Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
I have all of my three kids in this school and I must say that I have never felt anything but safe and well taken care of. My kids have never wanted to miss school and they look forward to going to school every day. The teachers are caring and responsive to all the emails I have sent. The new building is beautiful and is located in a very nice neighborhood.

Candlewood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Graham is one of the best teachers one can have. She can be a little strict but firm and very helpful with good advice!


Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a teacher
Candlewood is a GREAT school because of the dedicated teachers in ALL grade levels.They truly care about the well being of their students and make learning FUN for kids.

Candlewood Elementary School 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
This school has the best teachers for 4 and 5 grade. They are serious about teaching and don't make stupid math mistakes. I was not impressed with school at the beginning but now I feel that they give real impression of kids knowledge and I think it is the most important aspect of successful learning. They do not praise everybody for everything but ask for serious work to deserve a praise. They give foundation for lifetime learning.

Candlewood Elementary School 3

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
I have become very displeased with Candlewood. They are not inclusive of all students and only recognized the few. They have made it more difficult to make honor roll than the county standard, their reasoning being, "too many children were making honor roll". I really don't understand this line of thinking. One would think the administration would want to promote the fact that a large percentage of their student body earn honor roll. The enviornment has become more rigid and punitive as the years go by.


Candlewood Elementary School 3

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
Given the high number of disheartened Candlewood parents you'll meet at pickup, it is surprising to see so many 5-star reviews here. The quality of the school has deteriorated significantly in the last few years. Part of the problem is district-wide and greater than the school itself, to be sure: excessive standardized testing, a vapid 2.0 curriculum, etc. But even at the school level, I can say that the principal (who has been in this post since forever) is fairly incompetent and has negatively impacted teacher morale. The enthusiasm is just not there, and the academics are woefully lacking. With two Candlewood kids (one now in middle school), my wife and I are now looking to move so our one Candlewood kid can attend a better public elementary school. It is true, as some reviewers have pointed out, that many Candlewood parents are involved, which is nice. The school is small (though it's about to undergo major construction to expand) and has a neighborhood-y feel, which is also nice. But at the end of the day, I would say this is an "average" school and nothing more. Hence the 3-star rating.

Candlewood Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
Small community of highly committed parents and teachers. The staff are dedicated to enriching children with academics, the arts and positive social relationships. The community also aims to educate children to be responsible and caring citizens.

Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
Great school. Excellent teachers. My daughter love it!


Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
I have two kids at Candlewood. They both love it. They're learning and are challenged. The teachers send out regular emails to keep us informed of what activities are going on and what homework is due.

Candlewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
Motivated teachers and small class size keep the focus on the students - we've been very pleased thus far!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Candlewood Elementary School
7210 Osprey Dr, Rockville, MD  20855
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (301) 840-7167
Last modified Candlewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top