Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Rockville, MD
Students enrolled: 579

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Farmland Elementary School 3

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
Farmland is blessed with excellenta and dedicated teachers. School leadership however is mostly concerned with image however. For example, Farmland's leaders claim security a main priority, but my own observations indicate otherwise. Exterior door left open, front door locked opened for everyone without identifying themselves first, etc. Same goes for school bullying policy- leaders more concerned with advertising the policy rather than actual proper enforcement of policy. I observed fights on the playground where no one was sent to principals office- and ineffective adult supervision/control of lunch room and playground area. Another critical area that needs improvement (as with most public schools) is the school lunch program. Montgomery County really needs to get away from supporting big aggribussiness no matter what the Feds want to encourage, and support a healthier menu. We as a nation need to feed and teach proper nutrition and Montgomery County being a rather well off area of the country should be a leader in this endeavor and stop feeding kids pizza and mac and cheese. Farmland management officials must empower staff to practice and enforce the policies they preech.

Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
We love this school. As the other reviewers have noted, there is a unique international spirit. The teachers are nurturing and engaged; there is a strong sense of community; and the diversity of students is enriching. My son started at Farmland after having attended two international schools in Africa and Asia - and felt right at home. This is as good, if not better, than those schools


Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
Farmland is a great school. I have a kid in kindergarten and is extremely happy with the school curriculum. The teachers are great and very active.

Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2010
- a parent
Farmland is an amazing, and one of a kind elementary school. Excellent teachers, wonderful school leadership, and highly educated population. All my three kids were fortunate to be part of this unique international environment, with a huge sense of community. this school is a real life proves for living in peace and harmony, respect, and welcoming in a unique, and diverse school population.

Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Everybody loves it. I have had 2 children there and one has now moved on tho middle school. I definitely recommend anybody to place their kids in our fantastic school.

Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 kids there, now in 2nd grade and Kindergarten. Both love their school! The teachers are excellent. Every student gets individualized attention to perform at his or her best level. There is a great international community spirit at the school. Really a place to thrive!

Farmland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
Overall the school ok. However I, like some other parents, am curious as to why the enthnicity of the educational staff (administrators, teachers etc.) is not a little more diverse.


Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Farmland Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
I went to Farmland Elementary School from 1967-1969 and in truth the look of the school, other than the recent addition, is pretty much the same as it was then. My daughter is in kindergartent and I volunteer in the classroom twice a month. My daughter has far exceeded my expectations of what I thought she would learn in kindergarten. Her teacher (in a class of 26) has managed to teach her to read, to spell, to do math at a level that we used to do in first and second grade. She now reads me the bedtime stories. I have friends whose kids are in an expensive private school and they are not doing as well. I could not be happier with Farmland.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Farmland Elementary School
7000 Old Gate Rd, Rockville, MD  20852
(301) 230-5919
Last modified Farmland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Farmland Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top