Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkdale High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

I feel as though Parkdale needs to clean the school more, especially the bathrooms and hallways because it doesn't look representable to me, but however, it is a good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2013

This school is honestly not that bad. You have to make the best out of it. For a parent to say it is horrible,then they may not be pushing their child to take the extra step & make it a great experience.Our new principal has had former experience as a vice principal and is doing an amazing job.The IB program offers students in depth knowledge as well as the AP program. We also have Global Studies & a new Homeland Security Program.Parkdale is doing GREAT things.We've met with children from a boarding school in Kenya and are working to even sponsor them to study here.Many are finding out what they would like to do in higher level learning and are improving their grades.We have OUTSTANDING clubs such as Student Government Association and Robotics Club.If your child is having a hard time adapting to the school,try enrolling them in after school clubs or meet up with their teachers. The school can not help to make your child feel more comfortable unless you call and see. There is always room for improvement,but the school needs your input not only in what can be done better but that the parents and child are also taking steps to a comfortable environment. And this goes for ANY school.


Posted October 8, 2013

Really bad from all points of view. Do your "homework" and you will find out why.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

Many things have changed at PHS with a new principal and administration staff, they have insured our safety and reciving the best education that PG county has to offer. With outstanding AP and IB programs you are almost garanteed the best results. Though, even the best schools have"riff raff" These students have a lack of home training and are only a few compared to the rest of the school. I believe the parents are the blame and you cannot expect teachers to do what should have already been done in the home. I love attending PHS!! And couldnt imagine going anywhere else. So NO Parkdale isnt a bad school, maybe a bit overcrowded but a great place to learn. And about the temperature in the building... Bring a sweater for cold days. The building a bit old thats all. No you wont get abused by gangs, beat up because your a freshman, or forced to use any type of drug. No there arent metal dectors, but yes there is security. Your safe!! Dont worry! If you come to school for the right reasons then you should have a wonderful experience. Congrats Class of 2011!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2010

I don't know why people are always complaining about this school. It's not great, but it's not bad. The IB Program and the AP classes offered are excellent. This school has the best IB Program in the state. Some of the teachers are savvy, I agree with that. I think that a few of the teachers need to be more considerate and learn to how to show respect to their students. Overall, this school has not disappointed me. There are many studious and intelligent students in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

My son is a freshman at Parkdale. We had not heard any good things about the school and were quite concerned. We are delighted with my son's progress. The school is safe, the 9th grade academy is state of the art, he loves his teachers and feels challenged. He has a good group of friends. The only rough spot is in the administration of the school, but it seems that savvy teachers have found ways around that to communicate directly with students. I'm thrilled with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

My daughter is always coming home complaining about this school, it's always too cold or too loud or the teacher's attitude are more devil-may-care than anything else. This school needs a definitely needs serious disciplinary readjustments, and obviously the dress code isn't working as it should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I luv parkdale this scholl changed my attutude towards learning and the ajrotc team there is like a big family
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

parkdale is home, it can't get better than that. we start from dirt and build our school to the mountian that is it. out sports team, especially soccer and softball try thier best. thanks MR. Ovatin and Mr. Watkins. Go parkdale panthers wooooo!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

The students who are not in the IB program are not being challenged enough. There is not enough emphasis on reading and critically analyzing literary classics. And there are too few indepth projects and compositions required.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

I love the school but some classrooms are colder than others and sometimes its way to hot. Its my first year here and were eating in the main gym while thay fix up our cafeterira. The good thing is there making a building for all freshmens. the school is way over crowed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2007

I went to parkdale from 1997 - 2001. I am glad uniforms are now the attire and parkdale is on the 8 period system. There are serious issues with students disrespecting adults and peers, an attitude that is brought from home. One of the reasons talented teachers stay is to make a difference. Test scores are low. My PSAT was 850 in 10th grade but my SAT was 1320 in 12th. What makes the difference is a serious reading program as-early-as-possible/more rigorous math. I was fortunated to have teachers like Hearle who taught AP Chemistry, Siglar who taugh AP Biology, Knupp who taught AP Calculus, Hart-Nibre who taught Advance French. Also an excellent football/track/wrestling teams. Nevertheless, there are also unmotivated teachers. Students/parents must capitalize on parkdales' strengths; students could take AP courses from 11th grade onwards and eliminate a semester or more from college. For serious parents who want students to excel these strengths
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 19, 2007

This is my 1st year as a parent at Parkdale and I believe that there should be more involvementfrom the parents, community, and our leaders. I have not had any major problems in the school as far, but I've notice that the children has a lack of school spirit. What our school system needs is more teaches who really cares and doesn't wonder if 'that's included in my paycheck'. There's disrespect that goes on at Parkdale between the teachers, coaches, students, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

As a mother of a student attending Parkdale and one that graduated from Parkdale I feel that it is a good school. I know that there is always room for improvement and that is why I encourage parents to take an active part in their child's education. Become involved! Visit the principal and have a chat with him/her. Visit the teachers when there is a problem or just go there to observe. My son was honor roll at Parkdale. He did four years at Howard University and will continue so that he can become a dentist. I am proud of Parksdale, but like everything else they make mistakes. I would like to see them get buses for our children walking to school from the 62nd-70th Street or Place areas. Let us know who we can talk to to get this serious matter addressed. When my son attended there were buses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

The principal seems to be uninvolved and quite unaffected by the troubles in the school. Kids are falling through the cracks left and right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

I am a parent that has children in this school, there is no type of secure enviorment. And for the teachers who ignore what they see. YOU are responsible for everything that goes on. Especially when you don't notify responsible parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

I am writing here though I am not a parent. I am the School Testing Coordinator. Some friends have rated our principal in a way that does not do him justice. He is one of the most enlightened educator with whom I have worked, exhibiting a vision for improvement evidenced in the offering of opportunities to both students and staff to raise their performance level. I know very few leaders who will respect their wards or staff in their pathway choices as our principal. In addition our principal is compassionate, caring for more than 50 CRI and Ortho students. He has set in motion a school-wide Improvement Plan that is well in place and starting to kick in. Test based, we are suffering, but growth based, we are improving. Our school is slowly but surely becoming a great school! We shall overcome!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted September 22, 2005

I went to parkdale, and there is MUCH room for improvement. Some teachers are good, but overall, they're pretty shabby. Supervision is a joke. You wouldn't believe all the things students get away with there. There are over-crowded classes, and not enough attention. It seemed as though no one cared.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2005

My son is now in the 11th grade at this school. I must say the teachers he had in the 9th grade were unspeakably dynamic. He had a difficult time turning into a teen and taking that step from middle to high but they were on target with him and offer help to him and me. The 10th was also a good year with good teachers. I hate to see some of the teachers retiring. I do think that parents who have problems with teachers need to go the extra mile for their child in an adult manner. I only had one problem and one teacher involved. The principle and the counselor did listen and followed up. I appreciate that. With the demographics rapidly changing, I feel the school is atleast average. We as parents could make it better. Call your state leaders to give teachers what they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I go to Parkdale currently and it is a decent school. It's not the best but it can get better especialy with the great teachers. You grow to love it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 35%
Hispanic 42% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
White 4% 42%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6001 Good Luck Rd
Riverdale, MD 20737
Phone: (301) 513-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Hope Academy
Landover Hills, MD




Bladensburg High School
Bladensburg, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT