Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
My son loved this school and so did I!!! The principal is very involved with the children and knows them all by name. You will see her walking around the school interacting with the students and speaking with parents. The teachers are very good maintains a good level of communication with the parents. My family and I had to relocate to TX about a year ago and my son still talks about the school and how much he misses his school and friends. If the cost of living was not so high in Montgomery County, MD we would probably still be there. Great school!!!

Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
This school is everything anyone would want in an elementary school! Caring, dedicated staff, fun, engaging classes, safe, clean, loving, awesome!


Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter just finished Kindergarten at RCV and we couldn't have been happier with her first year of school. We expected it to be very good, but we were blown away. Her teaching was outstanding. The class sizes are small, capped at 18 in Kindergarten, thanks, in part to the extra resources the school gets as the home for the DHOH program. They have an active Peace Program (anti-bullying.) Every month there is a Peace Assembly where children from each class are celebrated in front of the whole school for being a Peace Maker. There are several events throughout the year: Back-to-school Ice Cream Social, Family Dance, International Night, May Fair, Parent-Staff Baksetball game, Talent Show, a Read-In evening. These are a mix of PTA-organized-funded events as well as school events. Some are purely social, some have more of an academic bent but always as a game, as something fun. There is a large auction the school puts on, they go all out in decorating, the whole school is involved, last year was a Wizard of Oz theme - even the Principal & VP dress up. Teachers offer their personal time for a fun activity for the raffle part of the auction. They really care.

Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school with caring staff and passionate, involved parents. We moved here for the Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing program, but we have experience with the regular elementary program, too. This school has it all - wonderful teachers, small class sizes, a diverse student body, an active PTA, and a caring, involved principal. We couldn't be happier with the school and the D/HOH program.

Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
my child is in the deaf and hard of hearing program and mainstreamed for part of the day in Kindergarten....went to school for preschool as well. Outstanding Principal, front office staff, dedicated & creative teachers in DHOH program, well organized and bright - doesn't feel like a typical MCPS institutional/factory school. Small class sizes, good school spirit...undiscovered gem in Mont. County


Rock Creek Valley Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
They have an awesome Peace Program, Anti-Bullying campaign, they are a Green School, and they have one of the most personable Principals I have ever known. She greets each student personally at the door every morning and is open to all students who wish to consult with her. Her staff is great as well.

Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school. The principal is amazing - very hardworking, knows every child in the school and cares deeply about the kids, staff and school. Teachers are great - enthusiastic, driven, and great educators. Small class sizes (my son had 14 kids in his kindergarten class, 17 in 1st grade and 18 in 2nd grade), helps kids to excel and get individualized attention. School was renovated in early 2000s and is beautiful. A top school in Montgomery County.

Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
This school is the best! The education level for any child is their top priority. The teachers and staff are very supportive. Our principal is very involved in the students education. If you are relocating and looking for a good school RCV should be on your list.


Rock Creek Valley Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
I was a long -term substitute and had a fantastic experience working with excellent students, supportive staff and encouraging principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rock Creek Valley Elementary School
5121 Russett Rd, Rockville, MD  20853
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (301) 460-2195
Last modified Rock Creek Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top