Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oxon Hill Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2012

My daughter is currently in the Special Education Kindergarten class there. Her teacher is Ms. Moran and she LOVES her. I have to say that their specialized classes are GREAT for my daughter. They're small and provide little distraction on her learning. They also allow her to interact with the other students in general population (sorry, it sounds like jail but it's really not, believe me). My daughter's teacher is EXTREMELY thorough and knows a LOT about my daughter because she works with her just as I do. We work together in making my daughter's education our common goal. She came from Fort Foote as they don't have a special education class for children in Kindergarten. I read someone else's review about the lack of trips. They have changed that as of 2011-12. The kids go on many trips. They are extremely safe and I really like the open classes personally. I went to Fort Foote and am partial to them BUT their special education class isn't like Oxon Hill's. I feel that the staff is definitely up to par but I do agree that they place a little too much emphasis on testing. All in all, I do like this school and I give it a four out of five.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

My son is going to the 2nd grade and he loves this school. The teachers are great as well as the other staff members. Mrs. Best-Goring is a wonderful principal, she does what most principals and other staff members fail to do, she puts ALL of her students first before anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Oxon Hill Elementary School has come a long way under the guidance of the new principal who began last year. School pride is in abundance. There are several afterschool activities. The children participate in a learning program after school. There are MSA Family nights. Families come to the school for activities and learning. The PTO has an exciting event each month for the students. Parents are able to socialize and become friends. Oxon Hill Elementary School has become a family. Kudos to the new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Three of my children attend Oxon Hill Elementary School. I personally love the teachers and staff memebers! My children are doing great there. I am impressed with all the work and efforts that they place into each child to ensure that they get the proper educational assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

I currently have a 2nd and 6th grader at O.H., and had a third child there. The open area classes are a distraction. Teacher turnover is high. There is too much of a stress being placed on testing instead of teaching the children. There is not enough time being spent on basic reading and math. Homework takes too long. I have had to have two my children tutored on the basics. Both have tested at or above average on IQ tests, but never learned in this environment. There is an average of less than one field trip per year. The school needs to focus on teaching good reading comprehension, and not teaching how to test. Oveall, this school has been a big disappointment to my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I am a graduate of Oxon Hill Elementary School. I loved it then and I love it now. I was a parent volunteer for the second half of the school year and enjoyed the openness of the surroundings. My son just finished Kindergarten and loved it. Eventhough I loved his Kindergarten teacher, I can't wait for his first grade year to begin. Both teachers, in my eyes, are very compassionate about what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

both of my daughters are former students of oxon hill, i moved in 2004 just so that they could get better education. the discipline is poor, kids saftey isn't well respective, principal leadership is poor and the organization. don't want to sound to extreme, fortunately i had one good teacher for my older daughter. this school needs major improvement, and better leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

I currently have 2nd grader at O.H. Elem. Overall, the school is average. The only complaint I have is there are no after school activities available for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 35%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7701 Livingston Rd
Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone: (301) 749-4290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fort Foote Elementary School
Fort Washington, MD



St Columba Catholic School
Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD


The Maryland International Day School
Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD


National Christian Academy
Fort Washington, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT