Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Sandy Spring, MD

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sherwood High School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
My 3 children all went to Sherwood and were extremely well prepared for college. All 3 got scholarships as a result - in different areas: academic, athletic, and music. Could not have asked for a better school.

Sherwood High School 3

Posted May 06, 2014
- a community member
If you aren't a jock or cheerleader don't bother coming here. Teachers are fairly nice but some teacher obviously don't want to be there. Sherwood cares more about image than anything else. Your just another number to them. My counselor is terrible and most adult there are very vain. Security sucks. My sister who graduated Sherwood from 2006 has managed to walk into school and print somthing out from the libary. She walked right past security and no one said anything, she's looks 15 still but either way that's not okay. I wish they would just fix their security system to make students feel safe.


Sherwood High School 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
It's awesome! Great teachers, great programs and lots of rigor. Clean and up to date with technology.

Sherwood High School 4

Posted May 15, 2013
- a student
Sherwood is a somewhat great school. I attended from 2006-2010. I'm current at Towson U. They have some great teachers, while others need to find another job. First of all, Sherwood is "clique". ESOL kids stay together, jocks have a pact, and so on. Trust me...I was one of them. Most students there pour in from Rosa and Farquhar...which pour in from Olney, Belmont, Greenwood, Sherwood, and Brooke Grove. So most of us have been together for years. If you're lucky, you remain friends. Second of all, Sherwood prides itself on academics. They offer a variety of honor and AP courses. Also, they just started a new system where students can choose an area of interest in business, hospitality, engineering, technology, science, arts, or humanities. Apparently, they stay in this area and take courses relating to it for the remainder 4 years. But don't listen to me...I don't go there anymore. There are many academic clubs for students to choose from and the competition makes it even better. Thirdly, sports teams are ok...don't care too much for them. Fourth, diversity is great. Students there are from a variety of cultures. Fifth, our principal is awesome. Lastly, food sucks.

Sherwood High School 3

Posted July 23, 2011
- a community member
Sherwood is a great school academicly but other wise Sherwood is Boring socially. The Pep rallies are boring and to be honest the school is really segregated. The teachers are pretty cool. some of the staff are annoying. overall its an OKAY school.


Sherwood High School 5

Posted September 30, 2010
- a student
I'm a current student a Sherwood, and I love it! The school has an amazing music program and an amazing sports program. There are a lot of options for honors and AP classes. The teachers are always pushing students to do their best. The principal is a nice man who really cares about everyone in the building. The security is very good, and are only strict if you get into trouble a lot. The only problem I have is that the power goes out rather often, but not for more then half of a day a couple of days a year.

Sherwood High School 4

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood High School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Sherwood High School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
great school they actually care if your children are failling they keep a nice safe environment one of the best school they address the problems and look for the best solution the teachers security and the principal are nice. i would very much recommend this school because they come together at the football games and as my kids say they bleed blue warrior blood.

Sherwood High School 4

Posted August 14, 2008
- a community member
Sherwood is a great place to go to school. There are a ton of things to do, and even if you don't participate in most school stuff, like myself, (I only went to dances & several football games) you will still love it there. There are so many amazing teachers, the security guards are nice, it's really a great school :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherwood High School
300 Olneysandy Spring Rd, Sandy Spring, MD  20860
(301) 924-3200
Last modified Sherwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sherwood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top