Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Severn, MD
Students enrolled: 569
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ridgeway Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended Ridgeway the past 5 years & it has been exceptional. She loves going to school & has thrived academically as well as socially. It's been a wonderful experience & great foundation for my child.

Ridgeway Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
After moving from CA to MD I was not sure about what to expect in terms of the public school systems. My daughter is in the MINC program at Ridgeway and i have seen a vast improvement in her behavior, as well as, her social and educational development. The staff is always friendly and has always kept me well informed about my daughter's progress. All of the faculty know my daughter and she is always very excited to go to school. They also do a fantastic job of mainstreaming her with her peers and they treat her like any other child. I think this is a great school with a caring faculty and understanding peers who incude my daughter and are excited to assist her when necessary. We could not be more pleased with Ridgeway.


Ridgeway Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just finished up her fifth grade year at this school. Overall our experience has been very good. I have seen parent involvement fall off over the last few years and it was discouraging since the PTA and teachers are what makes this school so great. The staff is average, the teachers are excellent! I hope more volunteers step up as there is a small group of parents that have to do a whole lot of work. One of the best things is that the PTA doesn't believe in students having to sell things. Their fundraisers are usually fun events that the students and their families can enjoy. Communication has also dropped off some, but overall this is a really good school.

Ridgeway Elementary School 3

Posted July 06, 2011
- a teacher
Ridgeway Elementary is a wonderful school that is exceptionally supported by the community and PTA.. The school is working with PTA to enhance its technology since it was rebuilt and only had 1 Smartboard. Volunteers work exhaustively to help the teachers and students as well as with media to enhance reading throughout the building. Students continue to grow in reading and math and have made AYP each year.

Ridgeway Elementary School 3

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
This school is wonderful because of a few certain teachers and the parents who volunteer countless hours to make it great! Some teachers go above and beyond for their students and it shows in the child's enthusiasm for learning. The principal is focused on filling the classrooms with technology and while this can be good, it's expensive and will be out dated by the time all of the rooms have it. There are drawbacks to this school. The constant yelling in the cafeteria is intolerable. The one person in the building that the children should be comfortable with is possibly the worst offender when it comes to yelling at lunch. There are days that the cafeteria feels like military school, not public school. It reminds me of right hand, right knee... left hand, left knee. Overall our experience has been good. There have been bumps in the road but that's to be expected.


Ridgeway Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
After moving to MD from a very small school district in NY, my daughter has enjoyed Ridgeway. The teachers and staff for the most part are helpful to students and adults. Some members of the main office staff, though, could use some 'people skills' training!

Ridgeway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
My grandchildren have attended this school always & it is a wonderful school. Everyone there actually cares about these children, it's more like family!

Ridgeway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
It is a GREAT!!! school with lots of parent and teacher involvement


Ridgeway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Ridgeway Elementary is one of those schools with the blessed combination of a quality community of parents, and intelligent, resourceful, caring principal, vice principal, and teachers.

Ridgeway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Great school making strides toward a 'green' philosophy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgeway Elementary School
1440 Evergreen Rd, Severn, MD  21144
(410) 222-6524
Last modified Ridgeway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ridgeway Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top