Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert Goddard French Immersion

Public | K-8 | 585 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2013

As a teacher in the Prince Georges County system myself, I can attest to the exceptional quality of this school. My daughter was accepted in the kindergarten lottery and so far, this school as been all around wonderful. Great staff, rigor and most importantly, great parental involvement. My daughters' teacher stays in contact with me on a regular basis and I am extremely thankful for that. Two months into the program and my daughter is making great strides. I look forward to having my son who is now 4, attend next year. In the mean time, I say THANK YOU! to Robert Goddard Elementary Immersion for a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

This is without doubt the only elementary/middle school in the Prince George's County district worth sending your kid to. The challenge, of course, is everyone knows that, and so admission is through lottery only. You must apply prior to your child's first year of Kindergarten. Once in, your child's siblings are also eligible. But because the instruction is in French, your child must start at Kindergarten (unless he or she happens to already speak French). The majority of instructors who teach in French are native French speakers (from all over the world, including N. Africa, Belgium, etc); the exceptions are a few specialized teachers such as science. Most importantly, the parental involvement in this school is very high. There is an excellent working relationship between parents, faculty, and staff, and I believe this is what makes the most difference. Within the next year, this program will move to a different building, giving it a separate space from the Montessori program which it shares facilities with. While the building won't be much nicer (it is the old Greenbelt Middle School), it should alleviate some of the crowding and eliminate the need for the classroom trailers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Academically rigorous, and deliberate. The teachers and administrators are excellent, and parents are involved. It is a gem in an otherwise under-performing school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

My child just promoted in 2012 and is presently in high school after finishing K-8 at Goddard. The academic preparation was appropriate and if my child had worked harder, the freshman year would have been an easier transition. The nagging concern is...surprisingly enough...cursive handwriting. My child can barely write in cursive therefore writes painfully slowly and the note taking suffers. Goddard is NOT unique in this growing lack of instruction. So, if you are a parent, bring this up; it can become increasingly problematic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

We are nearing the end of our second year at a member of the RGFI Family and have been pleased overall. While the facilities are somewhat lacking and the classrooms a bit crowed, I continue to be amazed at how well most of the children perform. Even as we manage multiple transitions (prior principal retired at the beginning of the school year and we are preparing to enter a different facility the upcoming school year), the leadership of the school (Acting Principal & Instructional Coordination), in conjunction with other dedicated and first-class teachers and staff, continue to cultivate a strong and culturally-enriched learning environment. The PTA is phenomenal and could do even more our community with greater support from our RGFI families. We visited MANY private schools in the County and outside the County as part of our 3+ years school search and believe that accepting the offers to attend Robert Goddard French Immersion was a solid investment in our children's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Very strong discipline and expectations. I have been satisfied with this school so far. I was extremely happy that my son was admitted here! I would say that the facilities are not the positive aspect, and I wish there was more updated technology for the students to take advatage of since technology is so important in our world. We are getting a different building next year, so hopefully we will have more access to resources. In any case, the teachers (most) work extremely hard and have been very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

I need to enrolled my child in kindergarten and this looks fantastic. Tell me more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

I have a kindergartener at RGFI. What I like: The discipline; consistent leadership; school pride by students, teachers and parents What I don't like: The drab facilities; the classes sizes: My daughter is expected to pay attentions AND compete with 21 others students for 1teacher's attention; the traditional teaching approach (the Montessori program would have been better for my daughter); could be more high-tech: needs a better website and should be communicating using more online social media.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

I am in awe of the leadership at this school. Though overburdened and challenged on a daily basis the staff somehow continue to make this school one of the best in the state of Maryland. The kids love their environment and what's more, they excel too. My only disappointment is that the State has not done more to improve the school's facilities or extend the program beyond 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

I truly love this school! Fight for the best teacher in your grade, and you will see your student(s) excel! We have a K5 and 1st grader here, I can only hope that they extend the program to 12th grade, because it is one the best kept Lottery secrets in Prince Georges County! Great job RGFI. Were proud to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I have an 8th grader and a 3rd grader in the program. We can only hope it will be extended through 12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

RGFI is a great school. Not only does the school have strong leadership in Madame Nepay, but they also have excellent teachers that truly care about the success of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Robert Goddard FI is great for all students who want to learn new languages (french , russian and spanish optional but you pay) , fun field trips and more. I say this because i am a student who goes and i say you shoul come here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2009

I go to RGFI and it is one of the top 20 schools in in the state of Maryland. If you put your kids in this school they will love it! Robert Goddard is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

I am a parent of two students at RGFI. I have been extremely pleased with the school. I was very concerned about the direction that the school was going last year but with the change in principal and the renewed dedication of the parents, teachers and students, I am again excited. The students continue to excel; meeting the demands of the teachers. RGFI is the best program in Prince Georges county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

I go to this school and it is awesome! You can either be on the Montessori or French Immersion! I'm on the French Immersion side and we speak French ALL day! Except for one periode of english class but every other class in french( Middle School ). In elementary school level you spend the day talking in french during your subjects and once you are in secound grade your becan taking the french calss as part of your day! You can start your children in kindergartin and it goes all the way up to 8th grade...I'm in sixth grade and have been speaking french for 7 years beggining in this program. I think that your kids would really enjoy this and once you get in Middle School you take up Russian! I hope this helped any non-convince parents about putting there children in either the French Immersion or Montessori is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2008

This school is the jewel of the less than stellar PG County School system. Standardized test scores are consistently high despite the fact that the children are taught exclusively in French until the second grade when they begin English class. Parent involvement is above average. We have a new principal this year who is absolutely wonderful. She is totally committed to and dedicated to the children and to further improvement to the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I find this school to be outstanding in its curriculum. The administration and the teachers are definitely on the ball! Anytime I walk through the doors of the school, I always feel a sense of pride. Keep up the good work RGFI!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

As of February 2007 my child is a third grader at Robert Goddard French Immersion (RGFI), K-8. I love the school and it is very strong academically- actually considering all classes except for English are taught in French it's outstanding that the kids score above average on state standardized tests that are English based. Since the school is K-8 and the curriculum is great my daughter will go straight from there to 9th grade at Roosevelt High School (are current zoned school). RGFI also does well in math and sciences and offers Russian language and music/ instruments classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

This is a k-8 program which I think is excellent school. The kids are immersed in French and are fluent by 4th grade. They also learn Russian in middle school. The teachers are outstanding and demand a lot from their students resulting in high test scores in both math and english. The diverse student body is respected, considerate, and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 76% 36%
White 14% 43%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9850 Good Luck Rd
Seabrook, MD 20706
Phone: (301) 918-8660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT