Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Fox Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

This school has a lot to improve on. A LOT of bad behavior and little control over students. There's a lot that goes and the administrators pay little attention to it. There's a fight at least once every few days, At least in the 8th grade.


Posted April 29, 2014

I am very disappointed with my daughter's learning experience at George Fox Middle. Most of her teachers, with the exception of two, had poor classroom management, hardly assigned thought provoking assignments, hardly gave homework. Lots of poor behavior at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

My thoughts exactly! And why was the building so dark! On a good note my kid had a fantastic week and loves all of her teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

Im not sure how to feel about the Principal being a no show for the 6th grade orientation tonight. If he avoids the easy stuff how does he handle the difficult task of being a leader at a school with a less then perfect reputation??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

Nice school, teachers avail themselves to the students. Fox Paws are great incentives. No bullying issues. My children are happy there, and have learned alot from science and math teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I had fun attending the school. Only if I spent one year there. The teachers were horriable. And the school is in the ghetto. That was one of my best years


Posted December 7, 2011

My child is a 6th grader. He was nervous about George Fox because of bad rumors. We have learned that those are just rumors! My child's teachers are caring & helpful, and want my child to succeed. They give encouragement and recognition every day. Despite the school's poor standardized test grades on average, my child is always above average compared to county and state, so regardless of the school"s performance as a whole, my child is excelling and thats all I care about! The new principal is caring and wants to make it a great school. After school clubs, after school help and activiity buses are a great benefit. So far so good at George Fox. Don't believe all the bad rumors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I love this school im in all advance classes there and going into 8th this year so far algebra 1 was ok my teacher at first helped us then he during the middle of the year he kid around with us but then when the important stuff came like the hsa and final he kicked in and helped some thing i dont like is that some teachers expect you to know stuffand you really dont and that there are some fights people throw stuff in class and some time teachers tont relize and that there is so many brodjects i had like 18 last year and that cost some money but over all this is a good school


Posted September 26, 2010

overall i think this school is a great school but i think we hav too much hw that involves online textbooks. i think we should do the textbook stuff in class. plus, the blackboard said that you use your account that u use to get on a school computer to get onto blackboard but mine isnt working. i also am still trying to get used to this school bc theres way too many hallways it makes it hard to not get lost.


Posted May 20, 2010

Because my kids go their, it's close and it has lots of stuff for after school activities and homework help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Thi school has to be one of the most unsupervised schools in history, the teachers never see anything. If your child goes there you know what i mean. this school has a huge bullying and intimidation problem.. some of the teachers have been known to take part in such behavior as well. the 0 tolerence policy on fighting only exsist if your caught defending yourself. i couldnt continue without clicking atleast 1 star but, its non desearving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

This school rocks but some teachers don't help the students I'm in all advanced classes they exspect so much of us. The best teacher is mr.vickerman he makes gym the best class he is so fun.i love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Overall, I'd say that George Fox is an average middle school. My son is in all advanced classes and is challenged. I'd say that his experience has shown TOO much homework and TOO many projects. Although I'm satisfied with most of my son's teachers, one teacher made his 6th grade experience so bad, it outshadowed everything else. It wasn't until higher management, outside the school, got involved that anything was done to correct the problem. This year has been a MUCH better experience for everyone concerned. As with any school, you only get out of it what you put into it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

there are alot of fights and some of the teachers don't pay attention to the students and they're only nice to the students that are the smartest in the class. but there are some nice teachers like mr. vickerman because he tries to make gym fun. but alot of people don't learn anything b/c the teachers don't help them to understand everything. alot of my friends say they hate this school, and i partially agree because they suspend you just for not having your lanyard, i don't think this is a very good school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2009

I love george fox middle school the teachers are great espically mr.Mcelwain and mr.Vickerman there awesome teachers and mrs.Lee is an awesome assistant principal i give it a 5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This school is terrible. My child never did a single project the entire year and hardly ever had homework. He watched many videos and I believe that he will struggle come the nineth grade. Very sad that the students are not the priority at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I go to george fox and i think it is a great school.This is my second year and my scores keep grtting higher and higher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

I think this school is great. They have so much to offer the children and the teachers are very involved. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I am a student that goes here i think it is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

My children have become so stupid since I moved them to George Fox. The teachers and administration are cruel and uncaring. They have no compassion for the education and futures of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Black 9% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
College counselor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7922 Outing Ave
Pasadena, MD 21122
Phone: (410) 437-5512

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Elvaton Christian Academy
Millersville, MD


Marley Glen School
Glen Burnie, MD


Marley Middle School
Glen Burnie, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT