Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Jude School

Private | PK-8 | 253 students

A 57 year tradition of academic excellence!
 
 

 

Living in Rockville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $320,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

An amazing place! Strong faculty, a tremendous leader, and a vibrant and diverse community. I am so happy my family decided to become part of this wonderful school. We keep getting better! I'm proud to say that St. Jude has had 4 valedictorians in the past 2 years and will host its first Junior Honor Society induction ceremony on March. We are...St. Jude!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

Math and science are very weak at this school, compared with some public schools that have much better teachers and lower teacher/student ratio. Catholic and moral values are very strong. My kids had to struggle at a public high school due to poor math and science basis from St Jude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

I cannot express enough what a great decision it was to transfer my kid to this school. The whole family was warmly welcome; he was challenged way more that in his previous school and difficult moments are handled appropriately. Great parental involvement and excellent communications between staff and families help, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

I am a parent of two children that are attending St Jude. They started in the Kindergarten and have been thriving ever since. I attended the school myself and returned with my children because of the close family atmosphere, along with the commitment to education. The staff and parent's dedication to the school is amazing and continues to hold true to our motto of "CATCH OUR SPIRIT" !!! We are ..... St. Jude and we definitely have spirit !!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Our son has really flourished at St Jude. The teachers and staff are wonderful. We could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

St. Jude is a wonderful caring community. My 2 daughters have both graduated from here and have gone on to do wonderfully in high school. There is a good combination of discipline, service to others, compassion, caring, and fun. I couldn't have hoped for a better elementary or middle school for my children. We have been happy with the curriculum and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

My school is St. Jude Regional Catholic School. Our principal, Glenn Benjamin, is leading the school to the top!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2013

Excellent Education and teachers! Couldn't be happier anywhere else! My daughter loves it and its very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

St. Jude Regional Catholic School is not only known for it's academic standards and it's wonderful teachers but also the way the students are loved and cared for. You only have to walk into the doors and you can feel the warmth of St. Jude Regional Catholic School. It is a school that truly cares about the whole child and their familes. It is an atmosphere unique to St. Jude. I strongly feel that the love and caring the students receive here are just as important as the strong academics. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2013

I am more than pleased with my child's experience with St. Jude, and my own experience as a parent, as well! The teachers and staff are always friendly and helpful. There are many opportunities to get involved -- St. Jude is a very active school. I love that my child is learning in an environment that helps to build up her Catholic faith, and no other elementary school in the Archdiocese is as technologically advanced as St. Jude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

St. Jude Catholic School in Rockville is a wonderful, welcoming environment for my four children. Whether it is the middle school, or the elementary school, my kids are as happy as can be there. I love the fact that they are able to flourish and play in a safe, respectful and structured environment. There are caring, qualified and dedicated teachers who supervise the children, and parent participation is always welcome. What this means for me as a mother is that my children to love going to school each morning and couldn't wait for summer vacation to end. It gives me great peace of mind to know that the school I take them to each morning is a trusted partner in the raising of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

St. Jude Regional Catholic School is a happy, warm, safe environment for learning. The teachers are all fantastic and are the cutting edge of the latest teaching techniques. The academics are high and St. Jude has a strong Catholic Identity. When one walks into the school one will see happy engaged learners that put God first in all areas of learning and play.


Posted September 23, 2013

In my third year as a parent at St. Jude, and the growth and success are truly amazing! The faculty have gone above and beyond for my child. I could not have asked for a stronger community, or a more excellent school. (In the words of our principal), We are.....St. Jude!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

Before my child started kindergarten this year, I visited all the area schools. This one stood out from the beginning as I observed the students behavior and interactions with staff and each other. A few weeks into the year and I am convinced we made the right choice. My child loves the school and we could not ask for a better teacher and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Not good. My kid did poorly in the High School Placement Test last year. I will not recommend this school to another parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

Wonderful school. My oldest graduated two years ago and she was very well prepared for high school (far ahead of her peers from other schools). My younger two are there now and doing very well. St. Jude is a very caring environment with a great principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Two generations of family went to that school, and I'm planning on sending my son there to make three!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Leadership is outdated. Strong curriculum, safe environment. Parents are involved academically and in all facets of the school. Extended Day care is boring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

The school has excellent academics and a strong work ethic is instilled in the children. Children are well-prepared for high school. A very safe environment for the children with negligble discipline problems. Also, a great parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Wonderful school with caring faculty. A place that loves your child and is not only concerned with academics but is concerned about every aspect of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Black 9% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Glenn J Benjamin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Come by and visit any time!!!
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (301) 929-8927

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Archdiocese of Washington Curriculum Sta
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
65
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
104

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Our Lady of Good Counsel
St. John's College High School
The Academy of the Holy Cross
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4820 Walbridge St
Rockville, MD 20853
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 946-7888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Frost School
Rockville, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT