Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Hanson Montessori
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Mason did a wonderful job appx. 2 years ago in helping my daughter bring her reading up to par. Very proud of her accomplishments through Ms. Mason. Other students were helped as well.

John Hanson Montessori 4

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Have 2 children currently at school. Much better now since French Immersion has left. More space and creativity in school environment. Very strong PTSA which helps set the learning and administrative tone of the school. Appears to be maintaining quality teaching staff and gaining more. Administration is quietly committed to following through on Prince George's education mandates. Presence of new school nurse over past 2 years is a welcome addition. Main concern as of now is whether area will transition into a more economic and socially thriving environment. The shopping center on side of school and certain businesses across are quite ghetto. Main reason it was given a 4 instead of 5. Need to change. This school would be fantastic in Loudoun County Presence of new housing and families at National Harbor and beyond will be quite intriguing when it comes to student population and type at John Hanson.


John Hanson Montessori
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Ms Bannant has done a terrific job with my 5 year old. Her phonetics are above par, her writing continues to improve, her interactive with the other students is great.

John Hanson Montessori 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The Teachers, the staff, the faculty are absolutely phenomenal. They run a exceptional program. Even the afternoon programs are very good.

John Hanson Montessori
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
The security guard who directs the traffic is always friendly and has a smile on his face.


John Hanson Montessori 2

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
We give this school a try for 3 weeks and decided to withdraw at the end. The administration system is not organized. Some of the staff are friendly but others are not helpful. Some didn't seem welcoming to the parents. I have been to one school activitiy and is not well organized. The pick up system of the little kds (3 or 4 year-old) is chaotic. The environment is old and not clean. Despite it is a public school with little funding, they should show some effort of making it a fun and cheerful learning environment for the kids.

John Hanson Montessori 5

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
I love JHMS! The staff is very caring, and encouraging. The office staff is very friendly. The work that is given to students is challenging and encourages them to grow. In addition to academic skills, children learn to work together in groups and to teach each other, and to help each other. I have never had a negative experience with this school community. This is truly a school community that works together in the best interest of children.

John Hanson Montessori 4

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
InvoInvolved parents and dedicated teachers. Administrators are friendly and proactive. My child was in private Montessori school and this Montessori curriculum is pretty comparable. There are a few things I would change but overall I am happy with the school and my younger child will be attending next year.


John Hanson Montessori 4

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
John Hanson promotes a strong environment of learning. I am pleased with the education my daughter has received thus far.

John Hanson Montessori 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
No complaints here. I'm satisfied with the administration and staff. Community involvement is definitely a must for schools to be successful.

Nearby schools

John Hanson Montessori
6360 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD  20745
(301) 749-4052
Last modified John Hanson Montessori is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top