Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Rockville, MD
Students enrolled: 585

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Lakewood is an amazing school with amazing staff. The kids are challenged academically but they gear teaching towards each kiddo's need/strengths. We have been there for K through 5 and all teachers have been incredibly sensitive and willing to work with the parents to help their child reach their true potential. Great staff and administration...and the administrative assistant keeps the whole office running efficiently :)

Lakewood Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
"Poor academic program", this is the phrase that best defines this school. Kids do not learn, teachers do not care. There is not enough communication between teachers and parents. Useless weekly newsletters and once-a-year parent teacher meeting are the only communication activities.


Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
10 out of 10. Our son has Down syndrome in the LFI program there. It was quite a fight with MCPS to allow him to attend there, because the other option in Upper Montgomery County was BAD. So blessed to be at Lakewood. Principal Malcotti is amazing, and the special needs students really have her heart. Teaching staff is excellent, communication is excellent. The Lakewood Links program is a group of general ed 4th and 5th graders who have actively taken on a role of true inclusion, academically and most importantly, socially. Reece is truly loved and appreciated at this school, and it's going to be really tough going to MS next year.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
I think what the previous parent wrote is so correct. I also moved to this area for the school and we are renting one of the most expensive aptts here becoz of the school. Its worth it. My son is learning a lot and the descipline policy is worth a mention too. Excellent school and excellent teachers.


Lakewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
We loved Lakewood. My son's kindergarden teacher was easy to communicate with. She was a gem and so was the support staff! Indeed a competitve school like most schools in the Potomac area. We dealt mainly with the vice-principal. He is great. We have to move to the West Coast and will be missing Lakewood.

Lakewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 13, 2008
- a parent
principal is a nightmare regularly screams and yells at the children. totally unprofessional on any level. 5th graders wrote a petition and signed it regarding lunchroom policy. principal went whacko - behaved as though she were drunk or high on drugs screaming and yelling at the children for 35 minutes straight.

Lakewood Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
Very very poor in parent teacher communication. The only important issue here is the test scores. It is very hard to get a response from a teacher to a note or a phone call. Only those students whose parents can pursue the teachers hard enough get challenging work. Others receive a work 1 grade bellow level.


Lakewood Elementary School 3

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
9 years, 4 principals. Focus on education is on test scores and teaching children to take tests in order to score well on assessments. Very little social interaction between children.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2005
- a parent
Highly competetive environment with majority of the kids performing on the advanced level in all grade levels. A lot of professional staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakewood Elementary School
2534 Lindley Terrace, Rockville, MD  20850
(301) 279-8465
Last modified Lakewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakewood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top