Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hereford High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2013

As a current student, I can testify to the strength and quality of the education I have received over the past three years. I have been challenged in many of my classes, and in instances where my classmates were falling behind and I had a desire to go beyond the curricula, my teachers gave me that opportunity. Both the faculty and the administration truly care about students here, and I couldn't have been happier in that regard. My education, however, is not without its flaws. Hereford has a remarkable lack of diversity, and the vast majority of my classmates seem blithely unaware of the social and economic problems that exist in our society. Students don't see the value of diversity and different perspectives. I don't think students are "globally competitive" if they can't look at someone who is different than they and truly view them with equal standing. Moreover, many of the teachers disregard this problem, and that discourages minority students. Other high-achieving BCPS schools are far better in this regard. Overall, it's a great school and I received a wonderful education, but there are serious cultural problems here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2012

If you are planning to move to the Baltimore area, try to find a location in the Hereford Zone in Northern Baltimore County so your students can attend Hereford High School. They will receive a top notch education in a beautiful rural location with lots of opportunities available locally and in the very nearby Baltimore metro area. My husband and all three sons attended Hereford, so I can personally attest to all of the above!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

Hereford is one of the best I absolutely love my students there. They are so kind, polite, and especially smart. I have seen so many of my students go on to top colleges and succeed so well in whatever they chose to do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2010

I have been to schools all over the county and without a doubt, this is the best high school in the county and possibly even the state. Even as a sub teacher, I have never had a single problem student. School building is old and needs some work but the spirit within is THE model for every other school in the country.


Posted June 17, 2009

I am not only a parent of a HHS graduate but I myself graduated from there in 1978. My daughter graduated in 2006 and will be starting her senior year of college in the fall. I feel too that HHS is a great school because it has constantly had students that scored high on the SAT's. It is a unique school and has always excelled in sports too. Tracy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I taught at HHS most of my career. You just can't beat the students, community and staff.


Posted March 6, 2009

I went to Hereford High School and I graduated in 2005. I love the teachers and staff because they really prepared me for college. I was more prepaired than most of the private school students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2008

I went to Hereford High and now my 2 sons go there. It truly is a Private public school. After I graduated I moved away for college and once I got married and had children I had to move back, I would'nt have my kids going anywhere else. They are doing awesome in school and are prepared for college with out a doubt! In the next 2 years they will both be out of HS and on there own in college. The parents are nice and classy as well as the students. If you ever want a great school with amazing teachers students and SPORTS get your kids to Hereford. Another perk it's a very pretty school beautiful location and beautiful people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

My husband went to HHS and so do my two boys. My oldest just started at Stanford, and commented how well his teachers at HHS prepared him for college. He took many AP courses at HHS, and enjoyed them all, especially his classmates. My son went from HHS to upperclass courses at Stanford with no problems at all. He also fits in well with the Calif culture and the diverse kids on campus. My younger son is loving the athletic program and the commitment of the teaching staff to the kids at school. I only wish he was taking advantage of the great music program as well. We feel very fortunate to live in the 'Hereford Zone'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

im a student at hereford hiqh, it's pretty fun and all just too much drama. and the principals and assiant principals are really on your tail. see ima freshman, class of 2011 and they follow me 24/7. it's crazyyy. there really strict, and they don't give me many second chances. but they give us a qreat educationn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

I am a current student at Hereford High, and I love every second I'm there! The teachers are amazing; they really listen to what you say and assist you if you have a problem or need help reviewing some of the material. All together it's an outstanding school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2006

I am a student at Hereford High School. I am in my senior year and couldn't be happier. The opportunities that I have received have been amazing. We were one of the first schools to offer AP World History in the tenth grade. Because of all the opportunities for AP courses in school I already have a semester worth of college credits without ever having been to college. It's set me up for success including scholarships and an overall lead. The teachers are excellent and the 4 period day allows us to get 4 extra credits in addition to an hour during the day devoted to clubs. The enrichment hour is valuable especially since colleges look at extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2006

Hereford is a great High School in a great Area. My oldest child graduated from Hereford in 2006. She got into a great College in North Carolina and told me thanks to Hereford, 'I feel really prepared for College.' She said many students were struggling with the long college classes which many are 1 hr 15 minutes (75 minutes), but she was just fine because she had 90 minute classes at Hereford! She really had a chance to explore career paths at Hereford too. Great High School, along with a great Middle School! Go Bulls!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 4, 2006

Wonderful school! Our kids got a rigorous course of study in math and science. Music is also a standout program. We encountered many outstanding teachers, a small handful of mediocre teachers and zero bad teachers there over the years. Most of the kids there are polite and high achieving. We love HHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Hereford high school is concidered the private public school in maryland.They offer AP classes so your child gets a head start in college.It has an almost zero drop out rate. They have all kinds of scollarship programs and help your child get into college A++++ high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
Black 3% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17301 York Rd
Parkton, MD 21120
Phone: (410) 887-1905

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oldfields School
Glencoe, MD


Dulaney High School
Timonium, MD




St. Paul's School for Girls
Brooklandville, MD


St Pauls School
Lutherville-Timonium, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT