Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 310 students

We are best known for Reformed Christian Education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Olney

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 32 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2011

Our daughter is entering her third year at WCA and we couldn't be happier. The faculty, staff, families and entire school environment is a positive, strong Christian and educationally challenging place for our child to learn, thrive and grow! The school duplicates the values our daughter learns and lives with at home! The new campus is wonderful too! We highly recommend Washington Christian Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

My daughter has been at the school for 5 years. I have been very impressed with the curriculum in the middle school and high school and it just keeps getting better. My daughter is being taught to think, reason and ask questions. The classical liberal arts focus of the curriculum has made me wish I could go to school with her. She reviewed the 4 year undergraduate reading list for a well-known liberal arts college and reported that she has read MOST of the works on the list. The focus on integrity, character and scholarship are outstanding. I only wish Latin was offered at the high school level. I hope tp send my others for at least high school if not middle school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

This school is academically rigorous with a loving Christian environment. This is our second year using the school and my boys have really developed academically and in their Christian faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is my 3rd year at the school. The first 2 years were wonderful. I was so impressed with the teachers, staff and parents. Not so impressed this year. I moved all my kids there this year and they do not seem to be happy. The education is top notch but I agree with the other parent who said they need to create a more welcoming environment for new kids. The school is somewhat cliquish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

This school is experiencing growing pains. The Middle school needs to expand and have gym 3-4 days per week for all students, It is currently 1 day which is insufficient. With an expanding school, there comes challeneges in meeting the overall student goals. The leadership at the school has addressed challenging issues very well. What is missing is a a truly welcoming environment to families and children to the school. This is somehting that has to be addressed not to keep the existing families and create welcoming evnironment for new families. These two issues should be reviewed now to create a top educational and religiouls school in the country. It truly has the opportunity to build a great Christian school and that includes welcoming Catholic Christians as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

This is a real Christian School. When I enter the building I get the sense that the spirit of God is here and that there are praying people that work here. We chose this school because we feel that while academics is important, nurturing our childrens faith in God supercedes that. Our child is not only challenged academically in this school but also her day is surrounded by love, peace and beauty. Very caring staff, feels like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My daughter attended WCA last year.The first two quarters seemed to be average.The second two showed inconsistancy in curriculum completion,slow communication response from the staff.We exsperienced disorganization in school closings times. Sport locations and times were not always posted in a timely and correct manner.Over all the children were good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

This is awsome school. If you want to learn more go to washingtonchristian.Org This is a wondderful school for your kids to learn about jesus christ
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2004

I could not be happier with WCA. I spent months shopping for the perfect school. WCA has the perfect balance of academic rigor and christian education in a nurturing environment. I found warm, loving, and caring staff, faculty, and administration who opened their school to me and my 5 year old. I love the small student to teacher ratio. I love the opportunities for parental involvement. I love that it has students of every race and diverse Christian faiths. I love that everyone my child interacts with at school shares our love for Jesus. God moved me to send my daughter to WCA. I believe that if you put garbage in a child (at public school) you get garbage out, but if you put God in (at a Christian school), you get God out. Visit WCA and then pray about your decision. But mark my words, God is in this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

I completely agree with the previous review. Our family has been at WCA for 7 years and it has been a tremendous blessing. The school community is encouraging, supportive and caring. The teachers and administration are top notch and committed. Parental involvement is high. There is no other school for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

We love WCA! This is our fifth year, and both of our children have blossomed under the nurture and care of the teachers and staff. The level of parental involvement is magnificent, and I have found that the atmosphere and comraderie between parents is even closer than that of my church family. A great place to learn & be instructed in Biblical principles. From the Kindergarten through the Twelfth Grade, children are taught what they need to know to succeed, not only in their academics, but also in their relationships with others and most importantly as it relates to Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 42%
Black 33% 35%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Maryland
Georgetown University
Grove City College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • David Hawes
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (240) 559-0115

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Game club
  • Girls on the run
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Upper School Music Guild
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Maryland
Grove City College
Penn State
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16227 Batchellors Forest Road
Olney, MD 20832
Website: Click here
Phone: (240) 390-0429

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Patrick School
Rockville, MD




Winchester School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT