Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Severn Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2013

Overall, this is a great school. There are some excellent, educated and devoted teachers at this school. The curriculum is strong and my child seems to be thriving. The principal is very involved and communicates often with the families. That being said, I have seen during lunch and recess, teachers yelling and degrading the students, many of which are only in Kindergarten or 1st grade. I also see problems with parent involvement, as the PTA is virtually non-existent, with only a handful of parents showing up at any given meeting..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

The school seems to be average. Some teachers are really good. At least 1 is not. This teacher unnecessarily intimidates the children and frequently excessively scolds thems for petty reasons. This teacher makes children face walls with feet spread, placing their hands on the wall police suspect style. Even if it's a freezing cold brick wall in the shade outside during wintertime. Other teachers witnessing this have not been dutiful enough to report this very inappropriate practice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

I currently have 2 children attending this school. The teachers are professional and caring. They attend many after school events and have a great rapport with the students. This is a diverse population and the teachers meet the needs of all students. Many teachers go out of their way to help students be successful. The use of technology is steadily increasing. The Principal is always available with a smile on her face. I highly recommend this school. Also, the after school events planned by the PTA have been very enjoyable social functions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

My experience is with kindergarten and first grade. The teachers were concerned about the curriculum, involved with children, and open to discussion with parents. The principal is involved with the children and with parents. I'd prefer to see more opportunities for parents to be involved. I'd also like to see even more information shared with parents on the school's website, not just with system-generated phone calls.


Posted May 7, 2009

We moved to Severn from a private school and despites all doubts, the experience has been more than we could ever imagined. Our kids have just blossomed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I have been involved with Severn for over 8 years. I have one daughter in the 5th grade and one that is in High School now. Many parents don t know that some of the teachers at Severn keeps track of kids past the 5th grade and until the day that graduate. Severn has more kids that continue their honor roll grade to middle and high school levels. After every grading period there are some time more honor roll students that graduated from Severn 2 to 1 or 3 to 1 than any other school that are joined into the middle and high school levels. I must say from the level of the Principle down work very hard to keep Severn on top. It is also, great to have parent s that understands it takes a school community to work together. The more members we have on the PTA, the more we can help the school to become better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I have been very pleased with the education that my children have received this year at Severn. We are military and moved here from overseas. I have one child with Aspergers and have been thrilled with the teaching and support staff. My child has received all of the support and encouragment that I could wish for this year. I feel that the staff has really worked to get him more independant and ready for middle school. I was worried about the teaching pods (3 classes together)...but soon realized that the children benefit from switching teachers and have a chance to experience different teaching styles. I am amazed that this school offers free music lessons..my son is taking violin and loves it! There are also several after school clubs for the kids to join. This is a great school with a positive attitude, lots of parent support and a wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

I have 4 children attending Severn. This is our 2nd year at this school, and I have to say I am impressed with the principal, teachers, and even the nurses. I find that the teachers seem to genuinely care about the students and find ways to foster their growth and success. However, there seems to be a militant atmosphere at times...especially during lunch. I wish there could be a more positive approach to disciplining and directing children. Also, I'm not sure if I am a fan of the shared classrooms, but I guess that's the norm for most of the AACS...my older girls don't seem to mind, but this may be a distraction for younger children (overstimulation). I have had some minor issues re: my children which were promptly and professionally addressed by Ms. Williams. I look forward to becoming more involved and urge other parents to do the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

My kindergartner is progressing nicely. He's reading on a beginner 1st grade level. There are programs to get the family involved during school and after school. I'm very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

When a child looks forward to going to school, to my family and I that says it all. Children know when they are treated as little people. With respect, understanding and devotion. That is what my children see when they attend their school. And I will recommend it to any parent that is concerned with any aspect of their children education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

The staff at Severn Elementary have proven time and time again that they are willing to 'go the extra mile' for any child in need. I currently have one child with special needs - Asperger's syndrome and have had nothing less than success in working with them. I have another, older child also with Asperger's syndrome and have seen what can happen when the staff are not willing to put themselves out there. It is important for all parents to remember, we live with these children 24/7, the staff only have them for 8 hours a day. It is our responsibility to work with them with the goal being the success of our child in the world outside the safety of our homes. Mrs. Williams, Mrs. Krause, Ms Harvey, Mrs Dawn White, Ms DeeDee Berry and Ms Henson among others have proven invaluable! I encourage you to look at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

In STARK CONTRAST to the previous posting, my wife and I have found that Severn Elementary has provided our family with all of the support and information that we needed to help our son with his particular need. Mrs. Williams, Mrs. Webber and the rest of the IEP staff were no further than a phone call away for any of our concerns and were always extremely caring & professional in the thoughtful and thorough assistance that they offered our family. Our son has done a complete 180 degree turn and has been recognized this term as an HONOR ROLL STUDENT. I have to add as a parent that it is imperative to do your part in aggressively facilitating the initiation of gaining the school's support for your concern for your child. The parents also have to do their part in teaching the child and providing proper focus/guidance at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

In my experience with this school they are not equipt to handle students with special needs (learning discibilities). My son started there in first grade a they determined that he had a learning discibility and start a special program design base on his needs. He graduated from there and has not shown that much improvement which the lead me to believe would accur. He also fell behind in math which was he very strong in. The teachers were very nice. But they were not equip to handle children with special needs. I never heard about a success case.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 35%
White 28% 42%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

838 Reece Rd
Severn, MD 21144
Phone: (410) 551-6220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT