Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
73 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
Great partial immersion program...half the day in English and half the day in Spanish. The coursework appears to be between a year to two years ahead of peers at many schools in the same grade. A small tight knit community. Caring dedicated teachers. Great peer group of smart and well-mannered kids with very involved parents (who are impressive in their own right). Great soccer team. Tae Kwon Do and music lessons on site, with new extras being considered and added with each year. My child has thrived here and I am happy we have such a great resource in the neighborhood without having to commute to Alexandria or DC for a good private school education. The graduates are moving on to many elite schools afterwards which speaks volumes about the education they are receiving at MIDS.

The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
Maryland International Day School is a gem of a school. I am thrilled with the quality of the teachers, the leadership and involvement of the principal, the challenging dual language curriculum, and the commitment and involvement of the parents. This school makes learning in two languages fun! We could not ask for a better program or a friendlier school. It is a wonderful place for children to learn and grow. On top of all that, the school has moved into a nice new building.


The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted November 01, 2010
- a parent
Maryland International Day School is outstanding school that provides my children the very best elementary foundation I could find. I am impressed everyday with the abilities that my children display in both the Spanish and English language. The other parents help to form a great bond also and the school has developed into a tight knit family.

The Maryland International Day School
no rating

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
I love the Spanish immersion program and the strong family environment. It nice to know that my child is learning and being nurtured at the same time. His school mates are like his siblings. His teachers, like extended family. Its a wonderful place for children to learn and grow.

The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted May 29, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended the PreK program and will be entering the Kindergarten knowing how to read on beginning second grade level, write, do single digit addition and subtraction, identify synonyms, antonyms,etc. speak grade level 1 Spanish, and read music. Her other accomplishments are too numerous to list. I am very satisfied with her progress toi date. The staff and administration have an open door policy and communication is very good. The one drawback is the quality of facility. However, my number one priority is my daugther's education and she is certainly getting top notch instruction.


The Maryland International Day School
no rating

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
My son is in his second year. The school is very sound, and what they lack in facilities, the school more than makes it up in academics and environment. We are very pleased with the leadership, teachers, and program. The school is really geared towards getting the most academically out of the school day

The Maryland International Day School 2

Posted August 24, 2007
- a parent
Our child was at MIDS for a bit over a year. The school makes a genuine effort to provide a bi-lingual spanish/english curriculum but it is a far cry from an 'international school,' and we found it to be a bit disingenuous to market the school as an international environment. We cannot recommend this school.

The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
This will be the third year that my daughter has attending this school. It's absolutely amazing both academically and socially. The relationships amongst the parents, teachers and the children are strong and create an atmosphere that is conducive to their learning process. The teachers are patient and allow the children to work at a pace that's comfortable for them. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who is interested.


The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted July 26, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended the PreK program and will be entering the Kindergarten knowing how to read, write, do addition and subtraction, identify synonyms, antonyms,etc. speak grade level 1 Spanish, understand the life cycle of a plant, knows how to spell the nine planets in spanish and english. I am extremely thrilled with the results and the administration. The class size is small and the kids really learn to appreciate other countries and cultures. Socially, my daughter was quiet and shy, but has become more confident and outgoing. I love this school - love it, love it, love it! T. Jackson

The Maryland International Day School 5

Posted April 13, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is currently attending in the Pre-K class. For what she learned in the first semester, I would have been thrilled if that's all she learned in the first year. THe teachers are so caring and kind, they really make learing fun. They have a great after school program including takwondo, piano, violin, and guitar lessons. Not only is this an International Baccalaurate school, it's also spanish immersion. This school is truly a gem and a pleasant surprise to find in PG County. The equivalent school is DC cost 24K a year, so this school is not only a gem but a superb bargain. If you check this school out, you will be wonderfully surprised.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Maryland International Day School
6400 Livingston Road, Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD  20745
(301) 567-9101
Last modified The Maryland International Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Maryland International Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top