Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert Frost Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

love it my son has been here for two years and love the teachers support staff and very comfortable feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

This is my last year at Robert Frost MS and I"m definitely going to miss it. The teachers are wonderful and humorous, the principal is really nice, and every one there is so nice and supportive. Frost teaches some advanced classes and I've noticed that not only do they teach us things we need to learn for the current year, but they prepare us for what you will learn next year.


Posted January 26, 2014

This school is amazing and one of the very best middle schools in Maryland (#1 in my opinion); excellent school administration, counselors, teachers, students, and parents who are actively involved in every aspect of their children's education. The school administrators, counselors, and teachers are invested in providing the best for your child's education and social well being. They have several events to communicate with parents and solicit feedback along with workshops on getting your child ready for high school and even college. They are responsive to the needs of the student community despite being a larger middle school. The test scores, student academic results, and Blue Ribbon awards are indicative of the quality of this school and the parent community. This school thoroughly prepares students for the rigors of going to the academically top notch Thomas S. Wootton High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

I go to Frost and believe it is a school of great teachers. They strive daily to be the best they can be for the students with the exception of a few who shall not be named. The principal, Dr. Jones is loved by the students and as far as I am aware, by the staff and parents too. However it does have a good deal of problems with bullying and disciplinary action has failed to do much good. Most administrators fail to connect on a personal level and seem distant and unapproachable to most. I personally would only come to them with a problem if someone was being harassed constantly or in danger. Another reason I fail to be completely satisfied with the school is that it has limited the social time to lunch and 3 20 minute blocks a week. Where children finally get to sit down five minutes into lunch and are dismissed five before it is over which is a gross mismanagement of time. As for "SOAR" which is the 20 minute block 3 times a week, the students may only go to teachers they currently have and are all but told to get help from retake quizzes every single time. Well, that is my rant, and if I had to send a child of my own to Frost or somewhere like Eastern, they're going to Frost.


Posted May 22, 2011

best school ive gone to and i would miss it dearly if i moved to another school


Posted June 4, 2010

I am a student here and honestly, you can't find anything better than Frost. 6/7 of the teachers I currently have all have a sense of humor. I can actually learn and not fall asleep here.


Posted April 27, 2010

My grandson is very happy there with all his classes and teachers and especially the band. I volunteer there with my husband for the string program and it is evident that children are happy and productive in that school environment.


Posted March 23, 2010

You do not find out how good a school is till you have an exceptional need. You want the school to be flexible and responsive to your kids unique circumstances. This school is not. The parent who commented about red tape is correct -- the school administration is bloated, bureaucratic and inflexible. The school looks good on paper because of the kids who attend the school. Many teachers have no commitment (Mrs. Redden and Mrs. Rhinehart are great exceptions). The school is unable to find any math teacher to run its math club. There is no chess club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

Great teachers. Too much red tape in administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

I really enjoy this school I have a lot of fun and some of my teachers are just incredible! Mrs. Horkan, Mr. Harriot, and Mrs. Rhinehart
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2010

I am a student at Robert Frost and I can honestly tell you that the teachers are great and nothing could be better...except the food :). Anyways I have to recommend some teachers, Mr.Harriot, Mr.Reddington, Mr.Childs and Mrs.Horkan
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2009

it's a great school probably one of the best in the state the teachers are awsome and they have tons of different classes and clubs
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2009

Awesome school. Most of the teachers here have a sense of humor, making class time not so boring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2009

I haven't found the teachers to be as committed to the students as I would have hoped they'd be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I go to frost right now I LOVE IT! It is a wonderful school... I was looking up Kingsview because I might be moving into that area and they got an 8/10 we got a 10/10! Very Supporting school... love the teachers. TRULY IS A SCHOOL OF EXCELLENCE! Dazzling
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2008

This is my daughters last year at this school. She has had many great experiances throughout her years. The teachers there are truly interested in preparing your children for High School. I asked my daughter what she liked best about her years, and she mentioned that she thought it was really special to receive in the mail a card from the principle with a note of encourgement and to keep up the good grades. I do have to say that the students really look up to Dr. Jones and value his opions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

This school is excellent. If your child is gifted or needs extra help they will excel here. The teachers are always ready to help and make recommendations. This school goes above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

I love this school. My child does to. unfortunatly this is her last year but she has soared in her academics and I am proud of her. The slogan is true... it IS the School of Excellence
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2003

Your child is nurtured and encouraged. If your child wants to succed, she will do so here. If your child needs encouragement, she will get it here!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

376 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

391 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

336 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 35% 6%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Black 5% 35%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9201 Scott Dr
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (301) 279-3949

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Raphael School
Rockville, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT