Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chapel Hill Elementary School 3

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
The PTA and parents rule this school. Leadership is weak and not visible. Teachers are okay, but parents with the loudest voice get their kids into the classes and programs they want. Not much emphasis on art or music. There appears to be no set policy for teachers responding to emails sent by parents,- some respond and some don t.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Previous comments on the emphasis on MSAs should take into account that this is a reflection of our national education policy rather than CHE alone. Every public school in every state requires standardized testing and the schools feel the pressure to produce results. I also believe that overcrowding was not a problem until thousands of McMansions were built in this area over the last decade. However, I do admit that a lower student/teacher ratio would be nice. Regarding individualized attention: Your child is not going to have it in college or the workplace-- now might be a good time to socialize them into this reality. The only people who truly thinks that our daughter is special is me, my husband, and her grandparents. The same holds true for the child of anyone reading this. My daughter has performed well in K-1. Both teachers had very different teaching styles, yet both were effective. I also volunteer for my daughter's class when time permits. I'm very satisfied, however, the school needs air conditioning.


Chapel Hill Elementary School 2

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is average at best. The faculty is only concerned with MSA test scores and nothing else. A school rating system that has many flaws. The state of Maryland agree to lower the standard to score higher test scores. An overhaul of the current system is desperately needed to save this school and others like this one. All of the best qualified teachers moved on or retired in the last few years. We do what we can to help our kids go beyond what is being taught at this school. I hope to move out to a better school district. Perhaps to Howard County if I could afford to live there.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
This school and administration rides on the laurels of MSA test scores. I agree that not enough attention is paid to the individual students; as long as those MSA scores stay high, that seems to be all that matters. But if the school teaches to the test ("prepare the children") and the children already come from affluent homes where parents spend time working with their children and providing supplemental education services, then it's really more the parents preparing their children than the school. The parental involvement and PTA is great, but can only work in the constraints of what the administration will allow them to do.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My two sons transferred to Chapel Hill Elementary these year, one is in the kindergarten and the other third grade. I am extremely impressed with the staff and curricula taught. My sons really like to school and have been able to transition well, especially my son in the third grade. They feel welcome by both teachers and their peers.


Chapel Hill Elementary School 4

Posted April 30, 2011
- a community member
Any tips of "the best" teachers...especially for Kindergarten and First Grade? My daughter is starting at Chapel Hill in the Fall. Thanks!

Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
Excellent School! Could not ask for anything better! I have one child currently attending and plan to have 2 more in the future!

Chapel Hill Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2010
- a parent
This school is pretty nice, although, the teachers (when it doesn't have anything to do with academics) will just go with the flow and not pay any attention to the kids behavior. But everything else is very good.


Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
Not very sure about this school. My son's teacher seems very impersonal and just goes through the motion. Cannot speak for other teachers. School needs a lot of renovation. School management seems to be very responsive. Overall, i would give this school a good score.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chapel Hill Elementary School
5200 East Joppa Rd, Perry Hall, MD  21128
(410) 887-5119
Last modified Chapel Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chapel Hill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top