Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Poolesville, MD
Students enrolled: 387

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Poolesville Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
Poolesville Elementary is a great school. The principal is very involved and is always willing to meet with parents. The faculty is very dedicated and goes above and beyond to make students feel welcome. The school is located in the charming town of Poolesville surrounded by a tight knit community.

Poolesville Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2013
- a parent
Overall excellent plus plus. A few "average" teachers but many are extremely good and focused on the kids inside & outside of class. I also agree that the principal is amazing - he knows every student and parent by name, and lines of communication between school and families are fantastic. Very safe environment bolstered by anti-bullying program and strong parent involvement (though it's a pretty small and tight-knit community anyway). Only drawback is imposed by Montgomery County, as their let's-draw-everyone-down-to-the-lowest-common-denominator standardized approach hamstrings the creative teachers. Welcome to the Obama age, I guess, where excellence will not be tolerated. That aside, this and Monocacy are the only places I'd even consider sending my son in this area.


Poolesville Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
We have been at this school for a year and it is so much nicer than where we moved from. Unfortunately, we have to move back to NC and I am very sad to leave this great school. The teachers were excellent at reporting my son's progress and working through whatever problems arose. They are pleasant and not condescending at all. I can not express enough what it means to have a principal that focuses on the happiness of the students instead of playing politics with the teachers. He really knows his stuff and is a joy to speak with. Our family has gained so much just from being here for a short time!

Poolesville Elementary School 2

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
Many of the staff at PES are wonderful and caring. There is an "in the box" thinking that is an overall detriment to any child who is not absolutely average, though. If there are any challenges, there is a lot of shuffling of feet and great talking, with very little action taken on behalf of the child. With a little work and some willingness to learn new strategies, PES might be a great place for all children.

Poolesville Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
Our child has been at Poolesville Elementary for several years. We've been impressed with the overall quality of the teaching at this school. The school has a positive behavior incentive program to encourage good behavior, which has been quite successful. The administration and staff put great emphasis on teaching positive social interactions and preventing bullying. The school's art teacher is terrific, there is a good music program, and there are after-school enrichment activities offered through the PTA and other groups. In short, this is an excellent school.


Poolesville Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2011
- a parent
This school has a new principal and he is amazing. The staff goes above and beyond for the kids. They have a higher standard than the average and expect more but help guide the children to this success level. Fun incentive programs for the children to succeed. This year the school received an award for the most volunteer hours from parents. Parents are completely involved and there is an open door policy.

Poolesville Elementary School 3

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Poolesville Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2008
- a parent
The teachers are very agile when it comes to teaching their students. When it comes to students, their numbers are far greater than their close rivals, monocacy elementary school. The school is very small for the amount of children but many friends can be made. The majority of the students participate in sports so it would be smart to put your child on some sort of athletic team.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Poolesville Elementary School
19565 Fisher Ave, Poolesville, MD  20837
(301) 972-7960
Last modified Poolesville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Poolesville Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top