Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Owings Mills, MD
Students enrolled: 1,295

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcdonogh School 3

Posted January 02, 2013
- a community member
I graduated in 2011 and came in 9th grade, so I can only speak to the Upper School experience. McDonogh is a good school for a certain type of student. I can't say I really enjoyed my time here, but I did get a very good education and was extremely prepared for college. Academically, the school was solid. There were a lot of AP course offerings. Most teachers were helpful and care about your success. There were also some truly bad teachers, but i suppose you will find that anywhere. College counseling was very good here-- the counselors even had 'connections' to some top schools. With the strong academics came a very intense atmosphere of pressure and competition. Senior year was soul-crushing because of the college process. My biggest complaint is that, socially, McDonogh was not right for me. The social life there revolved around sports to the extent that athletes and non-athletes rarely take classes together or interact. There is also a lot of 'partying' that goes on under the administration's nose. I met some great people there and appreciate the opportunities the school gave me, but I'm not sure if I'd choose it again. Know your child when deciding what school is best.

Mcdonogh School 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a community member
I attended school here and I must say it was the best experience I had of my life. I am so fortunate and so grateful to have had the opportunity to attend this amazing learning institution. The community and teachers are just a one of a kind.


Mcdonogh School 5

Posted October 15, 2011
- a parent
This school is great. It offers varied curriculum to challenge each and every student. It's academics, athletics and overall school community are great!

Mcdonogh School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
McDonogh is a rare find in independent schools. It offers both challenging academics and athletics, with plenty of other opportunities for children who aren't into athletics. My child spent many years at another independent school that promised a lot, but didn't deliver. McDonogh delivers!

Mcdonogh School 4

Posted May 08, 2010
- a student
The academics at McDonogh are top-tier, and along with this comes a very high workload. The avg. amount of homework for me is 4 hours a night (though I take an honors/AP course load). I feel academically challenged and stimulated, though often stressed. Athletics. They're big here. Though there are other outlet to get involved in, I feel the majority of the emphasis is placed on the athletic world of McD. I loved the experiences athletic involvement gave me, but I also love the arts and am disappointed by their lack of emphasis here. Socially: It's hit or miss here. It varies, but many describe this school as a 'social bubble', meaning that the students rarely socialize outside of McD. Also, people tend to form circles of friends early on and stick together, rarely making new friends after freshman year. This is perhaps the worst aspect of McD.


Mcdonogh School 4

Posted March 10, 2010
- a student
The academic part is definitely sound and they have excellent staff, but the social scene is not nearly as good. 4/5 stars.

Mcdonogh School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a student
The school is amazing. There is nothing bad about it. The courses are demanding but 100% worth it. The atmosphere at which I conduct my day at school is extraordinary. The best part about Mcdonogh School, learning extends beyond just book smart. They force upon character, leadership, respect, and literally giving every student the lessons needed for the 'real world'

Mcdonogh School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
I could not recommend a school more highly. Caring faculty and staff, with a premium on academics without sacrificing the activities that can be difficult to find in all independent schools. I don't know about the 'busing from bad neighborhood' comment. Those so called bused in children are among the brightest and most talented from those neighborhoods and give McDonogh School a rare diversity among its peer school institutions.


Mcdonogh School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
As a McDonogh parent since 1991, with a child still in the school, I would say that the years spent at McDonogh were the best thing that could ever have happened to my children. They were/are fantastically prepared for college!

Mcdonogh School 4

Posted September 18, 2007
- a parent
On the whole the school does very well despite being the one school that has the most problem neighborhoods being bused in. There are several stand out teachers especially in Chemistry and Physics that have inspired our Son to seek out learning on his own.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcdonogh School
8600 McDonogh Road, Owings Mills, MD  21117
(410) 581-4711
Last modified Mcdonogh School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Mcdonogh School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top