Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgeway Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 569 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

My daughter is a second grader at Ridgeway and is in their MINC program. The class size is small and it is approximately a 2 student to 1 teacher ratio. They have the lead teacher and several Aides assisting with various activities. Ridgeway does a wonderful job of including my daughter in the regular curriculum as well. Her IEP does call for a special classroom setting but all of her non-core subjects such as art, PE, computers, and Music are all spent with her "typical peers". All of the students help Cameran if she needs it and include her. I am very happy with Ridgeway. Great job with a wonderful staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My daughter has attended Ridgeway the past 5 years & it has been exceptional. She loves going to school & has thrived academically as well as socially. It's been a wonderful experience & great foundation for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

After moving from CA to MD I was not sure about what to expect in terms of the public school systems. My daughter is in the MINC program at Ridgeway and i have seen a vast improvement in her behavior, as well as, her social and educational development. The staff is always friendly and has always kept me well informed about my daughter's progress. All of the faculty know my daughter and she is always very excited to go to school. They also do a fantastic job of mainstreaming her with her peers and they treat her like any other child. I think this is a great school with a caring faculty and understanding peers who incude my daughter and are excited to assist her when necessary. We could not be more pleased with Ridgeway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

My daughter just finished up her fifth grade year at this school. Overall our experience has been very good. I have seen parent involvement fall off over the last few years and it was discouraging since the PTA and teachers are what makes this school so great. The staff is average, the teachers are excellent! I hope more volunteers step up as there is a small group of parents that have to do a whole lot of work. One of the best things is that the PTA doesn't believe in students having to sell things. Their fundraisers are usually fun events that the students and their families can enjoy. Communication has also dropped off some, but overall this is a really good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Ridgeway Elementary is a wonderful school that is exceptionally supported by the community and PTA.. The school is working with PTA to enhance its technology since it was rebuilt and only had 1 Smartboard. Volunteers work exhaustively to help the teachers and students as well as with media to enhance reading throughout the building. Students continue to grow in reading and math and have made AYP each year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2011

This school is wonderful because of a few certain teachers and the parents who volunteer countless hours to make it great! Some teachers go above and beyond for their students and it shows in the child's enthusiasm for learning. The principal is focused on filling the classrooms with technology and while this can be good, it's expensive and will be out dated by the time all of the rooms have it. There are drawbacks to this school. The constant yelling in the cafeteria is intolerable. The one person in the building that the children should be comfortable with is possibly the worst offender when it comes to yelling at lunch. There are days that the cafeteria feels like military school, not public school. It reminds me of right hand, right knee... left hand, left knee. Overall our experience has been good. There have been bumps in the road but that's to be expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

After moving to MD from a very small school district in NY, my daughter has enjoyed Ridgeway. The teachers and staff for the most part are helpful to students and adults. Some members of the main office staff, though, could use some 'people skills' training!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My grandchildren have attended this school always & it is a wonderful school. Everyone there actually cares about these children, it's more like family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

It is a GREAT!!! school with lots of parent and teacher involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Ridgeway Elementary is one of those schools with the blessed combination of a quality community of parents, and intelligent, resourceful, caring principal, vice principal, and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Great school making strides toward a 'green' philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Everyone cares so much about the children! There are so many great programs. The involvement from the families is overwhelming and the instruction is superb! We just love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Its a great school.. Very caring enviorment..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

This is a wonderful school and I'm glad that my daughter attends here. She's had fabulous teachers from day 1. Just when I think we have the best teacher EVER, the next year we get an even better one. The PTA is fantastic and has many opportunities to be involved. I'd recommend that everyone not only join the PTA but that they attend the PTA meetings as well. Gives you a nice heads up on what is happening or going to happen. From administration to volunteers, this school is tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

Our oldest daughter is now in the 3rd grade at Ridgeway. Her previous teachers, Ms. Lentz, Ms. Pinkney and Ms. Blume, have all been exceptional. She is excelling in her studies and is excited to go to school every day. The teachers are easy to communicate with and enjoy having parent volunteers in the class. We were considering moving, but will wait until our youngest has finished attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

Ridgeway is by far one of the best elementary schools in MD. My son's 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Brown was absolutely amazing. He also had Ms. Underwood for third grade and at first he had a tough time because they're expected to be so much more independent. She was firm, but fair and after the first semester she grew on him and ended up loving the third grade. Sadly, we are moving soon and he won't be able to attend this year. Any parent considering moving to this school district you have nothing to worry about at Ridgeway, they're all absolutely wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

My child loves attending Ridgeway. Her teacher, Ms. Barrett, is fabulous. The administration, Ms. Wardell & Ms. Jones, are always willing to work with parents which keeps me from having to go to the board about our only complaint which is over one of the Kindergarten aides. Ms. Nash treats the children terribly by talking down to them and screaming at them. Her supervision of the children is horrible both at lunch and dismissal as far as I've seen. As a frequent volunteer, I've overheard her speaking negatively about other parents that I know. I look forward to my child going into first grade and no longer having them be involved in her education. Besides that, though, I am greatly appreciative to Ms. Barrett for how amazing she is with the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

Ridgeway, as always, is an excellent school. My daughter is doing very well, and the teachers are highly skilled and caring. The school has shown the ability to weather administration changes with minimal academic impact on the children. Unfortunantly the stellar principal Mr. Arbogast has moved on to higher positions in the school system and the current principal, Ms. Wardell is...erm...disorganized at best. Parent volunteer opportunities are mostly limited to PTA functions (Let's plan a school dance! Who wants to sign up for the food committee?), with just a few, limited ways the school allows parents to be 'involved' in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

Both of my girls went to Ridgeway. Amanda and Heather could not and would not have benefitted more from another school as much as they had at Ridgeway. Mr. Aborgast, Ms Hobbs and all the teachers are exceptional! Thanks for everything! - The Strausbaugh's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

We had to leave Ridgeway sadly in June of 2004 as we moved to Pennsylvania and my children won't be attending there anymore, it was the best school my children will ever have attended. They really gave my children a solid foundation for education. We will miss you Ridgeway, and Mr. Arbogast, Ellen and Joe, Amanda and Michael Griffin.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Black 13% 35%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1440 Evergreen Rd
Severn, MD 21144
Phone: (410) 222-6524

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT