Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Twinbrook Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My child attended this school for 2 years and had a horrible experience. He and other classmates were abused by a teacher and he was forced to stay in the classroom with her. The principal couldn't have cared less about the well being of her students and staff. It seems as though Twinbrook gets the worst teachers who are passed because they are horrible teachers. My advice to you is to not let your child attend this school. If you decide to move into the Twinbrook area, pursue private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

I have to tell you that I was a little bit skeptical about moving into this neighborhood because of what I've heard from others regarding the school. But I have to tell you my daughter loves it here and she's doing very well in classes. The class sizes are small which I love because of the personal service. There are so many other schools that are overcrowded but that's far from the case here. I'm confident that we've made the right decision because she's going to be other highly rated schools in the not too distant future. It's a Title 1 school but I have not had any problems...I have to wonder about the person that can't spell bullying
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

Let me start this by saying I moved to Rockville for the sole purpose of avoiding public schools in PG county. I have not regretted that decision! My daughter just finished Kindergarten here. Her teacher was stricter than I would have liked, but in the end my child has excelled academically (at almost a 2nd grade reading level now) even if it's caused her to dislike school. Indeed, after a year of games and fun in pre-k, Kindergarten has seemed like boot camp to her. The PTA is great, but lack parent involvement. It always seems to be the same parents at all the events, which is a shame. The Principal communicates by mass email and mass calls every week, plus they send home flyers about every single event coming up. No parent can say with a straight face they didn't know about upcoming events. I liked the variety of art, science, music, PE and media time, but felt the 30 minutes for lunch and 30 minutes for recess (which end up being about 20 minutes each once you are done lining everyone up) are just not enough. On a positive note, I heard that for the 2013-2014 school year Twinbrook is getting promethean boards (interactive white boards) in every classroom, which is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

The school needs lots of help. It does not understand bulling nor do they put a stop to it. I know several families including ourselves who were victims of bulling and the school never assumed responsibility for it. I invited an advocate to attend meetings with me and she too was treated poorly at the school. We have left the school with a bitter taste. And my husband and I believe that the high staff turnover and poor scores are also a reflection of the lack of skills the administrator has at this school. I have attended meetings were teachers expressed my child sad emotional state, and the principal a month later told me that she did not understand why we were talking her out of school since she had learn from her teachers that our daughter was very happy in school. And that her friends missed her. Those words were all untrue. I have a report from teachers expressing their concern about my daughter sadness and it had been noted she had no friends. So I think this sheds some light to how the administration responds to things at this school. Oh! and my daughter now it is at a school where the homework has more than doubled. Now I see why this other school scores are higher :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

My kids are thriving at Twinbrook. They have been appropriately challenged and acknowledge each step of the way. We have had amazing teachers who make the learning experience very enjoyable. The school is diverse and always striving toward excellence. The PTA is active and plans many events throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

This is my son's first year at Twinbrook.The teachers seem vary caring and so far we have had great experiance.The school work seems chalanging and the class sizes are small so teacher can focus on each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

My daughter started at Twin brook in third grade. The students were welcoming and friendly. The teachers are dedicated. My daughter was able to do advanced math and reading but still be with her friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

Twinbrook ES is an average-to-good school, despite the modest ratings. The additional financing that the school gets really helps ESOL and special needs students. However there are a few low points that one may foresee in the long-term. While this is a good school for foreign students, students who need additional help and special needs, the adequate level of challenge is not clear for advanced students. My daughter had a great start-up but now I feel she's bored and does not get challenged enough. I agree with the previous comment that the longer the child stays, the more average he/she will become. The PTA (Parent-Teacher Association) tries to put a lot of efforts, however the parental envolvement is far from active, and PTA activities seem to be limited to short-term goals. In one word, if you have an option to send your child to a better school, I'd recommend considering it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I tried for three years (K-2) to be happy with this school, and I just couldn't. The extra resources for Title 1 status were given to kids that were 'struggling.' If your child is above average academically, the longer they stay, the more average they will become. I transferred to another school in the cluster and two months into the school year, the difference is night and day! All of this being said, there are some great kids and families that go there. Hands down, the worst part was the after-care program. I agree that Floyd Starnes was effective for the year he was there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

As the 2006 - 2007 school year draws to a close, I look back fondly at the person who made this year great: Floyd Starnes, principal intern. The school ran well, Mr. Starnes attended school events and actually cared about the kids and their families. Test scores are going up, the kids are reading and writing and everything would be great if Mr. Starnes could stay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

I have 2 kids studying @ twinbrook for 2yrs. now & I can say that twinbrook is providing good educ.I always look @ my kid's homework & my kids updates me on what they're learning in school, and I can say their lessons are challenging. The teachers also sees to it that students are receiving lessons appropriate for they're capability.The only thing that I think that needs improvement is their lessons in reading, I supplement it by giving my kids extra activities @ home.They have after school programs and lots of kids registered for those programs. The teachers/office staffs are friendly, caring and very concern with the students. More power to Twinbrook Elem School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

My only child is at Twinbrook, so I don't have a benchmark but it seems the schoolwork is challenging. My first grader has about a half hour a day, and it is a good mix of math, reading and writing. We had eleven parents at our last PTA meeting, if you count the PTA officers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

It really does not matter how many books the principal has put in the Media Ctr. If the teachers cannot work in the building. How can they use the books? Let alone teach the children.The staff are not leaving the school because they are moving,or going to schools closer to their home. We talk to an awful lot of the staff that have left the building over the past 6 years on a weekly baises. You can call alot of schools/PTAS in Montgomery County and they can tell any parent why the staff are walking out the door on all of these children. We have been in Middle School for 2 years now. We are very happy to put Twinbrook behind us. MCPS used to be the best! What happened to the people that cared about these children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I had a daughter who was in twinbrook for k through 4 and then went to montrose christian. I have another daughter who was there for k -2nd (there now) and i agree with the folks who say there has been real improvement. I would say, however, that i am happy that a number of teachers who have left have gone. Mrs. Lobuts, who has now retired was a wonderful teacher but she had to teach my older daughter to read in 1st grade when her kindergarten teacher (who thank god retired) did nothing with the kids. I think parental involvement is key. Class sizes are amazingly small now and the teachers caring. If this had been the school my now 7th grader was in 4 years ago, we would not have left. Ps, we love Mr. Pain! linda schutjer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

It s a new school year and once again the teacher turn over is high. It amazes me how many of our older teachers have opted to retire. At least we didn t get a new Assistant Principal. The school has gone through 4 since my children started at the school. But we did achieve Title 1 status this year so we are supposed to get more funding and more staffing. We did get a summer school program. This consisted of playtime with free food, not the educational learning I thought that would go on. Our children were herded though the cafeteria lines to get that head count whether they were eating or not, just to justify the programs success. Thanks for the free daycare. The no child left behind is leaving the more advanced children behind! Too much time is spent playing catch up and trying to re-invent the wheel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

This is my 6th year with children at Twinbrook. I have seen this school improve in my time here. As for teacher turnover, since the test scores have gone up, consider that the teacher turnover is perhaps for the better. Teachers leave for all kinds of reasons, some personal, some professional. I have found nothing but help and support for my children here at Twinbrook. As for parent involvement, it's up to each individual parent to choose their level of involvement at the school. By joining the PTA, I've made new friends and learned a lot about what goes on in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

People come and people go, turn over is high every where why should Twinbrook be any different. I have one daughter in her last year at Twinbrook and things have changed a lot since my first daughter went to Twinbrook. Change is a way of life and you need to accept it and embrace it. Carolyn Cobbs has changed a lot of things since her arrival five years ago. Most of the changes have been positive. For instance look at how the Media Center has changed over the last year. There was a time when there were very few books on the shelves and they were out dated. Now they are full and new. Our children used to bring home photo copies of work daily because there weren t any current textbooks; we now have new updated text books. Thank you for making a difference in my girls lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2004

We went to enroll our children into Twinbrook. We were shown the curiculim on the school and we informed them that our children were more advanced than this. We were told this curiculim was set up so the other children could catch up! This is outragious! We chose not to enroll them in MCPS at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

Twinbrook has a lot of problems. The amount of teachers that leave the school each year need's to be considered.Also the low test scores. And their policy on bulliying needs to be looked at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

The faculty that leaves the school each year needs to be looked at. The school needs after school programs that help strengthen language and math like they did in the previous years. I commend the faculty who volunteer their time for these [activities]. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 6%
Black 11% 35%
White 11% 42%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5911 Ridgeway Ave
Rockville, MD 20851
Phone: (301) 230-5925

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carl Sandburg Center
Rockville, MD




The Frost School
Rockville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT