Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Rockville, MD
Students enrolled: 347

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Candlewood Elementary School 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
This school has the best teachers for 4 and 5 grade. They are serious about teaching and don't make stupid math mistakes. I was not impressed with school at the beginning but now I feel that they give real impression of kids knowledge and I think it is the most important aspect of successful learning. They do not praise everybody for everything but ask for serious work to deserve a praise. They give foundation for lifetime learning.

Candlewood Elementary School 3

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
I have become very displeased with Candlewood. They are not inclusive of all students and only recognized the few. They have made it more difficult to make honor roll than the county standard, their reasoning being, "too many children were making honor roll". I really don't understand this line of thinking. One would think the administration would want to promote the fact that a large percentage of their student body earn honor roll. The enviornment has become more rigid and punitive as the years go by.


Candlewood Elementary School 3

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
Given the high number of disheartened Candlewood parents you'll meet at pickup, it is surprising to see so many 5-star reviews here. The quality of the school has deteriorated significantly in the last few years. Part of the problem is district-wide and greater than the school itself, to be sure: excessive standardized testing, a vapid 2.0 curriculum, etc. But even at the school level, I can say that the principal (who has been in this post since forever) is fairly incompetent and has negatively impacted teacher morale. The enthusiasm is just not there, and the academics are woefully lacking. With two Candlewood kids (one now in middle school), my wife and I are now looking to move so our one Candlewood kid can attend a better public elementary school. It is true, as some reviewers have pointed out, that many Candlewood parents are involved, which is nice. The school is small (though it's about to undergo major construction to expand) and has a neighborhood-y feel, which is also nice. But at the end of the day, I would say this is an "average" school and nothing more. Hence the 3-star rating.

Candlewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
Small community of highly committed parents and teachers. The staff are dedicated to enriching children with academics, the arts and positive social relationships. The community also aims to educate children to be responsible and caring citizens.

Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
Great school. Excellent teachers. My daughter love it!


Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
I have two kids at Candlewood. They both love it. They're learning and are challenged. The teachers send out regular emails to keep us informed of what activities are going on and what homework is due.

Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
Motivated teachers and small class size keep the focus on the students - we've been very pleased thus far!

Candlewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2009
- a parent
This is an amazing school. My daughter is in kindergarten and I couldn't have asked for a better school for her first year. The teachers are always availbale, give great feedback, & parent involvement is amazing.


Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
The best thing that could ever happen to my children is enjoy their elementary years in such a wonderful school. The PTA is always looking for original ways to keep parents involved and have the kids happy. But the best part of the school are the amazing teachers in every single grade.

Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2008
- a parent
I love this little school. My oldest child just graduated this year and the kids (as well as some of the teachers) left with tears in their eyes. The teachers are really great and are able to keep a great deal of discipline in the classroom and, consequently, the kids learn well. A new principal came last year which did change the school a bit, but it's still a positive experience. The parents are very involved in the classrooms as well as fund raising and providing extra activities for the kids. there are a lot of extra-curricular activities for the kids, both during the school day and after. Classes and the school are small. Special requests are also considered and parent's positions on issues are generally respected.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Candlewood Elementary School
7210 Osprey Dr, Rockville, MD  20855
(301) 840-7167
Last modified Candlewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Candlewood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top