Advertisement
Advertisement

The Heights School

Private | 3-12 | 458 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Potomac

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $805,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

The faculty and administration is the best part of The Heights. Not only are the teachers highly qualified in their individual disciplines, they are men of integrity and wonderful examples to our sons. When I drop my son off at school each day, I have complete trust that he is in the best hands possible. The Heights is a true treasure!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

This school will be a game changer in your son's life! The Heights school is the total package that offers all the necessary tools for your son to be successful in life. The rigorus academic curriculum is taught by a male faculty whose primary job is to mentor your sons in their academic, spiritual and personal life. Their character is in constant formation. The environment at the Heights also reflects the unique learning nature of boys. The lower school is housed in fantastic log cabins, the boys have three recesses per day and start their day with PE. The woods on the campus provide fantastic climbing, fort building and exploration opportunities. The partnership between the Heights faculty and parents is exemplerary. The Heights faculty and staff are a wonderful resource to parents as we strive to raise young gentlemen in today's world. Worth every penny of tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

Nirvana for boys. This was the best money I have ever spent on my son. Nothing in the DC area can compare. The all male faculty provide their charges with rigerous academics, challenging sports teams and Serve as moral role models.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Awesome school for boys. We could have not found a better place for our sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

The Heights is an absolutely wonderful school for boys - the best of the best. This school was the first choice for my two sons. Both boys attended very fine colleges and I have always felt The Heights did an outstanding job of helping to prepare them as students and as young-adult men. Academically speaking, this school is tops! Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

My son is a freshman in The Heights School. We love the school and the teachers. It was the best choice we made for our son's high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

The Heights School is, simply put, a great environment for a young man. The academic integrity of the curriculum is excellent and the teachers are wonderful role models and instructors. If you want your son to grow up to become an outstanding man, this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

We have had 2 boys study at The Heights from 3rd to 12 grade, and the Heights has been an outstanding school. There is great balance between academic, sports, religious and cultural education. The school has a great array of AP classes so that your son can move forward as far as he can go (one of my sons took so many AP's that he skipped almost a year at Johns Hopkins). They also have many science, educational, cultural, sports and religious events trips locally, nationally and abroad. They field various champion sports teams and have super dedicated coaches. The faculty is outstanding, starting with the Principal and Asst. Principal, as well as the Catholic Chaplain who says Holy Mass everyday for a usually crowded chapel (Mass participation is purely voluntary). The A Capella singing group has consistently won National Awards in competitions in New York (Lincoln Center), Virginia and Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

If your boy is 'all boy', then there is not a better place for him to be educated than The Heights school. The all male faculty and wooded campus make this school a little slice of heaven for the boy that wants to live while he's learning. The philosophy of educating the boy to be the best man he can be, (regardless of his chosen occupation); is what education should ultimately be about and this school fulfills that objective beautifully. My son had attended public and private schools in Michigan, Ohio, and Maryland, (before he had reached fourth grade), and The Heights has been the best fit of them all for him. The fact that he can stay there until he graduates from High School makes the 'family' environment that much more stable...something everyone can use more of in today's mobile world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

This school is Boy's Heaven : Impressive academic challenge, teachers commitment, fun activities during the year. Parents-teacher comunication is a real bridge. Athmosphere of trust and love.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 45%
Hispanic 11% 10%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 2% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10400 Seven Locks Rd
Potomac, MD 20854
Phone: (301) 365-0227

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Mater Dei School
Bethesda, MD


Feynman School
Bethesda, MD


Harbor School
Bethesda, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT