Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ridgeway Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I am so grateful for my daughter Sydney's first grade teacher, Ms. Choo. She is so wonderful to her students and she makes learning so much fun!!! She is creative with her activities, always having the most awesome decorations for them. Her ideas are out of this world!!! And she is always encouraging and helpful no matter what!!! Her students love her, her fellow teachers love her and I know the administration loves her!!! Ridgeway Elementary School has been so lucky to have her for 8 years and many more she will be for future students that pass through her class!!!

Ridgeway Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
In general I think it's ok. Sometimes there has been not as much at home work that I thought would be good for 5th graders, to better prepare them for middle school.


Ridgeway Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
In general I do. But, many motivating, wonderful things have been removed from the school in the last three years that really motivated the students. I think there is something still missing that would create better persistence, grit and determination. I'm hoping it will come back sooner rather than later!!!

Ridgeway Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ridgeway Elementary has always tried to exceed in everything and give the students a wonderful learning experience and social experience. Both of my daughters have attended this school. My oldest had a wonderful experience. And my youngest has had a wonderful experience. The only negative is in the last three years, some of the things happening haven't really pleased me. But overall I love my daughter's school and her teachers and friends.

Ridgeway Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended Ridgeway the past 5 years & it has been exceptional. She loves going to school & has thrived academically as well as socially. It's been a wonderful experience & great foundation for my child.


Ridgeway Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
After moving from CA to MD I was not sure about what to expect in terms of the public school systems. My daughter is in the MINC program at Ridgeway and i have seen a vast improvement in her behavior, as well as, her social and educational development. The staff is always friendly and has always kept me well informed about my daughter's progress. All of the faculty know my daughter and she is always very excited to go to school. They also do a fantastic job of mainstreaming her with her peers and they treat her like any other child. I think this is a great school with a caring faculty and understanding peers who incude my daughter and are excited to assist her when necessary. We could not be more pleased with Ridgeway.

Ridgeway Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just finished up her fifth grade year at this school. Overall our experience has been very good. I have seen parent involvement fall off over the last few years and it was discouraging since the PTA and teachers are what makes this school so great. The staff is average, the teachers are excellent! I hope more volunteers step up as there is a small group of parents that have to do a whole lot of work. One of the best things is that the PTA doesn't believe in students having to sell things. Their fundraisers are usually fun events that the students and their families can enjoy. Communication has also dropped off some, but overall this is a really good school.

Ridgeway Elementary School 3

Posted July 06, 2011
- a teacher
Ridgeway Elementary is a wonderful school that is exceptionally supported by the community and PTA.. The school is working with PTA to enhance its technology since it was rebuilt and only had 1 Smartboard. Volunteers work exhaustively to help the teachers and students as well as with media to enhance reading throughout the building. Students continue to grow in reading and math and have made AYP each year.


Ridgeway Elementary School 3

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
This school is wonderful because of a few certain teachers and the parents who volunteer countless hours to make it great! Some teachers go above and beyond for their students and it shows in the child's enthusiasm for learning. The principal is focused on filling the classrooms with technology and while this can be good, it's expensive and will be out dated by the time all of the rooms have it. There are drawbacks to this school. The constant yelling in the cafeteria is intolerable. The one person in the building that the children should be comfortable with is possibly the worst offender when it comes to yelling at lunch. There are days that the cafeteria feels like military school, not public school. It reminds me of right hand, right knee... left hand, left knee. Overall our experience has been good. There have been bumps in the road but that's to be expected.

Ridgeway Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
After moving to MD from a very small school district in NY, my daughter has enjoyed Ridgeway. The teachers and staff for the most part are helpful to students and adults. Some members of the main office staff, though, could use some 'people skills' training!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgeway Elementary School
1440 Evergreen Rd, Severn, MD  21144
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (410) 222-6524
Last modified Ridgeway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top