Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farmland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 579 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

Farmland is blessed with excellenta and dedicated teachers. School leadership however is mostly concerned with image however. For example, Farmland's leaders claim security a main priority, but my own observations indicate otherwise. Exterior door left open, front door locked opened for everyone without identifying themselves first, etc. Same goes for school bullying policy- leaders more concerned with advertising the policy rather than actual proper enforcement of policy. I observed fights on the playground where no one was sent to principals office- and ineffective adult supervision/control of lunch room and playground area. Another critical area that needs improvement (as with most public schools) is the school lunch program. Montgomery County really needs to get away from supporting big aggribussiness no matter what the Feds want to encourage, and support a healthier menu. We as a nation need to feed and teach proper nutrition and Montgomery County being a rather well off area of the country should be a leader in this endeavor and stop feeding kids pizza and mac and cheese. Farmland management officials must empower staff to practice and enforce the policies they preech.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

We love this school. As the other reviewers have noted, there is a unique international spirit. The teachers are nurturing and engaged; there is a strong sense of community; and the diversity of students is enriching. My son started at Farmland after having attended two international schools in Africa and Asia - and felt right at home. This is as good, if not better, than those schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Farmland is a great school. I have a kid in kindergarten and is extremely happy with the school curriculum. The teachers are great and very active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

Farmland is an amazing, and one of a kind elementary school. Excellent teachers, wonderful school leadership, and highly educated population. All my three kids were fortunate to be part of this unique international environment, with a huge sense of community. this school is a real life proves for living in peace and harmony, respect, and welcoming in a unique, and diverse school population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

This is a wonderful school. Everybody loves it. I have had 2 children there and one has now moved on tho middle school. I definitely recommend anybody to place their kids in our fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I have 2 kids there, now in 2nd grade and Kindergarten. Both love their school! The teachers are excellent. Every student gets individualized attention to perform at his or her best level. There is a great international community spirit at the school. Really a place to thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Overall the school ok. However I, like some other parents, am curious as to why the enthnicity of the educational staff (administrators, teachers etc.) is not a little more diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I went to Farmland Elementary School from 1967-1969 and in truth the look of the school, other than the recent addition, is pretty much the same as it was then. My daughter is in kindergartent and I volunteer in the classroom twice a month. My daughter has far exceeded my expectations of what I thought she would learn in kindergarten. Her teacher (in a class of 26) has managed to teach her to read, to spell, to do math at a level that we used to do in first and second grade. She now reads me the bedtime stories. I have friends whose kids are in an expensive private school and they are not doing as well. I could not be happier with Farmland.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 6%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Black 5% 35%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7000 Old Gate Rd
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: (301) 230-5919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Green Acres School
Rockville, MD



Maddux School The
Rockville, MD


Ivymount School
Rockville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT