Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Eagle Cove School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2014

This is a school that I am terribly sad to see close. They had an exceptional staff and my 2 children have been happy, successful, and thriving here the last half-dozen years!! They live and breathe their mantra of being a "Maryland Green School." The small class size makes it possible for every student to be successful. The Specials teachers of Art, Spanish, Science, PE, Library/Computer, & Music are all experts in their field. They were at the height of their program, when financial barriers/post-recession enrollment issues caused them to close this June 2014 after 58 years. This is a travesty and a loss to the county and the private school options. Every child in the world would delight in going to this school, taking part in the hands on/outdoor activities, and thrive due to the academic rigor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

Eagle Cove is a beautiful campus with a stunning view. We were totally sold on the "green school" concept and all of it's associated programs. Unfortunately, we found that many of the teachers do not hold any degree in education. While out child learned, conflicts in the classroom are a disaster. It became apparent that parents who donated large amounts of money had children who were given greater latitude with inappropriate behavior. School is essentially run by a few select parents with a Head of School that bows down to their demands. We have managed to stay out of the cat fights, but are looking to transition to another school during the Christmas break.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Only 15 in a class AND they have an art teacher, and a science teacher, and a music teacher, and a Spanish teacher, and a Librarian. Amazing faculty in a small school environment. Great school.


Posted February 7, 2013

The ENTIRE faculty at Eagle Cove School is hands down exceptional (to say the least)! Without hesitation Laura Kang (Head of Eagle Cove School in Pasadena, Md.) has developed an enthusiastic staff fostering high levels of learning and culture. The supportive teachers bring a wide range of experiences from the classrooms and life experiences to their students. I have find Eagle Cove School to not only provide my children with exceptional tools for a better education but also offering more opportunities from a water front campus to learn about the Chesapeake Bay, The Oyster Spat release, Building a Green House, etc. Laura Kang and Eagle Cove School provide a vibrant and creative place for high-level learning for every child. I am confident ANY parent will find Eagle Cove School as an environment nurturing independence and self-assurance in our children to become strong leaders in today s society and for tomorrow. Parents looking to expand the learning and creativity, as well as build self-confidence in their child will not be disappointed with Eagle Cove School in Pasadena, Md. ECS... Fun, Caring, Exceptional, Extraordinary... The Best Opportunity for Your Child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

We are so grateful for Eagle Cove School. It provides a nurturing learning community where every student is a priority. In a world where recess and outdoor time is shrinking, ECS emphasizes active learning and outside time and, as my daughter would say, has the best playground in Maryland! To put it simply, ECS is amazing and I strongly recommend that you check it out for yourself. You will be glad that you did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

My daughter started pre-k at another school and had such a bad experience that I removed her, and she refused to go to school. She was traumatized so badly that nothing I could do or so would convince her otherwise. Then I found out about Eagle Cove. After several visits to the school with her and a couple on her own, she agreed to attend pre-k the following school year. She is now in kindergarten and is in love with her school. It has been a true blessing to see how she has grown emotionally and academically.She amazes me every day with the wealth of information she learns, and is enjoying the learning experience as well. Eagle Cove is second to none in every aspect.. The children come from all walks of life and are all amazing young citizens. The teachers are also pretty amazing, every teacher knows every child by name, and treats each child with respect ,encouraging each one to be the best they possibly can be, giving them the confidence they need to strive. It is truly been such an all around great experience so far and I look forward to what comes next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

We were a little worried when we decided to transition from homeschooling to school that our children just "wouldn't fit in". Eagle Cove School far exceeded our expectations. They have a diverse environment where my children be free to be themselves. The teachers really think outside the box, making the educational program rich and full of possibilities. Their eco-friendly approach really hit home with my family and we really feel the the school community embraced us even though we're not the typical "private school family". My son loves the technology available, excels in his Spanish class and raves about the library. My daughter loves P.E. and the science class that really hands on! I love that small class sizes 10-15 kids and the teachers who are big on communication. We <3 Eagle Cove School, you can't find a better elementary school in AA county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Eagle Cove School more than meets our expectations for a private school. ECS students enjoy a close relationship with their teachers in classrooms of 10-15 students. ECS is the home of the 2012 Maryland Private School Teacher of the Year. EVERY child goes through a full spectrum of special classes such as Spanish, Science, Computer, PE, Art, and Music. Couple the dynamic culture led by a very experienced Head of School, with a beautiful waterfront campus, and the learning experience at ECS is par none. It is not uncommon for the science class to be out on the dock sampling water quality. Music classes train all year for various shows and recitals. Art students are exposed to a wide variety of fine art by an award winning teacher. All teachers are devoted to being the best in their field - many with long tenures. That should say something about the learning and working at ECS. Many parents say "I had heard of the school, and as soon as I set foot on the campus knew this was the place for my child." You owe it to your child to check out Eagle Cove School. You can arrange a tour with a simple phone call. The web site is also an excellent resource for information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

To say Eagle Cove School is outstanding, is an understatement. After having our son spend a year at the local public school, we made the choice to move him to ECS. This was by far the best decision we could have made. Smaller class sizes, much deeper attention to "specials" (I.E. Spanish, Art, Music, Science, etc), and most importantly, a family atmosphere. Each child is a part of the Eagle Cove family, not just another student!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

Eagle Cove School has an outstanding faculty. One of the teachers was chosen Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year last Spring. Teachers work hard to bring out the best in every student. They now have a PreK 3 year old program. Graduates from ECS are being accepted into the best middle school programs in the area. Their core academics are strong, especially the writing program. The Specials are hands-on--PE, music, art, science, Spanish,library, and computer. They have a new Ipad program and robotics for students K-5th. The school's culture is strong and caring. My children have developed a love of learning at ECS over the past many years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

If you are considering any private school, a good idea is to see what is happening on the playground, at lunch, and on the bus. See how the kids behave at local fundraisers in restaurants, sit in on the parent association meetings. This is where you find out what the culture of the school is. Ideally you want to see children well-supervised on the playground. No kids doing schoolwork during recess. Children kept in control by teachers on the bus. Children kept in control by their parents when there is a restaurant fundraiser. These are the candid moments in a school's life, and a very big part of how the school experience will impact your child and family life. I cannot say that this school is better or worse than any other private school. Every school has a culture, and to find out what the real culture is, you need to dig a little deeper than the brochure and the tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This is our first year at GICS and I have to say I am overwhelmingly impressed. My son is in 1st grade here and the difference in his attitude and demeanor is like night and day compared to last year, he is so happy here. He loves getting up and going to school!! The teachers love what they do and you can tell. The academics are perfect and the small class size allows my child to excel. We are also stunned with a little known fact about this school, there is a wonderful socio-economic balance within the student population. I always recommend this school to any parent that asks me about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Gibson Island Country School has an extraordinary location. They believe in hands-on education. My child learns so much by doing. The waterfront environmental program is outsanding. Students excell in their reading and writing program. My child is so happy here and loves coming to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

Gibson Island Country School is the kind of school we all wish we could have attended as children. The campus is stunning and bordered by the Magothy River. Classes are small. Teachers are caring, professional, savvy and work closely with administrators on curriculum and student issues. Parents are supportive; their volunteer efforts are the lifeblood of the school. Each child is known and valued. The hands-on environmental science program is second to none. Children's progress in core academics is closely monitored by teachers. It is true the school is not set up to serve children with major learning or emotional issues. Children with mild learning issues flourish as faculty, parents and administrators communicate with each other and specialists. The school's families are extremely diverse socioeconomically--a little-known fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

We have been at GICS for years and our experience is disappointing. The school churns through heads, and is on the fourth head master in three years. Teachers do what they want with no direction. What do you do when you have made it through fourth? Kindergarten starts large, and class size gets smaller as teaching becomes important. Fifth grades are small. September 2008 enrollment was down ten percent from 2007. Over the last year families moved their children to public school, to Chesapeake Academy, and to catholic schools. If your child learns differently, or is in any way different from other children, plan for frustration. Need tutoring, prepare for more frustration. There is only one teacher for each grade. This was appealing, Then we got a teacher who was not producing for our child. This happened twice. No sports field, sport programs or intramural program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

We needed to pull our child out of the school in the middle of the year. The school is too small to provide any services for a child that is not 100% in the main stream. There is poor discipline, significant staff and head turn over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

Gibson Island Country School is a small co-ed private school located on the Magothy River in Pasadena, MD. Class size is quite small which allows for individualized attention. My daughter has been attending this school since Pre-K and will graduate from 5th grade (class size of 13) in 6/05. She has earned execellent grades while maintainig a strenuous work load. SHe has recently been accepted into the private middle school of her choice. There are after school clubs available. The Parents Association is incredible for such a small school. Worth the visit to this scenic learning institution. You do not have to be a resident of Gibson Island to attend. The school is not located on Gibson Island.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 45%
Two or more races 13% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Black 0% 40%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 10%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5191 Mountain Road
Pasadena, MD 21122
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 255-5370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT