Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seat Pleasant Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

I have to be honest. I was a little suspect about my children going to school in Prince George's County, especially in the Capital Heights area. My children came from Charles County Public Schools. The staff there is very nice and professional. I have heard good things about the school my children are performing MUCH better at the Seat than in their former school. The teacher are very attentive to the students needs. I have a son on an IEP. His teacher was very through in helping him to achieve services that he was not receiving before. The teachers and principal were very open with respect to communication and my children's behavior. I absolutely loved the fact that I could have IEP meetings via phone w/o having to take off from work. Also, I was happy to know that Seat Pleasant Elementary is one of the high performing schools in the area. They really encourage the students in positive ways and my children love going to school. Also, I have decided to put more of an effort in my children's education because you can not expect the staff or teachers to do everything. Learning does start at home! #LoveTheSeat
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

i like the school after a few months,but i'm goin to sixth grade,and its my third year here.u can tell the teachers r workin there very best to make the students work hard but not get brain-fried about it...but at the end of the year,AWESOME!!sad the principal leavin...promotion,best ever!-kairee


Posted March 15, 2010

I am a former parent at this school. My daughter attended Kindergarten last year. I took her out and put her in Imagine Foundations Public Charter School. Seat Pleasant was just below a C rated school. The staff was very warm and welcoming, but I think they focused on being too fun. Just like a parent making a mistake trying to be their childs friend, the school focused on being a fun zone. Seat Pleasant needs to tighten their boot straps and petition for some money. The school has potential, but I couldn't keep my daughter in based on future goals for the school. Her learning experience is happening NOW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I am a parent at Seat Pleasant Elementary. I have two children enrolled here. I have a second grader and a third grader. My son has been here since kindergarten. I am very pleased with the school. The teachers, the staff and the Principle work hard to put our chilren first. They work hard to make sure our kids get qualit;y education. I believe the Principle sets the tone for the entire building. She expects the best from her staff and her students and is shine through their performance and the way the staff works together. Seat Pleasant you are doing a great job. Keep up the good work. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

Hello I am a parent and staff member of The Seat. As a work place Seat Pleasant really makes you feel like you belong to a family and everyone from the school secretary to the janitor is always willing and helpful. As a parent my child loves Seat Pleasant she was very heart broken when she had to move to the 7th grade. When she got to 7th grade the notes and strategies use learned at the Seat she still uses today. My daughter is in honor classes because of how well Seat Pleasant has prepared her for what task she may face. This following year my 4 year old will becoming to Pre-k and she can not wait. She has known her teachers for at least a year and is ready to get all they have to offer. My principal is the best in P.G. county!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

I am a parent and my child has attended Seat Pleasant for many years. I love the school. The staff is committed and the expectations are very high. I disagree that the students are horrible, and there is a very low tolerance for discipline problems. Students are held accountable for their actions. The schools test scores have continually increased and most importantly my child loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The staff need more. I already didn't like the area so I had high expectations for the school. But I am dissapointed. I really feel like the reading program lacks, and the students behavior is horrible even to the teachers. I like the principle but this isn't the right school that I want for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

I didn't like the way the staff dealt with the kids dicipline, I didn't like the structure of learning and I didn't like the frequency of change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

This school needs more. My child is enrolled in the special education program and also have autism. Everything they said would happen never did. The teachers seem overwhelmed and they were inconsistant with the appointments. My child whom is capable of learning left knowing the same they came in knowing. And the disipline with the kids is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I enrolled my son in Seat Pleasant for his fourth grade year. I was satisfied with the academic programs. Both the math and social studies teachers were exceptional. I think the reading class could use some improvement. I don't think the children are challenged to read enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2004

this school is good but gotta increase them accademic results.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 35%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6411 G St
Seat Pleasant, MD 20743
Phone: (301) 925-2330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT