Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sherwood Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
The administration's application of 2.0 and the ludicrous no homework policy has seen this schools reputation fall dramatically. We are delighted to see the back of this but are sorry for friends who don't have an option. The fact that the best teachers Mr. W. Has left speaks volumes to the environment in the school.

Sherwood Elementary School 2

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
Our experience with the teachers at Sherwood has been very mixed which I think is typical of any educational institution. Our biggest difficulty was having a special needs student and being totally unsupported and at times feeling sabotaged by the Principal. I will admit that our child's disabilities can be challenging for adults but the Principal became almost hostile to our child. We are thankful to her though because her actions pushed us to MCPS to find a wonderful non-public where he will thrive. I cannot say enough nice things about Ms Strong in the front office and Ms. Ficco the guidance counselor.


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2013
- a parent
This school has an amazing administration and staff. The teachers have really met the challenge of the Curr. 2.0 rollout with huge success. The PTA and Parents have a very good relationship with the school staff which makes for a fantastic learning environment. Love SES!

Sherwood Elementary School 2

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
This is school's sole focus is on test scores and academics. They do not take into account the learning needs of the individual child and are not willing to work with the parents or child when there is a clear need for assistance outside the norm. We had clear documentation from a Pediatrician, therapist, Speech Therapist and Occupational Doctor with a full independent evaluation of our child indicating her needs for assistance and the school stated they would "evaluate" her. They told us " she was fine and did not meet their criteria for assistance. They put the kindergarten class with the latest lunch (12:50 pm) and would not allow them to eat their own healthy snacks - only offered pretzels. Very disappointed. This year grade 1 has the late lunch again (so Kindergartner class that had late lunch gets stuck again!). Poor planning. If you have a choice - don't send your child here! Teachers told us about her falling behind after the fact - very called or communicated with us until parent teacher nights. Never worked with us.

Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
I'm a parent of two students of Sherwood es and I am a minority and I do agree that the school has some good teachers and my kids are challenged in math and science. Some teachers are not interested to teach and give no good feedback. There is no way to encourage ki


Sherwood Elementary School 3

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
There are some great teachers at this school but there are some really poor teachers at this school. The administration does not listen to the parents when they have issues, instead backing up the teachers no matter what. The poor teachers have been there for years, in the same grades, teaching the same things, until recently. There is little to no innovation by these teachers. There is a bias toward girls and high achieving students, boys and minorities are not treated well by the majority of the teaching staff and administration. There are low expectations for all students when the bar should be much higher for the neighborhood it is serving. It is a shame as this could be an advanced and high achieving school.

Sherwood Elementary School 1

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2007
- a parent
this school is awsome because of the teachers with their honesty and there great contact with children


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2007
- a parent
We have had a very difficult 2nd grade experience. The teacher took no responsibility for her actions and my child was so hurt and upset because of this teacher picking on her and yelling constantly. The principal did not encourage the teacher to make amends, therefore she did not. 2nd grade curriculum is horrible for the entire county. It really needs to be revisited and changed! Extracurricular activities are good, as well as music, art, p.e. Parents are very involved at this school and the PTA does a lot to provide money for extra programs. However, I'm definitely applying for private schools and hoping to be out of MCPS and Sherwood E.S. next year

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherwood Elementary School
1401 Olneysandy Spring Rd, Sandy Spring, MD  20860
(301) 924-3195
Last modified Sherwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sherwood Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top