Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Potomac, MD
Students enrolled: 576

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
The test scores are excellent. The families are focused on directing their children to achieve mastery. The teachers and staff strive for the students to achieve mastery. The school offers in school instrumental music lessons in 4th and 5th

Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2012
- a parent
This is a lovely, community-oriented school with rich cultural diversity and many highly educated, warm & friendly families. The principal emphasis is largely on math and teaching students how to pass standardized tests based on a Kuman style rather than how to learn. We struggle with the challenge of Wayside teachers' cookie-cutter approach that requires a Tiger Mom philosophy at home to have a child excel in that environment.


Wayside Elementary School 2

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
They push the kids too hard, you you have challenges in Math there is no alternative for you. As a student you are doing math with extensions to the next class. My son struggles and we had to fight to get him a class that will teach at his speed (a grade level class) until this is resolved it is difficult for students.

Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wayside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 20, 2009
- a teacher
I've never worked at school with so many experienced and dedicated teachers.


Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wayside Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a student
Wayside is the best school in Maryland


Wayside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
My daughter passed her KG from this school. This school is great in so many ways. Her KG teacher was so wonderful. Kids used to love her so much. I personally saw that how kids used to share everything with the teacher and how teacher used to answer their questions with so much patience. Academically my daughter learnt a lot in KG. She became a responsible and social kid. Overall a very nice school.

Wayside Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in KG and she's my eldest - I'm reviewing based on little experience. Her teacher seems fantastic and I like the way all 3 KG teachers work together. For the first couple weeks the kids had little/no real work or homework. They spent that time getting acquainted with their teacher and one another and getting acclimated in general. My daughter has 22 kids in her class and I would've hoped for 20 or less, but her teacher is experienced. Lunch room is chaos though. KG'res

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wayside Elementary School
10011 Glen Rd, Potomac, MD  20854
(301) 279-8484
Last modified Wayside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wayside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top