are great, but most have at least one major flaw. Assistant teachers also seem to be rather self-empowering and sometimes downright rude.


Posted June 6, 2012

This school is......ok. As a student, although some teachers are amazing, I think that most of the teachers have poor attitudes to the education of the students and to the students themselves. The school is unresponsive towards student and parent complaints, at least from my experience, and some of the rules are extremely unfair. There are a couple teachers who either push the students too hard, demand too much, hate the students, are completely ignorant, or who are bad at teaching. The principal is great, but one great staff member, even the principal, is not enough to turn the entire school around. This school manages to teach you things, but overall I would not recommend it. The learning experience is not that good, and I feel that the people who think Arundel is great are those who have not encountered the problems that I have, those that do not have those poor teachers, and those that have not had to go to the school with complaints - only to find that the staff doesn't really care and won't really help you. This school definitely needs improving.


Posted November 1, 2009

The transition to middle school could not have been easier. My child and I love the wonderful teachers and staff at Arundel Middle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Great interaction and communication between staff and parents! Very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

I've been very pleased with the staff and quality of education my son is receiving. This is his first year of middle school , not only I'm I happy but he's very happy. I would and have recommend this school. Keep up the great effort and job..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

This is our first year at Arundel Middle and we were unsure what to expect. Our son really likes his teachers and his classes and we are very impressed with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I love the principal at Arundel Middle! Ms. Ashworth is really turning that school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Arundel Middle School has a great principal and assistant principals whose primary concern is the education of the children. The teachers are supportive and proactive with the students. I am the mother of a sixth grader and am completely impressed by Arundel Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

I just graduated from this school. It's all right, not too great, not too horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2007

teachers are a little carefree of students behavior and actions but Dr. Strictler is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2006

Arundel is a decent school. There are poor teachers and an even worse extracurricular program. The principal, Mr. Strickler, is a great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2006

The facilities desperately need updating, the teacher's attitudes are poor, parent involvement is nil, but the principal really does care about the school and strives to make it one of the best in the county. The drama program with the high school is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

My daughters science class has 39 students and if you ask me that's too much. Good teachers though, not very well disciplined. Overall 4 stars. Dr. Strickler is a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

My daughter came into this school with learning disabilities, but her Elementary school was able to get her reading level up to just one year behind her peers. After just two years at Arundel Middle she is now reading three years behind, she has made no progress even though she is in co-taught classrooms. I am very disappointed with this schools Special Education Department.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Diving

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1179 Hammond Ln
Odenton, MD 21113
Phone: (410) 674-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Rockbridge Academy
Millersville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT