Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bodkin Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 581 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

The best elementary school in AA county ! There are some teacher aides that do not belong, but that will soon correct itself when Principle Jansky and crew reevaluate the term.....other than that.....great relationships and involvement with parents make for a spectacular program !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2012

The parent involvement at Bodkin is tremendous. My daughter had a hard time when we relocated here. The school couselor and faculty were wonderful at making her feel welcome and keeping me in the loop. If you have the opportunity to have your child attend Bodkin, grab it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

This is the best school my kids have ever attended. We moved twice over the past 4 years and they have gone to three total elementary schools, but I've never seen them enjoy school as much as they do at Bodkin. My oldest has ADHD and at his first school they treated him as an outcast, which made learning difficult. Since we've moved to Bodkin, he has been not only accepted but treated like all other students, given the same consideration and opportunities as everyone else. I appreciate that so much and I've seen his self esteem increase so much, I hate to see his fifth grade year end! The administration, teachers and other staff members have always been warm and welcoming, always available, and the school is clean and taken care of too. I wish Bodkin had grades k-12 instead of just elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Great school. Just got daughters' MSA's - for the first time (after her second year at the school; she's in 4th grade), her scores were great. She was always border line "proficient" before but after 4th grade here, she blossomed and improved sooooo much - she ended up being borderline "advanced"!! All in one year. The 4th grade teachers make learning fun for them. They are so young and nice and energetic and the children feed off of it - really!. Bodkin 100% proficiency for 4th grade math student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Fantastic school. My son LOVES it here. Teachers are great to deal with and my son is learning so much at a very high level. IMPRESSED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I think the teachers at Bodkin are the best.


Posted April 30, 2010

Bodkin Elementary has the best teachers ever!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Bodkin has always been a great school, wonderful staff and community support all the way. Working on third generation to attend.Great-great-great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

I am a parent of three children in Bodkin currently. It is hard to summarize all the wonderful things happening at Bodkin in a short paragraph. My favorite aspect of the school is the positive nurturing tone. The teachers, administration, curriculum, parent volunteers, children all vibrate with pride and a sense of community. The grades function as a team with cooperative among teachers. Bodkin is a Maryland Green School and the environmental projects are part the children's daily lives. Communication and respect for parents' presence, opinions, questions are amazing. I toured several public schools and moved to this one. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I so love Bodkin and am so sad this is my daughter's last year. She has loved all her teachers and they have always gone above and beyond for all the students. I will miss volunteering since it's seems when she got to 5th grade it was less and I assume there will bo none in 6th grade. She has been there since kindergarden and I can only hope and pray she loves middle school in Easton where she will be attending. We will be moving soon and will come back to visit Bodkin. Thanks to all the woderful teachers and staff that made elementary school something she will always remember. God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

The only sad thing I have to say about Bodkin is that this will be my daughter's last year as she moves up to CBMS. She has attended since kindergarten and loved every day of it. The teachers aren't just their teachers for the year they are in their class. They continue to support and vist with kids at all grade levels. We watch the teachers and their family's grow up in the Bodkin community as well. Every year at the 5k Middle School and High School kids come back to visit with Bodkin. The education is top notch, school spirit and parental involvement superior, and I can't forget to mention the arts...chorus and band always puts out a great show. I just wish there was more room in the auditorium!!! I will miss having my daughter at Bodkin, but I know she will always remember her days there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I'm a grandparent of students at Bodkin, and have visited there many times over the last 5 years that they've been there. I am so impressed with the school, with the education my granddaughters are getting, and very impressed with the teachers. Keep up the good work. We need more like you!


Posted April 13, 2007

Words cannot express how impressed I am with the level of parent participation that is shown at Bodkin. We moved from another area school and there is truly no comparison. I believe parent participation can really give a good gauge of how families in the area make their childs education a top priority. This being said it shows in the number of students that are involved with the Math Superstars program, Bodkin's Annual 5k Race, Fitness Night, School Plays, Family Movie Night etc... The PTA does an excellent job of coordinating family oriented activities that encourage the kids to build a good home/school connection. Bodkin has also become very active in recycling -being a Maryland Green School as well as extra class projects that show the children ways to help those less fortunate and become involved in their community. I am very proud to say my kids go to Bodkin Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

My son is in the 1st grade and I am so impressed with the parent, teacher, and faculty involvement. I have never seen so many parents at a class or school function requiring volunteers. His teacher writes his daily progress, struggles and accomplishments every day in a signature school journal every day. My son loves going to school and is willingly involved in extra curricular learning programs above and beyond the classroom. There are an abundance of academic after school programs and I am thankful every day that we moved to this school district. I have witnessed first hand why this school was given a blue ribbon award and I am so proud my son goes to Bodkin Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Recently moved here from out-of-state. Pleasantly surprised by Bodkin. My kindergardener was moved to first grade reading and got great support from both kindergarden and 1st grade teachers. My fifth grader, who is under medical care, wasn't eating lunch. The nurse called me and arranged for him to have a special lunch everyday. She followed through to make sure he was eating it. Last week, when I attended the chorus concert the principal told me that my 4th grader had won a math award. That's how involved she is in the daily operation of the school and how well she knows the families. All three of my children have encountered a supportive and friendly learning environment and have made new friends and joined new activities that suit their interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 43%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian 1% 6%
Black 1% 36%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8320 Ventnor Rd
Pasadena, MD 21122
Phone: (410) 437-0464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eagle Cove School
Pasadena, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT