Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley View Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

I will never send my child to Valley View Elementary School again. There was no support from staff on helping my child who was struggling. They really dropped the ball, I had to take my child out of the school to receive a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

i love this school for my son he is doing great in the tag program outstanding job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The principal is very dedicated. The teachers are dedicated, innovative and carismatic. Valley View is a school of excellence with no exceptions!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

I love Valley View because we strive to be 'A School of Excellence with no Exceptions!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The staff at Valley View Elementary School work very hard to create a very positive environment for children to learn and grow in. I really love this school because the teachers are very serious about their work and have great concern for the children they work with. They take a great interest in making sure the children achieve. The staff is tries to give confidence in other areas as well such as; social etiquette and self esteem. Valley View is an excellent learning environment for all students and encourages positive growth for the staff as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Valley View has the most dedicated teachers and administration in PG County
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Valley View is a school of excellence with no exceptions!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2009

VVES has been very good for my p-k, he has excelled beyond his expectations , his teacher and staff have gone above and beyond. The principal is very hands on and seems to really care about her kids as she calls them. Even down to the janitor and cafe staff all are pleasant. I have no complaints
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I am very pleased with Valley View Elementary School. My daughter has been in the TAG program for 3 years now, and her brothers have attended the school as TAG along children. I have read the comments that state the school doesn't have structure and I disagree. In my opinion, this school goes out of their way to keep an open dialogue with their parents. I have had an excellent relationship with every teacher that has ever taught my 3 children. I attend parent teacher conferences, back to school nights, MSA workshops and several other events at the school. I have received phone calls when my children were not doing their assignments or following classroom rules. Creating an open dialogue is not only the responsibility of the school; it is also the parent s responsibility. I have been impressed with the teachers, Ms. Yates, the school s principal and vice principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I am very disappointed with this school. it has no structure the teachers are not professional and do not I mean do not have customer services skills towards parents or students. I do not want my child going to this school next year. It very sad that they do not have a before/after care program for the students, nor do they have a tutor for the youth. I would like to be a parnet that advocates for the school but not for this one. A very dis-pleased parent...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I am very disappointed with this school. it has no structure and the majority of the teachers seems like they are the kids age. they have no organization and no afterschool programs for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I would highly recommend Valley View, but only the TAG program. The teachers for this program are very interested in the children and helping them to achieve their potential. These are brighter children and are generally better behaved that the other children. The curriculum for the TAG program proved to be a very good springboard for advanced level classes later on. I strongly encourage parental involvement; the more the teachers see you, the more they'll keep up with you and your child. Valley View also participates in the PG County music program and the music teacher is very enthusiastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

My son is new to V.V.E.S., but so far this school is a dream come true. The last school my son attended was deplorable at best. But Vally View is like a breath of fresh air. The teachers and staff seem to truly care about the well-being and education of the students and it shows. It seems like there are always some renovations or updates being made to the school, which shows me that there is much pride there. In a county that has a well-deserved horrible reputation, Valley View stands out to me as a beacon of hope. Like most schools there could be some improvements, but overall it is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

I've been very disappointed with this school. This school has no structure and no organization. I think that the administration of this school needs to put more effort into their professionalism and customer service to parents inquiring about enrollment. This school does not provide before/after care and I think that it makes no sense to charge students for what the school has called, 'Out of Uniform Day.' Valley View is supposed to be a TAG school but is not even a 'Blue Ribbon' school as of yet. Bottom line...Valley View needs a major improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

My child is intellectually challenged in a well disciplined environment. Valley View definitely stands out among similar schools in the area. Its academic programs along with strong parental involvement should be replicated in other area schools. My wife and I are well pleased with this school, and hope our younger children will be able to attend as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

I am overall pleased with this school my children are growing and learning at a place that allows me to introduce new things. I glad my son is able to attend Pre K not all the schools have this important phase in life. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 35%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Danby Ave
Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone: (301) 749-4350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kiddie Academy Of Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD




St. Ignatius Loyola School
Fort Washington, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT