Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Teachers, administrators, students and parents...the best! Wonderful community that cares for the wellbeing of children.

Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
The test scores are excellent. The families are focused on directing their children to achieve mastery. The teachers and staff strive for the students to achieve mastery. The school offers in school instrumental music lessons in 4th and 5th


Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2012
- a parent
This is a lovely, community-oriented school with rich cultural diversity and many highly educated, warm & friendly families. The principal emphasis is largely on math and teaching students how to pass standardized tests based on a Kuman style rather than how to learn. We struggle with the challenge of Wayside teachers' cookie-cutter approach that requires a Tiger Mom philosophy at home to have a child excel in that environment.

Wayside Elementary School 2

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
They push the kids too hard, you you have challenges in Math there is no alternative for you. As a student you are doing math with extensions to the next class. My son struggles and we had to fight to get him a class that will teach at his speed (a grade level class) until this is resolved it is difficult for students.

Wayside Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 20, 2009
- a teacher
I've never worked at school with so many experienced and dedicated teachers.


Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a student
Wayside is the best school in Maryland

Wayside Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
My daughter passed her KG from this school. This school is great in so many ways. Her KG teacher was so wonderful. Kids used to love her so much. I personally saw that how kids used to share everything with the teacher and how teacher used to answer their questions with so much patience. Academically my daughter learnt a lot in KG. She became a responsible and social kid. Overall a very nice school.

Wayside Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in KG and she's my eldest - I'm reviewing based on little experience. Her teacher seems fantastic and I like the way all 3 KG teachers work together. For the first couple weeks the kids had little/no real work or homework. They spent that time getting acquainted with their teacher and one another and getting acclimated in general. My daughter has 22 kids in her class and I would've hoped for 20 or less, but her teacher is experienced. Lunch room is chaos though. KG'res

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wayside Elementary School
10011 Glen Rd, Potomac, MD  20854
(301) 279-8484
Last modified Wayside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wayside Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top