Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parkdale High School 1

Posted June 26, 2014
- a student
I feel as though Parkdale needs to clean the school more, especially the bathrooms and hallways because it doesn't look representable to me, but however, it is a good school

Parkdale High School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
This school is honestly not that bad. You have to make the best out of it. For a parent to say it is horrible,then they may not be pushing their child to take the extra step & make it a great experience.Our new principal has had former experience as a vice principal and is doing an amazing job.The IB program offers students in depth knowledge as well as the AP program. We also have Global Studies & a new Homeland Security Program.Parkdale is doing GREAT things.We've met with children from a boarding school in Kenya and are working to even sponsor them to study here.Many are finding out what they would like to do in higher level learning and are improving their grades.We have OUTSTANDING clubs such as Student Government Association and Robotics Club.If your child is having a hard time adapting to the school,try enrolling them in after school clubs or meet up with their teachers. The school can not help to make your child feel more comfortable unless you call and see. There is always room for improvement,but the school needs your input not only in what can be done better but that the parents and child are also taking steps to a comfortable environment. And this goes for ANY school.


Parkdale High School 1

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Really bad from all points of view. Do your "homework" and you will find out why.....

Parkdale High School 3

Posted February 24, 2011
- a student
Many things have changed at PHS with a new principal and administration staff, they have insured our safety and reciving the best education that PG county has to offer. With outstanding AP and IB programs you are almost garanteed the best results. Though, even the best schools have"riff raff" These students have a lack of home training and are only a few compared to the rest of the school. I believe the parents are the blame and you cannot expect teachers to do what should have already been done in the home. I love attending PHS!! And couldnt imagine going anywhere else. So NO Parkdale isnt a bad school, maybe a bit overcrowded but a great place to learn. And about the temperature in the building... Bring a sweater for cold days. The building a bit old thats all. No you wont get abused by gangs, beat up because your a freshman, or forced to use any type of drug. No there arent metal dectors, but yes there is security. Your safe!! Dont worry! If you come to school for the right reasons then you should have a wonderful experience. Congrats Class of 2011!!

Parkdale High School 1

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Parkdale High School 0
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
I don't know why people are always complaining about this school. It's not great, but it's not bad. The IB Program and the AP classes offered are excellent. This school has the best IB Program in the state. Some of the teachers are savvy, I agree with that. I think that a few of the teachers need to be more considerate and learn to how to show respect to their students. Overall, this school has not disappointed me. There are many studious and intelligent students in this school!

Parkdale High School 4

Posted November 28, 2009
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Parkdale. We had not heard any good things about the school and were quite concerned. We are delighted with my son's progress. The school is safe, the 9th grade academy is state of the art, he loves his teachers and feels challenged. He has a good group of friends. The only rough spot is in the administration of the school, but it seems that savvy teachers have found ways around that to communicate directly with students. I'm thrilled with the school!

Parkdale High School 4

Posted October 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Parkdale High School 1

Posted January 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Parkdale High School 5

Posted October 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parkdale High School
6001 Good Luck Rd, Riverdale, MD  20737
(301) 513-5700
Last modified Parkdale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parkdale High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top