Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Owings Mills High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 22 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

I am a student at OMHS and I will be a junior coming onto the 2014-2015 school year. People think our school is filled with gangs or a bunch of people that don't know what they are doing. But in all honesty, that is not the case. OMHS is progressing and I can see that. In every school, there WILL be a few people that are "clowns" and cool around but that's the reality. You cannot go to another school and not see that. OMHS has positive teachers that are enthusiatic about the students. The athletics are progressing. There are a lot of classes they offer and the teachers are becoming more and more positive and enthusiastic to push the students out of their comfort zone, and become greater and more positive students. So to those people who say "I will never send my kid to OMHS" because of swearing or because the athletics are not D1 ready or because it's not "good enough", well no school is perfect. But our school has character.


Posted May 9, 2014

I am not sure if these people are paid to post some of these reviews or not, but I would never ever send my child to OMHS. The top 25% of students are great but unfortunately the bottom 25-50% bring this school way down. You must hear 100+ curse words ever period, most of the students are very disrespectful and do not even know it. The "lack" of a dress code is also ridiculous, I see more skin in the hallways then I do at Ocean City.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2014

I have been an OMHS parent for 7 years. The new principal and the assistant principals have high standards for all of the staff and students and the PTSA in more involved than ever! There are many opportunities for all students to become involved...a strong SGA, clubs, organizations, music, art, robotics, sports, theater, mock trials, and more! Just this week Owings Mills High was once again named as a Top School in the Nation by The Washington Post!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

My son is a freshman. The staff has done very well keeping me informed on his progress and adjustment to high school. The staff and students share a great school pride. AndThe counselors and teachers make the atmosphere exciting. My son loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Owings Mills High School offers a "small school" atmosphere, but with the diversity of course selection that a larger high school might offer. The administration is energetic and truly interested in bettering the school and keeping the students interested and involved. There is a new group of young, enthusiastic teachers who want to try different and creative programming and the administration is supporting them 100%. The reinvigorated PTSA is doing great things to keep parents well informed and involved as well. This school is "real life" with true cultural and ethnic diversity. My two kids have had an extremely positive experience at Owings Mills High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

This is my eighth year as a parent of a child at OMHS . And it's going to be sad when my child graduates in may . The new principle is awesome and the new athletic director has some big refreshing ideas . The upcoming years are going to be exciting , wish that I was going to be around to see it happen .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My boys absolutely love Owings Mills HS. Are amazed at how diverse the school is and how inviting the students are. The love that they have several club options. They also are very happy with the teachers. I personally love the PTSA involvement to make sure parents are kept informed. Also when I email a teacher they respond! This is an amazing school and I am very glade we moved to Maryland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Owings Mills High School has so much to offer ! There are a lot of after school activities offered for different interests, diverse population with students from all over the world, friendly and caring staff that go out of their way to make OM a great place for all!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

I have been a parent here since 2006. Both of my children have gotten stellar educations. It is a place where a student can shine. The teachers are caring and very skilled. We are lucky to be part of Omhs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Owings Mills High School lives up to the motto of 'Excellence Through Diversity'. The school is a multi-cultural student body and I love the way the staff works together and goes above and beyond to ensure the success of their students. The staff support not only their students, but each other.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

I have been teaching at Owingd Mills HS for 20 years and I have been extremely happy with my choice to do so. The admisistration is very supportive of its teachers, the faculty cares about its students and the students are fantastic young people with diverse backgrounds.On a regular basis, I am reminded that my career in education is the most important job I could have chosen. After teaching 33 years, I still love what I do and I wouldn't want to do it in any other place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

I have had two sons attend OMES and have so impressed with the teachers and the academics. The teachers care and it shows why it is a Top ten School in the State of Maryland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My school really is diversified, and coming from a Peace Corps background, it really is uplifting to work here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

Before my little sister entered high school, she was very sad and downcast a lot of the time. I feared that high school would only make it worse. I mean, I knew what it was like when I was in high school and from what I gather the pressure to "fit in" has only gotten worse. To my surprise, it was much the opposite for her. Since becoming a freshmen at Owings Mills High, my baby sis is much happier. She plays on the soccer team and is currently going through auditions for the school musical. I've never seen her so confident and thrilled to leave for school. Her grades are out of this world. The faculty support and administration at OMHS are absolutely remarkable. They take great care to ensure that students are not only provided with an excellent education, but also that they are provided a safe environment to thrive and grow. And it doesn't hurt that their principal ROCKS! As a member of the PTSA, I see the great involvement from leadership and parents, it is truly outstanding. I am SO happy to be a part of the OMHS community and to see my sister excel in such a short time!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

My school is amazing! The new administrator is doing a great job. The parents could be more supportive though.


Posted October 7, 2013

OMHS is the best! We rock! Academics are getting even more rigorous over time, and that's great. But the school still works with and supports those students who need it most.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2013

Owings Mills HS is a school with a diverse student body. It has opportunities for students to pursue many different interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

The teachers are phenomenal. They're very personal with they way they teach, and they do their best to get you what you need/what you want. For example, I'm starting an environmental science club with the help of our AP Environmental teacher. Each teacher has an after-school help session as often as convenient to them, which is usually twice a week, or even on a quotidian basis. They give you all of the tools you need to succeed in high school, and in further education/life. The only way I can think that the school could improve would be the students' home lives. There is a plethora of ways the teachers give the students opportunities to improve their grades, and be extremely successful. However, because students aren't given good reasons from their families to do well, they generally ignore all of the great opportunites. If that were to happen, and students wouldn't be so insistent on ignoring their education, the school would be a very close candidate to an ideal school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2013

My school is making a strong statement in the new year as it seeks to expand its program and academic quality. Stay tuned to the rest of this school year, as well as the next one, as there are many new things to make students, parents and other community stakeholders proud.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Attended Freshman Orientation tonight. Left with a great feeling about the school!! So many clubs, organizations, and sports for my child to get involved in. Enjoyed talking to so many teachers and loved the involvement of the older students. Best part was when the Principal danced with the students to inspire them to be brave! Looking forward to getting involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 35%
White 23% 42%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Theory

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

124 Tollgate Rd
Owings Mills, MD 21117
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 887-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mcdonogh School
Owings Mills, MD



New Town High School
Owings Mills, MD


Garrison Forest School
Owings Mills, MD


Franklin High School
Reisterstown, MD


Hannah More School
Reisterstown, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT