Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
My kid went to GT porgram for 2 years, then he is in middle school now. Barnsley has excellent music programs and great teachers. The music program was fantastic and got most kdis involved and enjoyed. My kid made best freinds there and I do love the school.

Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a parent
The Rating for Barnsley should have been four stars on the below post not two! Parent who wrote "Wonderful School"


Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and administration at Lucy Barnsley Elem. are very compassionate and understanding to the issues that the children are going through. The staff is also very responsive and accommadating which assists the children in making the apropriate decisions. The staff is fabulous. I am increasingly impressed with this school. The PTA is also very good about supporting all kinds of after school activities to promote well rounded children.

Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 2

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
We had such a terrible experience here. The teacher my daughter had was so self-involved that at the first parent-teacher conference, she could not identify a single strength my daughter had. When asked to identify some areas where children could think creatively in the classroom, the teacher could only come up with comments about herself. The principal is distant, sarcastic, and even rude to parents. Despite her 'attempts' to include parents in the school, she is hostile toward them and even goes so far as to call them disruptive. It was not a positive learning environment. Students are viewed as discipline problems waiting to happen. Having the GT program at the school ends up hurting the neighborhood students. This should be a Title 1 school, but the GT program throws the numbers off. As a result, the GT program gets all the resources, and the neighborhood school is understaffed & underfunded.

Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
It is a wonderful school. The principal is great and the teachers are fantastic. Together they create an atmosphere that is great for the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School
14516 Nadine Dr, Rockville, MD  20853
(301) 460-2121
Last modified Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top