Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ritchie Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 21, 2016
- a community member
it may seem like a lot, but is par for the course compared to others in the area.

Ritchie Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a community member
No issues. Some of this is subjective, but my kids are enjoying learning here and are cared for. In talking with other parents in the area, RP compares well with them and our kids are doing and learning the same things. Summer just started, but the kids will be happy to be back this fall.


Ritchie Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Porter is awesome! She is kind and compassionate, building individual relationships with her students. Mrs. Porter has a calm sense of energy, bringing out the very best in her kindergarten class! I am grateful that she has been not just supportive of our son, but paving the way for him to thrive!

Ritchie Park Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The only good thing at Ritchie Park was the Vice Principal and she left at the end of last year. The Principal is cold and uncaring and unresponsive to parent feedback. The paraeducators are mean and are allowed to belittle children. Some of the teachers are very good, but sadly, it is only in the early grades. The older grades have awful teachers. The answer to every problem is to ignore you. No one is willing to help your child. And they have awful special education services and are unwilling to provide services to your child.

Ritchie Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
I have two kids at Ritchie Park. One has some learning issues and received excellent attention and support. The other is well above grade level and also loves her teacher and her classes. Most of the teachers are excellent, as are the counselors and support staff. Parents are involved and the student body is wonderfully diverse. Kids are not too coddled yet very much cared for. Highly recommend.


Ritchie Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Great school! The principal, Ms. Long is a great leader and an asset to this school. They are renovating all the bathrooms in Summer 2015. Hoping my daughter doesn't get moved to the new Elementary school in 2017.

Ritchie Park Elementary School 1

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
This is the worst school! The principal is cold and uncaring. She only cares about test scores. The education is bland and the teachers don't care about your child. We kept telling the school that our child had learning disabilities and that there was something else going on. The school psychologist didn't test her because she said she didn't see any issues after observing our child for only 30 minutes in class on one day. We begged the 504 Team including the Special Ed. teacher, the school psychologist, the principal and her two teachers to please give her help, as she had been failing math for the past 6 years. They didn't do a thing. This year she started middle school. Thank God for the staff there! They found she has a learning disability as well as Autism! There was also a girl that broke both of our child's arms when she just started school there. The school didn't file an incident report and didn't punish this child! We should've sued them and the parents of the child that is still bullying our daughter! Poor, incompetent, ignorant, uncaring teachers and staff at Ritchie Park. PLEASE don't send your child there. Your child will thank you.

Ritchie Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son went to this school for 3 years and now since we have moved we had leave the school... it is the best.


Ritchie Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been attending RPES since the 2nd grade and it's been a wonderful experience thus far. As a former teacher, I am very impressed by RP's leadership, diversity and curriculum. As a parent, I enjoy the immediate responses I receive from my child's teachers.

Ritchie Park Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
My son attended the school from k-3rd Grade and had a fantastic time. I am glad was able to send him there till we moved. Thank you to the staff of Ritchie park.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ritchie Park Elementary School
1514 Dunster Rd, Rockville, MD  20854
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (301) 279-8475
Last modified Ritchie Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top