Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Potomac, MD
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


German School Washington DC 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
We have two children at this school (Kindergarten and 1st grade) and have been very happy with the school. The school emphasizes independence, self-reliance and aims at educating children holistically, with a focus on languages, science, and what would be considered "extras" elsewhere (arts, music etc). The environment, particularly at the lower school, is very international. Both parents and staff are generally laid back and friendly. The kids spend a lot of time outdoors, the cafeteria staff prepares fresh, hot meals on site, and every time I am on the campus, it strikes me how happy and relaxed the kids seem. If you are looking for a pressure-cooker school environment, you will not be happy at this school. If your parenting style is to be very involved in your child's school life, you may not be happy either. My experience has been that the teachers are very focused on the children, but less so on involving the parents. This is part of the approach of teaching the children to be responsible, self reliant and independent. We have had a great experience at the German School so far and hope to remain a part of this wonderful community for many years to come.

German School Washington DC 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
I graduated from the German School (DSW) in 2003 and am now sending my children there. I cannot recommend the school highly enough. If you are deciding between the DSW and other private/public schools in the area, here are some points to consider: /// Different Teaching Style /// - Less homework, because there is less emphasis on repetition. I spent about half as much time on homework as my friends at Whitman HS. For example, I would have to solve only two math problems of a particular type, while they had to solve five. - Greater class participation, as this can count towards up to half of students’ grades. The continued emphasis on class participation from an early age means that students are more confident. - Students study multiple sciences and languages throughout high school. As opposed to the US system, the class schedule is different for each day of the week. By meeting less frequently during the week, students can take multiple sciences, multiple languages, social studies, art, music, and PE, simultaneously. The school week is more varied, the tendency to burn out is much lower, and homework for one subject is not necessarily due the next day. /// Competitive Advantage for Higher Education /// - From my graduating class, students went on to Yale, Princeton, Stanford, UVA, NYU, Carnegie Mellon, and universities in Germany. - Students can participate in multiple sports and clubs. This means students can fill their college application with the following: varsity soccer, varsity basketball, theater, choir, model UN, school newsletter, yearbook, etc. - The bicultural and bilingual environment means that students have a uniqueness factor on their college application that they can’t get at other schools. - The DSW opens up the opportunity for studying at a university in Germany at a fraction of the cost of US colleges. - There is less competition between students in the battle to get into a good US college, which can be cutthroat at other schools. This reduces stress and makes for a more collegial atmosphere in the last two years of high school. /// My experience at the DSW was very rewarding academically and socially. I felt very prepared for my studies at an Ivy League college. The DSW community is tight-knit, inclusive and welcoming of newcomers. I am very happy with the education my children are receiving in the DSW kindergarten.


German School Washington DC
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers that come from Germany are highly motivated and very effective. They stay only for a couple years. Some of the local teachers are less effective, since they stay for a much longer period of time. Overall, I was very satisfied with my teachers.

German School Washington DC
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
There is much less homework than in American schools, as there is less emphasis on repetition.

German School Washington DC
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
The emphasis on class participation from an early age helps students gain the confidence to speak up and speak out.


German School Washington DC 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Another wave of reviews coming in these days because the school sent an email to every parent begging for a review of the school at popular ranking sites. We are wrapping up our 3rd year at the school now and it has been a very mixed experience. The administration branch of the school is pretty terrible. Hopefully the new business manager and the new principal will improve things, but I wouldn't bet my money on it. A change culture is non-existent and if you are from Germany or are dealing with Governments, you will feel right at home. The sad part is that tuition is high while being located in one of the best school clusters of the US. Keep in mind though that a lot of parents get their tuition reimbursed in some sort of way, hence they don't care and won't complain. The customer service you would expect from paying a premium is lacking and lots of a time you feel like a burden with requests. The teachers can be hit or miss. We have seen very dedicated and knowledgeable teachers, but also had encountered the lazy, minimalist type. You will get exposure to German culture as most holidays and traditional festivals are being celebrated. I would only reluctantly recommend this school to anyone asking me.

German School Washington DC 3

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
I have two children at the school, and have been a member of the DSW community for over ten years now. LIke most places, there are good and bad. Bad is the administration now, and the way money is misspent and squandered. Tuition is high, and promises made years ago are not kept as funding is channeled to other things. As for your children becoming fully bilingual--if you don't speak German at home (as a native speaker), your child will not be a fluent bilingual speaker. Don't delude yourself. You should come to the school speaking German, it's not an immersion program. Those children that are learning it while at school never catch up and pull the level of the entire class down. This is particularly a problem in the higher grades, where they ought to require an entrance exam to test fluency and proficiency, but don't, since they appear to be more interested in your tuition money than in standards. Many of the teachers (mostly those brought from Germany) are very good and dedicated. No idea what the hiring process is for local teachers, but some of them are not good. (For instance, one of the upper grade English teachers speaks with a strong accent and poor grammar). The community of the school is small, and inclusive. Independence of thought and action are valued, support is provided, but children are not coddled. Overall, like with most places, you'll get out of it what you put into it. Regarding all the posts from early January: they did recently hire a social outreach coordinator, so it is interesting to see all the extremely positive reviews pop up at the same time.

German School Washington DC
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
The effectiveness of the teachers and the quality of the instruction vary greatly from teacher to teacher. There are some very good teachers there, but due to the rotation of them from Germany, they are sometimes only there for 4 yrs or so.


German School Washington DC
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Not enough at the upper school, the elementary school receives about the right amount of homework.

German School Washington DC 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
New to the school and have really enjoyed our rich learning experience, the worldly parent community, and the excellence of the German education. Our children are learning German in such a fast pace and enjoy it tremendously. We feel welcome, included, and informed. Looking forward to staying here for a while and getting a good grasp of this European-American culture.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

German School Washington DC
8617 Chateau Drive, Potomac, MD  20854
(301) 767-3807
Last modified German School Washington DC is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
German School Washington DC Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top