Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
500 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


German School Washington DC 5

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
I read some of the less favorable reviews. Of course one can complain about the administration or that some parents' concerns were not properly met. Don't forget, this is not only by name a GERMAN school. It is a German school with German teachers and a German curriculum in accordance with the Ministry of Education and Cultural Affairs of the German State of Thuringia. So expect differences to the American schools in the neighborhood. And since many of their students continue on to European universities, SAT and ACT don't play a major role there. But what comes out at the end is what counts: At the end of 12th grade the students have to pass the German 'Abitur', the general qualification for entering a university and if they have chosen US History as a subject in 11th grade they are also awarded the high school diploma. Passing the Abitur means passing written exams in German, one social sciences subject and one natural sciences subject and an oral exam in any one of them. These three written exams are held during a period of two weeks and each of them is three or four hours long. The students then have to apply the knowledge they have acquired the previous two school years. It is very demanding and the entire school seems to hold their breath when the exams are on. The ones in German and English are held at a native speaker level. Later on in college I found both my kids who had average grades in their Abitur exams to be very well prepared. They both went on to the University of Maryland; one majoring in Math the other in Bio-Chemistry. They both are in the top 20% of their classes and I know the German School played a major role in getting them there.

German School Washington DC
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
Same answer here as to the previous question: Again, it is foremost the parents' responsibility to develop these traits in their children. The school can only support the parents in their effort.


German School Washington DC
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
This is the parents' responsibility. The school can only further the development of honesty, integrity and fairness in its students. The parents have to lay the groundwork for these character traits, the school cannot repair where parents failed to give the proper example. However, the students I met through our children gave me not only in this respect a lot of hope for our future.

German School Washington DC
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
The counselor, Ms Fabina, is from the students point of view the heart on soul of the school. She is always there for them with an open mind and good advice.

German School Washington DC
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
It depends on the grade the student is in, 10th grade seems to be the toughest with the most homework. In 11th and 12th grades it becomes less and the student is required to decide on his/her own on how much studying is necessary in preparation for the final exams.


German School Washington DC 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
We have two children at this school (Kindergarten and 1st grade) and have been very happy with the school. The school emphasizes independence, self-reliance and aims at educating children holistically, with a focus on languages, science, and what would be considered "extras" elsewhere (arts, music etc). The environment, particularly at the lower school, is very international. Both parents and staff are generally laid back and friendly. The kids spend a lot of time outdoors, the cafeteria staff prepares fresh, hot meals on site, and every time I am on the campus, it strikes me how happy and relaxed the kids seem. If you are looking for a pressure-cooker school environment, you will not be happy at this school. If your parenting style is to be very involved in your child's school life, you may not be happy either. My experience has been that the teachers are very focused on the children, but less so on involving the parents. This is part of the approach of teaching the children to be responsible, self reliant and independent. We have had a great experience at the German School so far and hope to remain a part of this wonderful community for many years to come.

German School Washington DC 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
I graduated from the German School (DSW) in 2003 and am now sending my children there. I cannot recommend the school highly enough. If you are deciding between the DSW and other private/public schools in the area, here are some points to consider: /// Different Teaching Style /// - Less homework, because there is less emphasis on repetition. I spent about half as much time on homework as my friends at Whitman HS. For example, I would have to solve only two math problems of a particular type, while they had to solve five. - Greater class participation, as this can count towards up to half of students’ grades. The continued emphasis on class participation from an early age means that students are more confident. - Students study multiple sciences and languages throughout high school. As opposed to the US system, the class schedule is different for each day of the week. By meeting less frequently during the week, students can take multiple sciences, multiple languages, social studies, art, music, and PE, simultaneously. The school week is more varied, the tendency to burn out is much lower, and homework for one subject is not necessarily due the next day. /// Competitive Advantage for Higher Education /// - From my graduating class, students went on to Yale, Princeton, Stanford, UVA, NYU, Carnegie Mellon, and universities in Germany. - Students can participate in multiple sports and clubs. This means students can fill their college application with the following: varsity soccer, varsity basketball, theater, choir, model UN, school newsletter, yearbook, etc. - The bicultural and bilingual environment means that students have a uniqueness factor on their college application that they can’t get at other schools. - The DSW opens up the opportunity for studying at a university in Germany at a fraction of the cost of US colleges. - There is less competition between students in the battle to get into a good US college, which can be cutthroat at other schools. This reduces stress and makes for a more collegial atmosphere in the last two years of high school. /// My experience at the DSW was very rewarding academically and socially. I felt very prepared for my studies at an Ivy League college. The DSW community is tight-knit, inclusive and welcoming of newcomers. I am very happy with the education my children are receiving in the DSW kindergarten.

German School Washington DC
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers that come from Germany are highly motivated and very effective. They stay only for a couple years. Some of the local teachers are less effective, since they stay for a much longer period of time. Overall, I was very satisfied with my teachers.


German School Washington DC
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
There is much less homework than in American schools, as there is less emphasis on repetition.

German School Washington DC
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
The emphasis on class participation from an early age helps students gain the confidence to speak up and speak out.

Nearby schools

German School Washington DC
8617 Chateau Drive, Potomac, MD  20854
(301) 767-3807
Last modified German School Washington DC is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top