Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

College Gardens Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

Overall, i like they teach kids to make their own decisions and respect them as well... seeing the progress in my kid, it feels great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

This is one of the best schools in the the area. With the PYP program the students are able to understand about the world beyond just traditional learning. The teacher and stuff are all very good at what they do as educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

College Gardens is a fantastic school, my daughter is now in third grade. Her teachers have been excellent year after year. The new principal is devoted to the students and it really shows all throughout the school. The parents are also very involved which makes a wonderful learning environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Phenomenal school! Not only does it post a rigorous IB curriculum, but it offers what ALL schools should offer--caring staff, a fabulous principal with an open door policy, terrific parents, and a great community of parents and kids. My daughter and son are receiving a great education, and making great memories at their school. Go Gators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I love, love, love College Gardens. My kids are now entering 4th and 5th grade and have been there since Kindergarten. I am so sad to only have 2 years left. The teachers and staff are awesome. Our current Principal, Mrs. Rogovoy, is just the best. Responsive and compassionate while leading the school with enough structure and guidelines to allow everyone (students and teachers like) to flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

I completely disagree with the other negative comments. This school has been a wonderful place for our children (7 & 9) over the last two years. The curriculum implemented provides engagement and rigor that keeps children interested and excited about school. The teachers we have had in both 2nd and 4th grade have been amazing with instruction and communication. Overall, we have been very happy with the administration and PTA. Our family enjoys the IB program and the units of inquiry. Furthermore, our families love the additional after school activities such a lego club, run club and the talent show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

I dont think this school understands what it means to be an IB school. Staff and principle is aloof. Children are little bullies as another reviewer also mentioned. Your child will come home having learned many "bad words" from the kids you thought would be the "good kids from good families"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

Horrible school! Our daughter was there for kindergarten and we quickly took her out where she did very well in another school in the area. The staff is appallingly rude and abrasive. The children are rude and little bullies. We had a horrible experience there. The staff yelled at me for every little mistake and yelled at my daughter in my presence. It was a horrible experience. There is a strong NAACP presence in the school which makes one think about the schools tolerance and fairness. This is a very poor excuse for an IB school. The staff does not demonstrate any of the IB principles. We are very happy to be out of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

I had two children at CGES (1 was there for the last 2 yrs. and the other one from K - 5). This school is the 2nd school in the US that has a vertical IB pathway (from ES through HS). From the education standpoint, the school is absolutely fantastic. Students are taken to the maximum of their interests and abilities, using the state of the art technology (the school building is also new and opened only two years ago - now, the fact that the student population has grown beyond any expectations and the building has already become too small for the existing student population is another thing), and the staff is excellent for most part. With the exception of two homeroom teachers out of eight that my kids had between the two of them, I would say that 6 were absolutely fantastic, that one of the eight was OK and that the eight out of eight was not as good (she lacked both enthusiasm and teaching experience). The new school principal is fine. The disciplinary policy is not as children friendly and sometimes misused by aid staff members, but all in all, the kids are great and most often they behave within the expected parameters. The CGES education programs & student diversity are superb
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

After 2 years at CGES my son will NOT be going back again. A poor excuse for a school. We will not be sending our 4 year old there next year when its time for kindergarden. I am just sorry that we kept our son there as long a we did. I hate to even call some of these people "teachers"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

Teachers are very busy with the big class size. With immersion and IB program, teachers have hard time to organized themselves and get everything done. As parents, we are not fully informed of what my kids is doing at school, what/when the performances are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

My daughter is in kindergarten at College Gardens. I also have 7th and 3rd graders in who've attended other elementary schools, but College Gardens has been so far a really great learning environment. I am really impressed with how much she learned in just the first two months of school. She is in the Ib and Chinese immersion program and loves going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

My child has been here all the way through and is now going to middle school. This is an excellent school: highly diverse, very international, very good teachers and leadership and very comfortable and caring atmosphere, very active parents. Test scores are very good too. IB program is unique in MD. It is a large school and class sizes are larger than average in MD but I have not found that to be a huge problem. Dr Dupont has really turned the school around, he is unfortunately leaving in fall 2010, we hope the new principal will be just as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Teachers are working hard and doing great jobs at teaching and presentation. I don't know where the anger is from against the principle Mr. Dupont and I'm certain it only represents only a few parent's voice with personal issue which is not right to put the unfair picture to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

This is my 5th grader's 1st and last year here. 1st year, after moving from another state. And, her last year, bc she will be in middle school after. I think the school has a lot of positive aspects. To start with the non-teaching staff is very nice and considerate. It is a widely diverse community. Performing arts program is well established with music, instrumental music & art programs. I believe their curriculum is standard and is on the same level as everyone else across other states. One thing, I am unsure of though is their lunch line... my 5th grader always complains the lunch line moves too slow and she ends up not having enough time to eat lunch. Now, I am not sure if she'd rather sit and chat with her friends at the table while she eats her home lunch or that it's all true. Good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

College Gardens is education at its finest! The school celebrates the diversity of it's students in everything that they do. Multi-cultural lessons, resources and performances are abundant and you find maps and flags from all over the world throughout the hallways. My son, a fifth grader and in his third year at College Gardens, has had excellent teachers in his homeroom and in his special activities such as art, music, PE and Chinese. Yes, Chinese. I am thrilled with my son's education at College Gardens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Wonderful school with many unique opportunities to elementary aged children. CGES has the PYP program, Chinese Immersion, and an Austism program. The school is very diverse and it celebrates that diversity. The staff seems very committed to the children and immediately we felt at home and welcomed. It amazes me that all the staff members seem to know each child personally. I have been pleased with the school's response to any questions or concerns I have had regarding my child. Lastly, I am very pleased with the school's ability and willingness to challenge my child academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I believe the problem in that school is the Principal Mr. Dupont. He is not open to suggestions when it comes to how to improve the schooling in the establishment. Hoe overly controls his staff and use his authority as a principal to try to even control the parents in their say about the ways to improve the school and THEIR KIDS future. Yey he does not have great idea / transforming ideas with all due respect. His unnecessary controlling agenda even expands to making the parents' parking or eeven drop off drive a stranding adventure. That said I believe the teachers are great and would certain do better if they had are better leader than what they have now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

Principal is highly involved but over-controlling; he keeps parents at a distance from meaningful involvement with their children's education, while creating the pretext of a partnership with getting them involved in school spirit and fundraising activities. Teacher quality is uneven. Extracurriculars are varied and very good. Parent involvement seems high. Discipline is tilted a bit too much toward creating an institutional feel in the school. School needs to correct the fortress school environment, and treat parents like real partners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

We couldn't be happier with College Gardens! The school has a great sense of community and the parents are very involved. The pricinpal and teachers are open and caring. The IB and Chinese programs are top notch. It is a unique opportunity for elementary aged children. The new school is wonderful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 6%
Black 16% 35%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Two or more races 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Yale Place
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (301) 279-8470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pep - Itinerant
Rockville, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT