Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
137 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Katherine Thomas School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
My son was struggling at our very good local public elementary school. He was falling drastically behind and they were not able to admit that they weren’t able to provide the kind of teaching and support he needs. Katherine Thomas has transformed his life. From a very withdrawn and insecure child to an open and happy child who is really learning both academically as well as socially. Katherine Thomas is a gem. They really understand, accept and love the kids and I help them come alive.

Katherine Thomas School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
This is taught and practiced throughout the day at KTS through various programs. It is also fostered by the social workers on staff.


Katherine Thomas School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I am grateful that KTS creates an environment that is safe, stimulating, and accepting of all no matter who they are. It is the similarities and differences of the students that make this school a rich environment to thrive as an individual or in a group. Caring and acceptance are taught and practiced by all.

Katherine Thomas School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Teachers truly care about the students. They work hard to make sure each student is the best they can be.

Katherine Thomas School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
It is individualized for each student and altered as needed. It is changed if it is too much or not enough.


Katherine Thomas School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Each student is respected and treated as an important member of the community. Parents are also considered valued team members.

Katherine Thomas School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
The staff at the Katherine Thomas School go above and beyond to help each student learn. They present lessons that are meaningful, thoughtful, and creative in order to meet the individual needs of the students. The staff are extremely dedicated to the students, the school, and the mission - To Improve lives and expand possibilities for individuals with special needs.

Katherine Thomas School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
What can I say!!!!! This is one of the best schools my child has EVERY attended. Leaving DC public schools was and still is worth every trip back and forth from DC to Rockvill Md. When I say they care I mean it. If your child is struggling PLEASE PLEASE get with your advocate ASAP!!!! This school will meet your childs every needs. They take time with the children and most of all.... THEY ARE LEARNING! !!!!! At his or her own pace. I love EVERYTHING about this school and you will too.


Katherine Thomas School 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
KTS helped our child enormously in pre-K through 1st grade. She is now at a mainstream private school performing at the top of her class. She needed help with social thinking, language pragmatics, and OT, all of which KTS provided in abundance. She was very happy at KTS, which provided a secure and fulfilling environment. KTS's speech pathologists are especially good, asis their OT instruction. They also create fun opportunities for kids in the arts. Truly the best we found for kids with social thinking challenges, and we looked at a lot of schools.

Katherine Thomas School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
KTS is the areas best school for reading and math based learning disabilities. Since my daughter started there 3 years ago she has progressed 5 grade levels in math and is on grade level in reading.

Nearby schools

Katherine Thomas School
9975 Medical Center Drive, Rockville, MD  20850
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (301) 738-9691
Last modified Katherine Thomas School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top