Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John's Episcopal School

Private | PK-8 | 160 students

Our mission is to graduate students with strong academics, character, and faith.
 
 

 
 

Living in Olney

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

If you are looking for results from a school I can strongly state that as far as academics and supporting the development of good kids are concerned the school has succeeded admirably. There are many extremely strong teachers that can individualize their education to the child, most of which have been there for a long time, and beyond that they care strongly about them. The administration has been stable for the last three years, which has helped through the rough economic times that have impacted enrollment recently. In addition, having gifted kids, they are willing to work with the parents to try to find the best approach. Nothing is perfect at any school, but I feel this one is trustworthy in responding to hard questions and more than competent in getting good and sometimes great results. One small unsold fact is the aftercare program has been wonderful for our children in large part due to the lady that runs it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St. John's Episcopal School in Olney, Maryland is more than a school. A school is simply brick and mortar. St. John's is a family - a welcoming community. When you enter you get a warm feeling everyone associated within the St. John's community is totally committed to helping students become well-rounded, and well prepared for future educational opportunities and a chance to make a difference in the world. The students are challenged and they respond - both in the classroom and the local and global community. We love the teachers and staff are so passionate about what they do every single day and their responsiveness when questions or issues arrive. Make no mistake; St. John's is not perfect. They strive to be, but more importantly they teach the diverse student body to accept mistakes and be tolerant of others, as well as giving everything you do your best effort. The classroom sizes are small by design and it really gives each teacher the opportunity to get to know the strengths and weaknesses of each student. We are blessed to be in such a wonderful learning atmosphere and embracing community. St. John's is an oasis for those looking for educational and spiritual harmony.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

We recently switched from a public school to St. John's. We feel our daughter needs are being met both academically, emotionally and spiritually!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

St. John's rigorous academics motivates each student to reach their personal potential. The school community is a nurturing environment that promotes positive character building. Children are happy and safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

We LOVE St. John's! Both of our daughters are thriving there, mainly because of the small community atmosphere. The teachers really do care about every student & want them to succeed. Each of my daughters are very different learners & their teachers go above & beyond to make sure they get what they need & are challenged. And, our girls are really comfortable at St. John's. We're just so happy to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

St. Johns Episcopal School has by far met every dream of mine, and my daughter. From the Main office down to faculty, and staff you feel right at home as you walk in the door. The education these students are receiving is more then I excepted, and more. I am proud to be a STJES Parent:)))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My son has been a part of the St. John's community for the past two years. He is now in Kindergarten and has had the blessing of having very knowledgeable and nurturing teachers! My son thrives in a small class structure and St. John's will provide him with the academic rigor, faith and character education that is much needed in our broader society today. I look forward to the next 8 years at St. John's and watching my son grow into an educated and well mannered young man.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2013

St. John's Episcopal School in Olney, Maryland. My son and daughter - in grades 7 & 5, have been at St. John's since kindergarten. St. John's is a small school with a huge focus on academics, character and faith. Every student is known and valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

We have been St. John's parents for the past 7 years and have seen the transitions the school has gone through, some great and some not so great, but one thing has always remained the same; the fact that our daughters (9 & 12) continue to get superior education by a group of loving and caring set of teachers who truly have a passion for what they do. To us that is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

We love St John's and feel that it does a great job of providing children with a fabulous education. It is more expensive than some of the other schools in the area, but we firmly believe that you get what you pay for at St. John's. The class size is small, and the teachers really get to know the children and their learning styles. We have 2 children, and they have very different learning styles and needs. The teachers at St John's know when to prod them along, help them when they need help, and are always available to look for a solution. I have found every teacher to be very accessible when needed. My oldest has moved very successful on to High School. He has found that he and his classmates from St. John's have been very successful in High School. They are highly represented in the AP and Honors Programs. Additionally, they hold leadership positions in their high school. I think that much of this was cultivated at St. John's where there were many leadership opportunities, and class participation, public speaking, and becoming an advocate for your education is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

St. John's Episcopal school is a wonderful place to educate your children. The faculty and staff are amazing, and know every child at the school. The students almost always get into their first choice of schools after graduating in the eighth grade. My daughter has been there for seven years, and loves the school. Her performance on standardized testing is in the very high end of the spectrum, due mostly to the terrific education she receives at St. John's. Just as important, whenever we drop her off at school, we never have any fears or concerns about her safety or well-being. I would highly recommend St. John's Episcopal school to anyone looking for a high-quality and safe environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

This school is not well known, but is a great school. Our kids love it at St. Johns and we're happy to be a part of the community.The small class sizes enable the teachers to provide personal attention to all of their students. The curriculum is rigorous and the staudents are held to high standards. The head master Tom Stevens is starting his 3rd year at St Johns. He has decades of epxerience as a HOS and his experience has been helpful in stabilizing the school community after several years of uncertainty. Mr. Stevens and the administration are working hard to bring in new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

We have had 3 children at St. John's over a span of 15 years.I have had children in the public school system and in several different private schools and St. John's is the best. My youngest will be entering 5th grade in the fall. She and we love it. She is challenged academically. She is very intelligent but not always diligent or disciplined. Her teachers have really brought out the best in her abilities in both math and writing and improved her sense of discipline - they don't miss a trick! There is also a strong emphasis on character and behavior. The school has an outstanding arts program too. All of the St. John's kids that I run into in the community are unfailingly poised, articulate and polite. They know how to conduct themselves with adults - how to carry on a polite conversation and be respectful and articulate. This reflects the school's emphasis on personal accountability -- I can always tells a "St. John's kid" when I meet them. Frankly, when I am around other, non-St. John's students, I am always surprised at their unruliness and lack of discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

We started at St. John's several years ago, and we are very happy. My daughter is becoming a wonderful and well-rounded young adult. St. John's academics are exceptional, and the teachers are very supportive. If your child needs help, it is available. If they excel in a subject, they will be pushed. We like the fact that St. John's not only offers academics but also teaches good morals. If I had three words to describe what I believe St John's provides they are; excellence, integrity and community. If you are interested in a quality education for your child you cannot go wrong with St John's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

St. John's used to be a very good school, but I'm concerned about its future. After several upheavals in its staff and administration from 2010-2012 (3 new principals, teachers leaving in droves), it's unclear whether St. John's can regain its footing and continue to maintain academic excellence and retain motivated, engaged teaching staff. Enrollment is plummeting sadly, because some parents are fed up with the instability. There are only 9 children in 2nd grade this year, and 7 in 1st grade. St. John's is a good school, but the hefty the price tag (and continuous tuition hikes) and administrative turmoil are causing many parents to look elsewhere. And I'm one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

We have been at St. John's for eight years. It is the whole package: accelerated academics with caring, amazing teachers, faith and character development, with focus on success traits and wonderful leadership-building for a diverse body of students! While the school has undergone some changes over the past three years, the foundation is still strong and the school is heading in a better direction, keeping up with changing times and continuing to focus on what is important: our children! We have been so happy with our child's education at St. John's and know that he will have a successful high school experience thanks to the amazing elementary and middle school years that have more than prepared him for an excellent future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

St. John's is a terrific school. Both of our children have attended since K and our oldest is now in 7th grade. You are not just investing in their education but their future when you send a child to St. John's. We know our kids are being given a great education and taught the values and character traits they need to become outstanding adults. Priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

There is a reason for the dwindling enrollment: a lot of transition occurring with the administration and teachers. As with most schools, teacher turnover cannot be controlled but the amount of turnover from the 2010-2011 school year to the school year 2011-2012 is large and the school is starting with it 3rd headmaster in as many years and a new administration staff. St. John s seems to have lost it focus and it is not following its stated education mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

I saw below someone wrote about the lack of diversity at St. John's, however we are a diverse first year family and have found a wonderful abundance of great, diverse families in the amazing preschool program and the lower school. I don't know the exact number, but a lot of the new families this year are diverse. We could not be happier at St. John's with the small classes, caring, well-educated teachers who dedicate their entire day to my children. It's the best decision we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My children attend or have graduated from St. John's, a fabulous school that equipped my son to succeed in HS (4.19 last quarter, 5 honors courses). Mrs. B. taught him how to study adjusting for his learning styles, helped us determine routines and strategies that helped him where he was weak and took advantage of his strengths. Studetns very much enjoy strong relationships with their teachers, enduring into high school and well beyond. Our headmaster and is a very good man. Teachers, students and parents trust and respect him. Our Pastor counsels the children in crisis. I believe St. John's, as wonderful as it has been in the past, is on an upward trajectory. The teachers go above and beyond, they see the potential of each child and intend to help the child fulfill that potential. Academics, Character & Faith are modeled and taught at St. John's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Black 8% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • First Place Good Counsel Math Contest (2009)
  • Second Place Good Counsel Math Contest (2011)
  • DAR American History Literature state contest winner (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Thomas R. Stevens
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (301) 774-2375

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 01, 2015

 
134
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$9000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Our Lady of Good Counsel High School
Georgetown Preparatory
Academy of the Holy Cross
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3427 Olney Laytonsville Road
Olney, MD 20832
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 774-6804

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT