Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Rockville, MD
Students enrolled: 571

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maryvale Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
my daughter is in the French immersion kindergarten and we have been thrilled with the program. We do not speak French at home and she is soaking it all up and doing wonderfully.

Maryvale Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in the French Immersion program. Her year in 3rd grade was stellar. Mme. Sawadogo is a wonderful teacher who really cares and takes the time to nurture students. She deserves many awards for all the students she has helped in progressing through not just French, but math, science, and reading. Our experience has been good with the school, and the principal has addressed my concerns successfully. I can't speak for the general English curriculum, however. Also parents need to make sure that their kids are prepared for the rigor of learning a foreign language full-immersion style. Most kids in the immersion program has at least 1 French speaking parent. Many kids get scared and intimidated by the program, and just because it is a special County program parents rush to put their kids in the lottery. But all in all, we have had a good experience with the school from kindergarten.


Maryvale Elementary School 2

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
Two years ago I gave this school 4 stars. I have since changed my mind.

Maryvale Elementary School 1

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
After 2 1/2 years, we took the decision to transfer our daughter from the french immersion program. She was getting behind and her room teacher did not help at all, all the opposite she made my daughter and us think was my daughter fault, later we found out, half of her second grade class was taking private tutoring, because kids in general did not understand well this teacher, not her accent but the way she communicates. We brought issue to principal office and their attitude was even worse. We contacted the county education department, they have what is called parents-school mediator and did not help much, but we were not the first parents contacting them for the same issue. 3 kids dropped from this particular class in one year and the problem with this teacher has been for years and nobody does anything!! Several of the parents that decide to transfer their kids to other schools are French native speakers, which speaks volumes about this big problem this program has.

Maryvale Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is learning a lot at Maryvale Elementary School, the curriculum is very good and the teachers are very dedicated. The PTA is very involved.


Maryvale Elementary School 2

Posted April 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter was in French immersion for two years many years ago and now our neighbor's son is attending the program with the same teacher. At the time Madame Lomis told us that the program was not good for my daughter because she was struggling with sorting out words. Six years later my neighbor is also being told that the program is not for them because of sotings words. I looked that the work he had and I saw the exact things that that my daughter was having difficulty in first grade. At the time we were told teachers make their curriculum. For a program with such good reputation this is very disappointing.

Maryvale Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Maryvale Elementary School 2

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Maryvale Elementary School 1

Posted December 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Maryvale Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maryvale Elementary School
1000 First St, Rockville, MD  20850
(301) 279-4990
Last modified Maryvale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maryvale Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top