Advertisement
Advertisement

Bethel Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 326 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Savage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $282,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Amazing! We love everything about this school. We are new tobthe school and simply love it.The math and history teachers for 7th grade are particularly amazing, though my child is enjoying all the classes and the afterschool programs. We love Pastor Mandy and her keeping it real relationship with the students. And we can't forget to mention the hot lunches, electives in dance and worship team, and affordable tuition. It's worth every penny spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

BCA is an incredible school. The staff is remarkable, the curriculum, although challenging, has been instrumental in my child's ability to exceed our expectations of her. The teachers are always available to the parents and truly believe in the partnership of parents/school participation in the child's journey in education. Their expectations are high and this reflective of the supportive environment of BCA. I would highly recommend Bethel Christian Academy to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

BCA is an excellent school dedicated to high academic standards, equipping quality teachers, maintaining small class sizes, and working directly with each family. BCA is a positive and encouraging place where students learn everyday! Yes, academic expectations are set high and student achievement is important, but aside from that, you can't find a more dedicated place to send your child. Partnering with each family to plan and meet goals is exciting! From start to finish of each school year, I count it a blessing to be a part of the academic, spiritual, and social growth of each of my students. I am thankful for the opportunity to invest in the lives of BCA students and families everyday. If you are looking to send your child to a school where they will be valued, strive for academic excellence, learn to live in community, and engage in their world, you've found the right place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2013

I have 2 children at Bethel (3rd & 1st). PROS: Christian environment ; sound academics; loving staff. CONS: no PTA, no clubs; no opportunities that provide out of box thinking (hands on learning); math curriculum moves slower than public schools in area. My kids will stay in bethel until junior high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

BCA has a remarkable dedication to high academics, and they seem to be constantly investigating how they can improve both the student learning experience and ultimate outcome. But even beyond their dedication to academics, they strive more than any school I've had contact with to create an environment of love, family, and community. I've been impressed particularly with the Middle School leadership program, community service activities, peer mentoring programs, etc. ... they really make responsible, educated leaders out of our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

I LOVE working at Bethel. The small class sizes (max 16) allow me to give a lot of individualized attention to the students so that I can ensure that no one "falls through the cracks". I love all of my students and really appreciate how accepting they are of each other and new students coming in for the first time. I do hold them to high standards and challenge them, but I also provide support and guidance to assist them as needed. Bethel is not for the lazy, but it is ideal for those students and parents who are looking for a solid academic foundation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 5, 2010

Bethel Christian Academy is a special place. The school's academic standards are set high but there is more than academics that happen at Bethel. Bethel is more than a school. It is a family. The teachers care about the students and want them to succeed not only academically but spiritually, emotionally, and in developing life skills. Our children gained a well rounded education at Bethel. Bethel was such a blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

I am a proud parent of two children who have attended BCA for two years now. My youngest will be joining them this upcoming year. I am very pleased with the overall program at BCA. The teachers and staff are not only qualified and professional, but have a sincere interest in partnering with parents in raising these children and for their growth as individuals as well. In my experience, communication has been excellent! The admnistration (Principal and Assistsant Principal) made valuable recommendations for each of my children that will benefit them long term and for that I am grateful! I value the level of security taken in school to make sure the kids are safe. I also want to mention that I love and value the fact that the administration takes great strides in evaluating the cirriculums that they use. Shirley Grammar, Saxon Math, etc. Only the BEST for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

I have been a student at Bethel for a long time. There is a great atmosphere of caring, an excellent sense of respect, and cool events and field trips. Sometimes the homework can be tough, but I get through it with the love and support of my mother and the school staff. If you want your child to have the best education, Bethel is the school for you!


Posted June 24, 2010

My son and I worked on the computer infrastructure at Bethel a few years back (they now have a dedicated technology expert on staff). The administrative staff is excellent, with a clear vision and objectives to achieve that vision. When I worked on the computer systems for their student labs, library, and administrative staff, I was imporessed with their willingness to purchase the necessary equipment to make Bethel a school I would want to send my children to.


Posted June 24, 2010

You must be an involved parent, if you have a child attending Bethel. The principal and vice principal do not micro-manage, they allow the teachers the grace to manage their classrooms, and get the respect of their students. The work is very challenging, but that is what you should expect from a private school. The rules and guidelines are strict, but they present them to you at enrollment, so if you decide to enroll, you do so with an understanding of what is expected. There have high expectations and treat our children like real people. The values they teach will prepare our kids for the future and help them learn how important it is to be prepared and to respect others. I think this is an excellent school, if you want to educate your children, teach them Christian values and can commit to the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

The academic standards are high, but graduates excel in whatever higher education they pursue. 8th graders feel so connected to the teachers and each other that they don't want to leave (and often come back to annual school events).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 24, 2010

Excellent academics in a caring Christian environment. What more could a parent ask for? My daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I ran from Bethel after having my son there for 3 years. The homework demand was unbelievable. Literally 3 hours each night. Worst thing is when I transferred my child to a public school, he was behind in some areas like Math. This has been frustrating considering all of the demands the school put on the homework. Also, the school is unreasonable stict. Would suggest re-evaluting your options. We sacrificed any after school activities for 3 years to meet the homework demands. Frankly when they are in the real world, they don't even qualify for GT. Go figure. Good luck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

bethel is far from the best but far from the worst if i were i wuold take my chile out once they reached middle school. on the middle school level BCA doesnt compare to any other school


Posted January 16, 2008

Best school any parent could ask for! We just recently moved to California this school year (07/08) and wish we never had, just so we could go back to Maryland to put our boys back into Bethel! Our boys attended K4 and 1st Grade at bethel, and they were challenged, just enough to keep their interest and to help them learn. It's like night and day between Bethel and the private Chrisitan school we have now in California. At Bethel, the staff was Outstanding! The Principal cared and it showed, her husband, the Pastor of a local church was there almost every day to visit the children, another blessing. We can't wait to return to Maryland to allow our boys the best education we can be assured. By the way, the boys dearly miss their old school and the extra work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I had my child at Bethel for sometime, but the homework demand (3 hours per night for 2nd, 3rd, 4th graders) is very serious. The school is very, very strict and will give marks for frivilous things like forgeting a pencil, or no eraser. Principal is non-responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

BCA is an awesome school. I personally attended there from K5 to 8th grade. They gave me a solid foundation in preparation for High School. I truely value everthing that BCA taught me. It is an upstanding school with high standards. The programs they offer can benefit both student and parent. In fact, I like it so much that now I work there.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 2, 2004

I believe that BCA is a high quality school that teaches the students christian values as well high academic standards. The principleis very professional and knows how to handle the business of the school. She has a great relatioship with the parents and the students. She will address any questions or situations with concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 80% 40%
White 10% 45%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8455 Savage Guilford Rd
Savage, MD 20763
Phone: (301) 725-4673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT