Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pasadena Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 349 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2013

This was a great school up until a few years ago! The principal at this school is terrible, I'm so glad my last child is going to 6th grade in the fall so we don't have to deal with her anymore. There are two secretaries at the school, the one who sits by the front door right as you walk in is amazing...the other not so much. I think that the teachers are okay, most of the good ones seem to be retiring or getting forced out, which is very unfortunate. I wouldn't be surprised if it had to do with the principal's poor leadership. All in all, its an okay school, but I'm glad to be done with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

My Kids will be attending this school in the fall of 2012 I have heard very good things about it, I am looking forward to a great school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

The office staff and the principal are not friendly at all. We were dissapointed with the new principal. The school is always trying to make money and charge students and families to attend most events. The music and drama programs are great! The new music teacher is phenominal! Mr. Myzak is an amazing teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

i have my little boy there and its fantastic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I think the staff at Pasadena are wonderful. I could not have hand picked my kids teachers and gotten a better group of wonderful teachers. The principle is also a godsend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

This school is great. My kids go there. One in htird and one in fifth-the Hosse Family. The teachers are amazing and it is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

I have 3 children who have attended this school for the past 6 years a kindergartener (now first grader), a third (now 4th) grader and my oldest who just finished 5th grade. The teachers are wonderful. Supportive, responsive and patient. The classes are small and the school offers many after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

This is the best school and I am so glad my children go there. The school's population is very small (close to 300 students) and the teachers are wonderful. The school just reopened in a brand new building, and it is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

Great school. The parents and teacher are all close there are so many events that take place here. The school is great and everyone knows everyone. Everyone is involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 42%
Black 9% 35%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 East Pasadena Rd
Pasadena, MD 21122
Phone: (410) 222-6573

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Elvaton Christian Academy
Millersville, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT