Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winston Churchill High School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a student
Churchill was a great experience for me while I was in high school. The educational programs and resources afforded to us far exceeded what we needed to get into the nations top universities. WCHS also has an excellent athletic programs that gets decent exposure to the college recruiting scene if your aspiring to pursue collegiate athletics.

Winston Churchill High School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
WCHS is one of the nations top schools. The teachers and the administration are geared to the success of the students-- and they listen to the parents. Even those students who need extra help are never ignored or slighted in any way. If you want a superior education for your child-- move into the Churchill district.


Winston Churchill High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
As with every big school, no individualized treatment can be provided to every student. They instill, however, a sense of fairness, respect, and empathy for others, independently from the background, origin or gender.

Winston Churchill High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
Students have a fair say in the few conflicts that seldom arise. The many sports and other team building opportunities create a solid team spirit. The very diverse student population, with people coming from all over the world, expands the kids' vision and understanding of the challenges and opportunities they will face in the future.

Winston Churchill High School 5

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
National Blue Ribbon. Excellent curriculum offerings and great teachers. Varied extracurricular activity and many clubs on ample categories. Very good infrastructure.


Winston Churchill High School 4

Posted November 09, 2014
- a student
I am currently a junior at Churchill and im not very satisfied with it. Obviously it is technically the best academic public school in the state, but there are many downsides to it as well. The school is very inconsistent. You either have a great teacher who is very open to helping students, or you have a stubborn, ignorant and untalented teacher. But one of the largest problems at Churchill is the amount of homework give. I know I may be whining, but as 2 sport varsity athlete (Football and track) and an active member in many clubs, the homework given is just too much. On a good day, I might go to sleep at 10:30 pm, doing hw from the time I arrive home. Thats during the spring, when I have no sports. But during fall and winter where many people participate in sports, teachers dont even consider your well being and assign alot of hw. With all the homework and extra cirriculars, many students are caused to sleep late, (12 pm - 2pm) and be really stressed out. The school also has a poor athletic base, with very little athletes and people dedicated to their sports.

Winston Churchill High School 1

Posted July 21, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at WCHS. This school is absolutely terrible. The teachers are mean, the students are self-centered, and the attendance lady is extremely moody. Your child has to wake up at 6AM every morning, and do hours of homework every night. This school organisms every test, for every class, on the same day to make it stressful for your child. If you want your child to have no childhood, this is the perfect school for him/her. I would rate this school a 0 out of 10

Winston Churchill High School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
The goal is to achieve mastery. Churchill succeeds. Offers Spanish and Chinese Offers instrumental music Offers drama Top test scores Lots of honors courses and AP


Winston Churchill High School 2

Posted October 26, 2013
- a student
I am just going to be brutally honest here. I went to this school, as did my brother, 3 cousins, and several people I know/have met over the past 15 years. My parent's house is just down the street as a matter of fact. From a learning perspective - the school prepares you for a top tier college, and I, myself, went onto GWU, my brother at Georgetown. This is similar to others I know that end up in colleges of the same level or better. No issues here - its great. The main problem -- which is very likely not be change anytime soon is the people. I am positive of this, as it hasn't changed in 15 years --- don't expect it to now. The surrounding area is relatively affluent, and thus the kids generally are stuck-up or feel the world owes them something. Fast cars and money at a young age generally lead to bad things. And in some cases -- parents aren't around due to travel/work etc. There is a HUGE designer drug problem. Promiscuity is also extremely high. Don't expect your kid not to have tried and/or been approached for either before graduation. As I said, parents are not around - so house parties where anything goes is a frequent occurrence. 90210 syndrome.

Winston Churchill High School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
Stellar education in a great neighborhood. Very pleased with academics and administration as well as extracurricular offerings.

Nearby schools

Winston Churchill High School
11300 Gainsborough Rd, Potomac, MD  20854
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (301) 469-1200
Last modified Winston Churchill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top